Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bush v Belladonna - no contest.
In brief, there are two sides to this disc.
In my opinion, the Belladonna originals have been improved, and the Turbin originals have not.

As with all these re-recordings albums (Saxon, Testament etc) the spirit and atmosphere of the original recordings has been lost. The updating is most noticeable on The Fistful of Metal tracks, and whilst it doesn't...
Published on 5 Feb 2007 by longdirtyhair

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Anthrax
Good thrash metal music, thought it would have more guitar solos, but the band wGreater of Two Evilsas good performace of this cd
Published 23 months ago by Marcello


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bush v Belladonna - no contest., 5 Feb 2007
This review is from: Greater of Two Evils (Audio CD)
In brief, there are two sides to this disc.
In my opinion, the Belladonna originals have been improved, and the Turbin originals have not.

As with all these re-recordings albums (Saxon, Testament etc) the spirit and atmosphere of the original recordings has been lost. The updating is most noticeable on The Fistful of Metal tracks, and whilst it doesn't make them bad, it hasn't made them better in every case either. What you do gain, though, is all the best songs from the early albums under one roof, and with the enormous benefit of John Bush singing them.
Belladonna fans will probably disagree, but for me, Bush is superior in every department, and it is because of, rather than in spite of, his involvement here, that this disc is worth having. He adds aggression and depth, and fits the nature of the music better than Joey ever did.
Otherwise there are no surprises. The band know the tracks inside out already - and probably so do you. Golden nuggets from the heyday of Thrash Metal.
Belladonna fans can pick up a greatest hits compilation, and leave this alone, if they think they might be offended. I own both, and this album gets spun more often - by miles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest of all evils!, 28 Dec 2004
This review is from: Greater of Two Evils (Audio CD)
this brilliant peice of pure thrash metal by an amazing band is perfect for anyone just starting out with the band, but also for anybody who is an existing fan; each song was selected to go onto this album by a vote from the fans. the result is a greatest-of cd, but with a slight difference - the album was recorded live in their studio over 2days so, songs that may have seemed dated or long dead are injected with new life. being live also gives the sound a very raw and crisp edge to it, and it sounds bloody brilliant.
this album is a perfect peice of thrash - fast, furious, heavy and best played loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vote Bush, 14 April 2005
By 
This review is from: Greater of Two Evils (Audio CD)
Of the big 4 thrash/speed metal bands, Anthrax perhaps never quite made 5 star classics like Metallica's 'Master of puppets' or Megadeth's 'Rust in peace'. But then they've been the most consistent in not putting out any duffers either. IMO original singer Joey Belladonna's voice was better suited to straight ahead metal being kinda cod-operatic like Rob Halford (Judas Priest) or Bruce Dickinson (Iron Maiden) but not as overblown as Ronnie James Dio (Rainbow/Sabbath Mk2).Belladonna's replacement John Bush has a rougher edge to his voice which far better suits Anthrax' brand of unrelenting, in yer face, high speed thrash. As such, IMO, the reworkings of the best tunes of the Belladonna era which make up this album are now harder and much better for it. If you're checking out Anthrax for the 1st time I'd recommend you get this as a starter rather than Belladonna period stuff like 'Spreading the disease' and 'Among the living'. The exception here is 'Persistence of time', by far the best of the Belladonna era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Anthrax, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ANTHRAX-THE GREATER OF TWO EVILS (Audio CD)
Good thrash metal music, thought it would have more guitar solos, but the band wGreater of Two Evilsas good performace of this cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic Thrash album, 11 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greater of Two Evils (Audio CD)
This is one of the greatest metal albums that I have EVER owned. Classic Thrash is back - but on the IPOD now. MOBILE MADNESS - EXCELLENCE!

Buy this album if you metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN Energy-filled Romp Through a Classic Past, 23 Dec 2004
By 
Christopher Ward "Horrorsmith" (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greater of Two Evils (Audio CD)
Upon hearing about this release, I wasn't too sure what to expect. Anthrax re-recording their eighties classics with vocalist John Bush? Yeah, Bush is definitely the best vocalist the band have ever had - to these ears, Joey Belladonna always seemed a little bit out of place - but you shouldn't really mess with the classics. Remember when Iron Maiden re-recorded tracks off their first album, with Bruce Dickinson instead of Paul Di'Anno? Superior vocal talent he may be, but the end results were less than spectacular. Luckily for Anthrax, the opposite has happened here. The band attack all of the tunes with customery vigour, while Bush is absolutely outstanding, making many of these tracks his own (one or two maybe shouldn't have been done!) Highlights are 'Among the Living', 'Caught in a Mosh', 'I Am the Law' and 'In My World'. Purists will probably cry about it, but if you prefer Belladonna's vocal talents then listen to the originals. If, like me, you prefer John Bush at the mic, then this is probably one of the best Anthrax albums you are likely to hear. The classic songs with the better singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthrax better than ever, 29 Dec 2004
This review is from: Greater of Two Evils (Audio CD)
this brilliant peice of pure thrash metal by an amazing band is perfect for anyone just starting out with the band, but also for anybody who is an existing fan; each song was selected to go onto this album by a vote from the fans. the result is a greatest-of cd, but with a slight difference - the album was recorded live in their studio over 2days so, songs that may have seemed dated or long dead are injected with new life. being live also gives the sound a very raw and crisp edge to it, and it sounds bloody brilliant. from the evidence on this cd it is hard to understand how anthrax never quite achieved the same glory as the other big names in thrash: Metallica&Slayer.
this album is a perfect peice of thrash - fast, furious, heavy and best played loud (and not a rap line from public enemy in sight). Any metal fan will love this.
Best track: Caught in a mosh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bush proves himself more than worthy, 21 Jan 2010
By 
H. Smithson (Weymouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greater of Two Evils (Audio CD)
Ok. Think of this as an Anthrax "Greatest Hits", but with the new vocalist, and greater recording quality, and in places, improved solos. I love this album, and I think John Bush proves himself to be a worthy replacement for previous vocalists in Anthrax, a band who haven't had as much luck as the other bands in the great 4. All the classic songs that I love are included, such as Madhouse, Caught in a Mosh, Indians, I am the Law and Deathrider.

I think that John does a great job, and this is a great album for Anthrax Fans, and Thrash Metal Fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dont fix what isnt broken, 2 May 2007
This review is from: Greater of Two Evils (Audio CD)
I approached this album with caution. I am not the greatest fan of Bush's vocals, they dont suit Anthrax's sound at all. So, while listening to this album, the most immediate thing I noticed was the lack of energy that Belladonna's screeching provided. Plus the lack of samples on a couple of the tracks from Spreading the Disease is not major ommission, still, this Cd is not enough to make me want to listen to instead of the originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost brilliant, 21 Nov 2006
By 
J. Halstead "BlackMetal41" (Solihull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greater of Two Evils (Audio CD)
I wanted to love this - I really did. On paper it looked amazing. John Bush would stamp his own authority onto songs sung by the previous Anthrax vocalists. The debut LP from Anthrax, Fistful Of Metal is a great start for a young band, all the songs are great and vocalist Neil Turbin had an incredible capacity for hitting the high notes. When listening to this CD I find myself wishing Bush could hit those notes too. The other tracks are reworks from Spreading the Disease, Among The Living and State of Euphoria. Seeing as Bush is a million times more competant than Joey Belladonna, most of these songs are an improvement on the originals. Still don't understand what people see in Among The Living, and a couple of the songs covered from that release remain as awful as ever, including the title track itself. Have to admit that Indians is a vast improvement. So - some good some not so good. All the musicianship is incredible, its just that fans of the original songs, whilst appreciating the revamped versions might still prefer the originals. Sad too that this should be John Bush's swan song as I doubt he'll perform with the band again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ANTHRAX-THE GREATER OF TWO EVILS
ANTHRAX-THE GREATER OF TWO EVILS by Anthrax (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews