Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Note Pure Pleasure
Hayley Westenra has been graced with a pitch perfect soprano voice. The dream-like melody of the tunes makes this one of the most relaxing alums ever. My best music purchase this year, which given the price is truly amazing.
Published on 18 Sept. 2007 by Hugo Foscolo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars hayley
Kind seller professional.
  Watch out for the customer!
Quick to contacts and answers.
Recommended to all friends and relatives.
great
not so bad
Published 20 months ago by masmagi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Note Pure Pleasure, 18 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Pure (Audio CD)
Hayley Westenra has been graced with a pitch perfect soprano voice. The dream-like melody of the tunes makes this one of the most relaxing alums ever. My best music purchase this year, which given the price is truly amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD, 5 Aug. 2006
By 
Jim (FERMANAGH United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure (Audio CD)
I first heard Hayley Westenra on a compilation CD entitled "Over the Rainbow" (The Songbird Collection). I had never heard of this artist prior to listening to this. On the strength of this CD I immediately logged on to Amazon and ordered her "Pure" CD. This is probably the best CD I have listened to in the past ten years!. This artist is something special and being backed by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra makes this CD an excellent buy. If you want an easy listening CD from an angelic singer this is the album to buy.

Absolutely superb!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure - with added Bonus CD, 31 Dec. 2004
By 
Mr. R. B. Ager "Ronald Ager" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure (Audio CD)
I reviewed the original issue of this album in March and gave it four stars then. Hayley is undoubtedly a great talent in the making and sings sweetly, clearly and without noticeable vibrato, but the voice is an acquired taste - on some of the songs, particularly the traditional Maori and slow classical ones, she sounds like a choirboy. On the more modern songs and arrangements, such as Never Say Goodbye (which is Ravel's ubiquitous Pavane) and Who Painted The Moon Black, the voice lowers in tone, is more mellow and easy to listen to, without losing its clarity and individuality.
There is nothing remotely uptempo or aggressive on the album; the arrangements by Sarah Class and George Martin are mostly ethereal and unobtrusive - the familiar Wuthering Heights is as close to swinging as things get.
Many people will be more than slightly aggrieved that, having supported this new talent by buying the original CD, it has now been re-released with a "bonus" CD containing six more songs (five of which were recorded at the same time as the original and could easily have been fitted onto it) plus a remix and a video of Pokarekare Are. Three of the new songs are seasonal, Mary Did You Know? falling into the category of modern carol; it and the following Bridal Ballad, from the movie of The Merchant of Venice, are easy on the ear, as, of course, are the two traditional carols at the end, but the middle stretch (My Heart And I / Across the Universe Of Time) I felt warbled on a bit too much, and it's a case of "spot the difference" on Pokarekare Are, apart from the removal of the backing chorus.
All in all this keeps its four stars, but can only be recommended to anyone who is coming to it for the first time and doesn't have the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are no words good enough, 10 Aug. 2005
By 
D. Croft (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure (Audio CD)
I first heard Hayley Westenra sing on classic Fm and had to have the album she has the best voice I have ever heard.
This album's title describes her voice in one word-pure and the songs suite her voice so well especially never say goodbye, dark waltz and the maori songs. I love the bonus CD aswell especially Mary did you know? and Bridall Ballad- this CD is a must have
Charlotte Church is not a patch on Hayley and always sounds as if the notes are being squeezed out of her-hayleys voice is beautiful.
I love her version of Wuthering Heights as Hayley can actually reach the notes unlike Kate Bush who should learn to sing within her range.Buy this album and you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely voice and some highly original song choices, 12 Jun. 2008
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pure (Audio CD)
The original `Pure' album was released in 2003, and despite there now being a confusing number of variations of it (special edition, import, bonus tracks & bonus discs) there are basically two editions - the original single disc and this 2CD Special Edition which adds a bonus disc to the original one.

The songs are a mixture of classical, popular and traditional, with some highly original and unexpected choices such as `River of Dreams' which is a transcription of Vivaldi's lovely violin solo 'largo' from `The Four Seasons', and a powerful recording of `Benedictus' from the Karl Jenkins' album `The Armed Man - A Mass for Peace'.

The New Zealand traditionals, predictably chosen because of Hayley's origin from that country, are the beautiful love songs `Pokarekare Ana' and `Hine e Hine' which are performed with effortless grace.

Hayley's version of the 1978 Kate Bush hit `Wuthering Heights' was for me a disappointment, failing to display anything like the passion and intensity achieved by Kate Bush and her backing group. This one floats along comfortably like a nice love song but eventually fizzles out with a competent, but lacklustre, guitar solo.

The remaining songs though are good performances. The bonus disc includes a couple of Christmas songs plus a video track of Pokarekare making this an excellent (international) debut which deservedly reached No. 8 in the UK Pop chart and No.1 in the UK Classical chart. It remains the fastest selling international debut album in the history of the UK Classical chart and the best selling artist of her native New Zealand's history, having been awarded Platinum status ten times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure bliss, 17 Feb. 2005
By 
HJM (RYDE, ISLE OF WIGHT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pure (Audio CD)
Until recently I always classed Hayley Westenra as another up and coming classical artist who was crossing over into the bounds of popular music. However all that changed when I saw Hayley Westenra on a Christmas edition of Songs of Praise when she performed 'Mary Don't You Know' and dueted with Aled Jones with 'Silent Night'. Her pitch perfect voice impressed me so much that I was compelled to purchase the album 'Pure' which I can only describe as fantastic. It mixes a range of mood inspiring songs like 'Pokarekare Ana' and 'Hine E Hine' with really beautiful tracks like 'Never Say Goodbye' and 'Who Painted The Moon Black'. Hayley's version of 'Wuthering Heights' is brilliant. On all the tracks Hayley's voice and pitch is fantastic. If you were considering getting this album, go for the one with the bonus CD, as this includes the tracks 'Silent Night' and the excellent 'Mary Don't You Know'. I have since purchased one of Hayley's earlier albums simply called 'Hayley Westenra' which is good but 'Pure' by far exceeds anything she has done before. 'Pure' was my favourite CD of 2004 and I look forward to more from Hayley Westenra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hayley Westenra, the world's best soprano, 28 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Pure (Audio CD)
What can I say? This is the best collection of classical songs I've ever heard, and they are made even better by the voice that's singing them. 'Pure' being used as the name for the album is very appropriate, one word describes her voice perfectly. This album contains some beautiful songs, in particular 'Hine e Hine', I can't get enough of this song, I just love hearing it. 'Never Say Goodbye', 'Who painted the Moon black?', 'River Of Dreams' and 'Heaven' all deserve a mention, all of them bring out the best in her voice.
The bonus CD that has come with 'Pure' only serves to back up the original point about Hayley's voice, 'My heart and I' and 'Across the Universe of Time' are 2 beautiful songs but have the potential to sound terrible if not sung well, Hayley has made them even better with her magnificent voice. Her 2 Christmas carols are amazing to listen to, and even not at Christmas time I listen to them all the time, because they're both just her voice with very little backing, bringing out the best.
I would recommend this CD to anyone who loves real music. She puts people like Charlotte Church to shame, not even a patch on Hayley. I could listen to this CD all day long, and anyone who appreciates classical music will agree.
I hope that she will be performing live in the UK soon. As I would love to be able to hear her performing live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly beautiful, 6 Dec. 2009
By 
J. Harvey (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure (Audio CD)
Classic Hayley Westenra - I play it over and over again. The Maori songs especially have some hauntingly beautiful melodies. Her New Zealand accent comes through in some of the English language songs, which adds to the character of the music in my opinion, rather than being just a "pure" rendition.
I found it quite awkward to access the video track on the bonus disc and I was a little disappointed by the quality of the video, which was rather crackly. But then I didn't even know there was any video when I bought the album; it's more than worth the price for the music alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No need for stress tablets with this album!, 15 Dec. 2004
By 
Ms. J. C. Knowles (Northampton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure (Audio CD)
Excellent album, very soothing. Beautiful music some quite enchanting. Must buy for a substitute from Prozac!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hayley Westenra, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure (Audio CD)
A beautiful voice - reminds me of Charlotte Church singing a few years ago. This was a replacement for my ealier (now damaged) copy and am glad that I found it available.
A great album, a classic in both senses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pure
Pure by Hayley Westenra (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews