Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant
Brilliant film,bought through amazon from a used item seller,excellent condition as new.great old film,family classic.well worth buying a copy .
Published 1 month ago by mrs webby

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Huck goes Disney
As can be seen from the reviews on this page, a great many people find this film very enjoyable. At the risk of arousing the ire of this movie's many devotees, however, I don't think this realisation really stands up.

To begin with, in conformity with the demands of political correctness, the 'n'-word has been excised from the dialogue completely. And although...
Published 22 months ago by Dr. John Hamilton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Huck goes Disney, 29 Aug 2012
By 
Dr. John Hamilton (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As can be seen from the reviews on this page, a great many people find this film very enjoyable. At the risk of arousing the ire of this movie's many devotees, however, I don't think this realisation really stands up.

To begin with, in conformity with the demands of political correctness, the 'n'-word has been excised from the dialogue completely. And although Courtney Vance performs his role superbly, the Jim he plays here is hardly even recognisable as Twain's character. This Jim is much more knowing than Twain's original, even manipulative - certainly there is no way that Huck (Elijah Wood) could play any trick on him in this version of the story. Elijah Wood is a great actor, but here he's too cute and well-scrubbed for Huck; besides being too young (Twain's Huck Finn is fourteen).

This is really the problem with so many film adaptations. It's a sobering thought that probably more people know the character of 'Huck Finn' from this Disney travesty than have read the original novel. Twain's Huck is dirty and dressed in rags - a river rat who smells of the river. But viewers don't want to see this, and in any case such a protagonist would outrage Disney's sense of middle class decency, so instead we get the loveable 'mischievous scamp', which is the one thing Twain's character is not. This, I think, is also why we get a younger 'Huck' - 14-year-olds who break the law and steal being felt as more threatening than 'mischievous'.

On the whole, the mood of the film is very 'light' and comedic, and the scenes succeed each other very rapidly - presumably for the benefit of a younger audience with a short attention span. The jaunty tone is assisted by an omnipresent light-hearted score which I found quite obtrusive. But the mood of the film is inconsistent, and the film occasionally lurches from light comedy to an excess of nail-biting melodrama. The lynching scene at the end seems particularly out of place for Disney's intended audience, the purpose of the violence being merely to ratchet up the tension as much as possible.

In Twain's novel, violence is always presented as horrifying - never as entertaining. When, for example, Buck is killed in Chapter 18, Huck as the narrator can scarcely bring himself to describe his experiences, and admits that he still has nightmares about the killing - that he's been mentally scarred by the violence he witnesses. By contrast, in this film violence is normally treated very casually, even as a source of humour - as when two young men are shot on Huck's arrival at Phelps Landing, with the quip 'Welcome to America'. Needless to say this incident is not in Twain's original story (and neither is the lynching scene for that matter).

In contrast to its casual attitude towards violence, this production has a quite different attitude to even a hint of nudity. We live, of course, in puritanical times, where for any youngster to show a square inch of bare flesh throws people into moral hysteria, so this Huck wears shoes constantly, and (ridiculously) remains fully clothed, head to toe, when he takes a dip in the river on Jackson's Island. No skinny-dipping for Huck in this production.

To be fair, the film is frequently entertaining (especially in some of the comedic scenes) and does have some merits. I like the decision to include the digging up of Peter Wilks' body during the thunderstorm - though why with all the thunder and lightning there isn't even a single drop of actual rain is anyone's guess.

Ultimately, however, this movie has to rank as one of the least successful screen realisations of Huckleberry Finn, being too disjointed, too sugary sweet and too concerned with portraying a 'Huck' who conforms to middle class values. In the end, Twain's novel is just too subversive for Disney, and so what we get is a cop-out which reflects Disney's worldview rather than Twain's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Huck Finn [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film,bought through amazon from a used item seller,excellent condition as new.great old film,family classic.well worth buying a copy .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm...a bit hammy and plastic, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was 'ok' but really, it fell flat for me. The actor playing Huck was poorly cast ....seemed like a real modern American brat .... Far too 'knowing' and slick - no innocence or childlike humour. But, to be fair, I'm an adult watching a film made for kids ... Not a good start? I gave it to some Dutch friends who loved it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the adventures of Huck Finn, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Huck Finn [DVD] (DVD)
bought it for my grandchild's birthday and thought it was good for her to better understand the background of apartheid and human rights
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Huck Finn [DVD] (DVD)
My sons enjoyed it and have watched it a couple of times, that said it hasn't made it to their favourite list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic adventure story, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Huck Finn [DVD] (DVD)
I found this film was a very enjoyable and humerous tale of two best friends from totally different backgrounds with opposing opinions about life in general until they end up on a roller coaster boat trip on the Mississippi. Both Huck and Jim have different views about life but the main thing they have in common is the pursuit of what is right. jim says," Just because people say its right doesn't mean to say it is. He is talking about slavery and as Huck becomes a first hand witness of the brutality shown to black slaves he admires his friend's bravery and becomes all the more determined to help Jim achieve his freedom. There are episodes which are funny but the film sends out a strong message about all men being equal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really cute!, 26 Jan 2004
By A Customer
Wood is too cute to be convincing as the rascal he plays but he does a really good job in the film anyway.I haven't read the book but there are many twists in the story and when huck and jim meet up with a couple of frauds,one of which is played by robbie coltrane,things get really funny.
My favourite scene is one in which huck dresses up as a girl in order to 'borrow' some food.
Well worth a watch, I would definately recommend this film to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One you definitely shouldn't miss, 10 Jun 2009
By 
I. R. Perez (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adventures of Huck Finn [DVD] (DVD)
This film is, in every sense, a great delight. Mark Twain's story has been wonderfully adapted. The story is moving, the dialogues are hilarious, the actors are at their best. A twelve years old Elijah Wood stars as the rebellious kid who must choose between his friendship with the runaway slave Jim and what he knows is 'right'. This is truly one of his best performances. The others are just as good as him, specially Courtney B. Vance, who plays Jim.
In short, this film adds all the advantages of a very good film to Twain's everlasting wit. The soundtrack by Bill Conti and the beautiful locations deserve a mention too.
If you like adventures, thoughts and wit, this is your film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars huck finn, 26 Dec 2003
By A Customer
this is one of the most enjoyable films i have seen in while about huck finn, when i was younger i read the book several times and i think this film adaption does it pround. you could improve it but it is perfect the way it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I havent seen this, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Huck Finn [DVD] (DVD)
As I bought this film for my Grand children I read the book when I was in school and Im sure they will enjoy the movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adventures of Huck Finn [DVD]
The Adventures of Huck Finn [DVD] by Stephen Sommers (DVD - 2004)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews