Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming and Heartwrenching
This is a funny, heartwarming and sometimes heartwrenching tale that I think really gave Kate Hudson a chance to shine.

Helen Harris, a free-spirited, fun-loving and single fashion executive is enjoying being free-spirited, fun-loving and single in New York, with no plans of settling down and definately no plans of having children any time soon. Her only plan...
Published on 13 Mar. 2007 by GratuitousViolets

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rings a bell?
Raising Helen begins with the story of 3 sisters played by Felicity Huffman, Joan Cusack and Kate Hudson. Kate Hudson plays Helen Harris a high-flying fashion executive the youngest of the sisters and the only one without any children and not planning to for a long while either by the seems of it.
The story that follows is Helen's life being turned upside down as...
Published on 6 Jun. 2006 by Ms. B. Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Great moments, but...., 14 July 2010
By 
Apple-eater "Severn Boy" (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raising Helen [DVD] (DVD)
OK, I'm a bloke. This film probably wasn't aimed at me.

That being said, it had some great moments, especially the scene-setting at the start, showing Helen at work.

Even when the kids came into the story, they weren't as cheesy as they can be in some American films.

But despite some good scenes, the second part of the film, where Helen looks after the kids, was over-long, and a bit tedious. She was bound to meet and fall in love with a man, and it was all bound to work out fine in the end, after some slightly cringe-worthy emotional scenes, where Helen finds herself and learns about the joys of being a mum....

I found the Joan Cusack character utterly unbelievable, but the worst was the Asian mum with the baseball bat. The character was pretty much computer-generated. You could almost see the scriptwriters thinking 'ok lads, we need to have a solid mum, who knows what she's doing, and who can control youths, but let's make her a bit different....oh yes, here we go....Asian mum with baseball bat, instead of cute small granny type).

The audience was clearly supposed to be in tears of laughter when she beat up the cocky teenies at the party, with the baseball bat, but it really just wasn't funny. Not even vaguely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing family film, 5 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Raising Helen [DVD] (DVD)
Helen (Kate Hudson) stars as a 20-something career girl who suddenly finds herself having to house - and raise - three children, one of them a hormonal 15-year-old girl. For a romantic comedy, it starts in rather a dramatic way and has a thread of tragedy running through it; and yet overall it's an encouraging story with quite a message of hope.

It's not laugh-aloud funny, although there are plenty of light-hearted moments. It's not a passionate romance - instead, a very low-key developing friendship, with, unusually, nobody leaping into bed after the first kiss. The language is clean, there's plenty of love and understanding, and there's even a pastor who is neither elderly nor a dork.

I wouldn't rate this amongst my absolute favourites, but we enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good clean fun, 10 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. Malcolm Parnaby (Thirsk England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raising Helen [DVD] (DVD)
loved this film just the sort of thing my late wife and I enjoyed together no swearing no grunting and groaning sex just good clean fun with no deep meanings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars She overdid it, 7 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Raising Helen [DVD] (DVD)
like she overdo everything since Skeleton Key. Why is that happening all the time? A new face, a good actress, a couple of REALLY good movies, then just all these crap crap crap. I think it is because she belives that she is good and then she think she can act and then she is changing her ways and dont let her natural talent blow us away like it did before... Story was good, and some of the performances are extraordinary: like THE amazing Joanne Cusack!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Raising Helen [DVD] (DVD)
Gorgeous movie, always a pleasure to view again.

An amusing romantic comedy which made me laugh and made me cry. This movie is about life, family, what is important and what is not.
Helen successful carrier women and party girl grows up fast when tragedy strikes and suddenly she is mum to there sister's three kids.

Helen learns to adapt and embrace change ...... and lives happily ever after.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab!, 4 Jan. 2007
By 
This review is from: Raising Helen [DVD] (DVD)
I really like this film. Its one of those typical heartwarming family style movies, stunning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-warming, 13 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Raising Helen [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely heart warming film - will watch again and again. It's refreshing as it's really more about Helen's relationship with her nieces and nephew as it is about her own love life which makes it all the more watchable - especially as Kate Hudson's characters are pretty much all the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great family movie, 16 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raising Helen [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this movie on a long airline flight, and bought it when we returned home. It is a wonderful "girly night in" film and is great entertainment throughout. Thoroughly recommended for a girls night in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ... to give it two stars because can't say I hated it as it didn't play, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raising Helen [DVD] (DVD)
Have to give it two stars because can't say I hated it as it didn't play. I have purchased lots of DVD's from this seller and this is only the second one I have had trouble with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Growing up, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raising Helen [DVD] (DVD)
Tragedy brings families together or pulls them apart, this one sows how tragedy can bring families together despite the sadness that causes it. Enjoyable and funny in parts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raising Helen [DVD]
Raising Helen [DVD] by Garry Marshall (DVD - 2004)
£4.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews