Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pogues at their raw, blistering best
This is the Pogues best album. Shamefully overlooked in favour of the more polished (but still great) 'Rum...', this captures the anarchic energy of a band bursting to be heard. With coarser, more confrontational lyrics and mad energy this is alive and kicking. Pogue Mahone indeed.
Published on 25 Nov. 1999

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great album but can't play on itunes
Due a really annoying trick which Warner brothers have employed, you will not be able to rip this CD to itunes on Windows 7. It is the same with all the other remastered Pogues CDs from 2004.

As for the music, well what I can say- fantastic but try to find a version which you can rip to itunes
Published on 8 Nov. 2012 by Malcolm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Roses For Me (Audio CD)
very pleased with product, very fast service, can recommend both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shane and the boys at their best, 7 July 2006
By 
Martyn - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Red Roses For Me (Audio CD)
In which the Pogues come crashing through your stereo, smash up the living room, and add something new to the world of music while they're doing it.

The songs, all performed brilliantly, mix Irish folk classics with modern songs of drinking and violence, plus heartfelt tales of seperation and desperation. This really is a standalone classic from a band that in my humble opinion rarely again rose to such heights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Roses For Me (Audio CD)
Brilliant and very fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go on..., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Roses For Me (Audio CD)
Kiss my arse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended album, 4 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Red Roses For Me (Audio CD)
Item arrived on time, well packed, and in great condition. Great to have an album of such truly unique music for my shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great album but can't play on itunes, 8 Nov. 2012
By 
Malcolm (Hitchin, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Roses For Me (Audio CD)
Due a really annoying trick which Warner brothers have employed, you will not be able to rip this CD to itunes on Windows 7. It is the same with all the other remastered Pogues CDs from 2004.

As for the music, well what I can say- fantastic but try to find a version which you can rip to itunes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars false information, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Roses For Me (Audio CD)
As a pogues fan I ordered this item because it was advertised as having extra tracks. The cd I was sent is the original version of red roses me and contains no extra tracks. Mugged!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Roses For Me
Red Roses For Me by The Pogues (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews