Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After the Beatles and Elvis come the Bee Gees
The collection of number one hits by the Beatles was later followed by an equivalent collection by Elvis Presley. Both those collections limited themselves to British and American number ones. If the same rule had been applied to the Bee Gees, there would have been too much empty space on the CD, so the net was cast wider. They trawled the charts of Germany (World, words,...
Published on 4 Nov 2004 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unfit for purpose
This CD contains great music but is rendered unfit for purpose because Reprise appears to have doctored the cd format so that it won't play on a PC. This should be unlawful. Some people only have a PC cd player and base their music system around it. Paranoid idiocy from record companies such as Reprise results in a product unfit for purpose, and anyone who finds they have...
Published on 6 Jan 2012 by enrico


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Different Collection Of Songs!, 1 Dec 2004
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
Not to be excluded from the list of other artists that have released compilations containing only #1 songs, the Bee Gees have no problems. Although some of the hits didn't actually make #1 in the UK, some may have been #1 in several other countries, prompting it to be thankfully included here.
The song "Man in the Middle" is included as a tribute to the late Maurice Gibb. "Number Ones" features 20-tracks, adding cuts such as "More Than a Woman" and "Islands in the Stream," a 1983 No. 1 hit for Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers. If you buy this early, you'll get the limited-edition CD/DVD combo which includes rare footage of the Bee Gees performing "How Can You Mend a Broken Heart," "How Deep Is Your Love," "Jive Talkin'," "Massachusetts" and "I Started a Joke" (from the U.K. TV show "An Audience With").
In this version, "More Than A Woman" replaces the USA versions "Lonely Days" and adds the tracks, "Immortality" and "Islands In The Stream", which are the same versions that are on "The Record".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'GREAT MEMORIES FROM A GREAT TRIO', 24 Mar 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
with recent tragic events many will want to re-remember the great
career of the 'bee-gees'
this album of course a great reflection of many of the groups best
known songs.
as a group they of course changed their style a few times keeping up
with the demands of the public at large, along with their many fans,
the trio were versatile enough to do just that, of course the most
remembered style-update was their 'disco' orientated spell bringing us
many superb and memorable numbers.
their career however spanned many more years than that golden era,
they gave us.
both 'robin' and 'barry' had much success releasing solo material as
well as the many hits as a trio.
as good as this 'CD' is, if you are a real fan of the groups many
achievements you may want something more than this, may I suggest you
have a look at the 'mythology' 4-CD collection, probably the most comprehensive
their many hits currently on offer at this time ( includes material from all
four brothers 'gibb' ).....,,.a great keepsake.
we've lost many great names in comparatively recent times, sadly 'robin' joining
brothers 'maurice' and 'andy' on that list......they left this world too soon..
'robin' a great song-writer, great vocalist...and I believe a great human being
......who's contribution to music will live forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, 21 Jun 2012
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
With some of the greatest pop songs ever written the BeeGees will remain long loved and listened to in the years to come. I have always meant to get myself one of their albums, instead of listening to everyone else's and when I saw this I had to get it.

Although alas most of the brothers have been ill and taken from us before their time, their music will live on. This album is great to listen to, and these tracks still get people up and dancing at parties, although beware that you have enough room for the certain 'John Travolta' track, as us men do get a bit over excited at times, strutting our stuff.

All in all this is a must have album, and it also has the original demo of 'Immortality'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great listening, 16 Jun 2012
By 
Mrs. Patricia Spiller "apples" (Crawley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
I ordered this to keep Robin Gibb in my thoughts when he was in a coma. What sad news that his has now died. The BeeGees music is so memorable and I am still playing this CD in my car to date. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BeeGees number ones., 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
This album is excellent value for money as it features twenty tracks and covers many years of hits. A good album for remembering different times in your life and reviving memories from the past. The Gibb boys are in fine form as usual and it just makes you want to sing along or dance to it. In a word it's FANTASTIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bee Gees, 14 May 2012
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
Great album by a great artist. Takes me back to the good old days. This album has all the greatest songs from a bygone era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Granny's nostalgia and good memories, 28 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
As I ordered the Number Ones by the BeeGees I was expecting nothing but the best and what I received was exactly that. Although their voices are different they come into harmony in the most special way, creating nothing but good vibrations and when listening to all their sounds I tend to forget the world around me. Can you possibly ask for more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 24 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. Sarah Sutherland (UK, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
This was a gift and it was greatly enjoyed all the best songs on it and it arrived quick thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing Album*****, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
Fantastic album. Truly original and sounds great to hear on my home cinema system. Just can't stop listening to this album. I can't think of any hit singles which is not on the album. Great value for money. Would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Tops, 10 Feb 2012
By 
P. Murphy (Derbyshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
It was great to be able to listen to clips before purchase. The actual CD is brilliant, brought back lots of memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Number Ones
Number Ones by Bee Gees (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews