Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cholesterol reduction
Within about a month my cholesterol level was reduced from 5.3 down to 4.8 without any other dietary adjustment and no side effects.
Published on 3 Mar 2011 by vince

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars ... and the Cholesterol blood report came out with no good news. So
I have been using these pills for more than two month now and the Cholesterol blood report came out with no good news.
So;
For those naive enough to fall into the trap of actually being interested in accruing this "snake-oil medicine" here are quotation of researches done on Polycosanol - which was originally promoted by non other but the Cuban industry...
Published 1 month ago by Judy Spotheim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cholesterol reduction, 3 Mar 2011
Within about a month my cholesterol level was reduced from 5.3 down to 4.8 without any other dietary adjustment and no side effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good alternative, 18 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my second purchase of these capsules and all the side effects I suffered whilst taking Simvastatin have compleletly disappeared. I will keep on buying them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ultra policosanol capsules, 18 May 2010
By 
W. H. Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had loads of side affects with statin tablets for colestarol so after reading about these I decide to kick out the statins and go for these capsules, and that was a good choice, they are not for everyone but for me they work well, no side effects and almost normal colestarol levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delivery could be quicker..., 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swanson Ultra Policosanol 20mg, 60 Capsules (Personal Care)
Pills seem fine, just took longer than I wanted to get them... Helped me get the PAGG stack to follow the Tim Ferriss thang...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cholesterol reduced, 22 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swanson Ultra Policosanol 20mg, 60 Capsules (Personal Care)
This substance definately helped to lower my cholesterol from 7.4 to 6.1 over two months, taken alongside plant sterol supplements (plant sterols had no apparent effect when taken alone in my case).
If you have high cholesterol though, I urge you to read the great Cholesterol Con by Dr Malcom Kendrick (a peer reviewer for the Lancet, Scottish GP and cardiologist), preferably before you start poisoning yourself with statins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Policosanol, 19 Dec 2011
Difficult to judge if this works as stated or not but certainly I feel better for not taking other prescribed drugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ... and the Cholesterol blood report came out with no good news. So, 19 Jun 2014
By 
Judy Spotheim "SpJ Judy" (Belgium, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swanson Ultra Policosanol 20mg, 60 Capsules (Personal Care)
I have been using these pills for more than two month now and the Cholesterol blood report came out with no good news.
So;
For those naive enough to fall into the trap of actually being interested in accruing this "snake-oil medicine" here are quotation of researches done on Polycosanol - which was originally promoted by non other but the Cuban industry that grew sugar cane.

Safety and Adverse Events

All 215 patients enrolled received at least 1 dose of trial medication and were included in the safety evaluation (172 patients received policosanol and 43 received placebo). The safety profile was excellent. In the double-blind phase, 45 patients experienced at least 1 adverse event. The proportion between the groups was not statistically significant (28% of patients received placebo, 21% received 10 mg, 37% received 20 mg, 37% received 40 mg, and 34% received 80 mg). The most commonly reported adverse events were bronchitis (13%), back pain (11%), pharyngitis (9%), upper respiratory tract infection (7%), and gastritis (5%). There were no differences in the frequencies between active treatment and placebo or between the dosage groups. No serious adverse events were found in all treatment groups.

Policosanol treatment resulted in no relevant changes in weight, vital signs (blood pressure, pulse rate), or routine chemistry and hematological laboratory parameters (data not shown).

To cover it further and maybe from the political angle, here is another quote:
"The reasons for the discrepant results between our trial and previous studies are unclear. As nearly all previous studies have been performed in Latin America (1 positive study was performed in Russia), it cannot be excluded that either ethnic or nutritional factors contribute to the impressively potent lipid-lowering effects of policosanol reported.
Although ethnic and nutritional differences between European white and Latin American patients might play a role, the magnitude of differences reported (no effect vs. a consistent 25% LDL-C reduction) makes this explanation unlikely.
Furthermore, other lipid-lowering drugs, such as statins24 and ezetimibe25 have been shown to have no ethnic-specific effects. The same holds true for responses to low-fat diet."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it is just as advertized, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Jackson "P F Jackson" (DERBYSHIRE ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swanson Ultra Policosanol 20mg, 60 Capsules (Personal Care)
very good product. has lived up to my expectations. does just as it say,s on the tin, will by it again thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the Liver, 19 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased to help maintain a healthy liver. No idea if it works but thought I would give it a try based on some scientific studies I had read. Didn't feel any different, no side effects so hard to report in detail the quality and performance of this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ALTERNATIVE CHOLESTEROL TREATMENT, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swanson Ultra Policosanol 20mg, 60 Capsules (Personal Care)
This product is new to me, but following some research,I am hoping that Policosanol will help to control my Cholesterol levels, in preference to taking statin medication, which cause unpleasant side effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews