Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
When i bought this, finally, i had doubts that i wouldbe able to listen to it- in the past my experience with live recorded music cd's has been poor, becauise on some all you can hear is the crowd, plus if the singer cant sing, it shows up badly.

However, amy lee can obviously sing live very very well. The audio cd is perfect, with 2 tracks that werent on the...
Published on 1 Sep 2006 by I. OBrien

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD is ok, but live CD shows up flaws
The problem with live albums is that is very difficult to capture the atmosphere and energy of being at the concert. It is very difficult to reproduce songs in a live setting to the same standard of the ones you hear on the bands CD. Most live performances will not be perfect, but the energy, and atmosphere when you are there at the gig often hide these imperfections. So...
Published on 16 Jan 2005 by king_dezeeuw06


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a official DVD and the best!, 23 Nov 2004
By A Customer
Got it from the first day it came out... very funny indeed! Lots of wrong bits from the live performances like John falling over backwards from jumping, Amy playing wrong notes... but all in all the extras show how normal and funny the band can be! Sound qaulity is very good in the main concert, especially in 5.1 or 2.1 sound!
If your an Evanescence fan... it's like the Bible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD is ok, but live CD shows up flaws, 16 Jan 2005
This review is from: Anywhere But Home [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
The problem with live albums is that is very difficult to capture the atmosphere and energy of being at the concert. It is very difficult to reproduce songs in a live setting to the same standard of the ones you hear on the bands CD. Most live performances will not be perfect, but the energy, and atmosphere when you are there at the gig often hide these imperfections. So without the sense of occasion of actually being there, the flaws are clear to hear when you listen to a live album, and you basically just get imperfect versions of tracks you already have on the studio albums.
This is sadly the case with 'Anywhere But Home's' live CD. Evanescence are a very good band and put on a great live show (I've seen them live and they were fantastic), but this live CD doesn't do them justice. If you never heard Evanescence before and heard this you would think it was pretty good, and if you were there in the crowd I am sure you really enjoy the performance. But anyone familiar with 'Fallen's very slick, highly finished production listening this CD could easily pick out the inperfections.
On a positive note, the inclusion of 'Breathe No More', 'Missing' and 'Farther Away', 3 songs left off the 'Fallen' album are all very good songs and any Evanescence fan who never heard them is really missing out. Also the piano led cover of KoRn's 'Thoughtless' is very interesting as Amy Lee twists a familiar song in a totally different direction.
The DVD is very well presented, the menu screens and the way the live footage is cut works very well. The DVD roduction in general looks very cool.
The concert on DVD is a lot better than it is on the CD, the visuals do go some way to recreating the concert atmosphere and hide many of the flaws so clearly heard on the CD. With the best moments coming during Amy Lee sits down on the piano for the heart felt 'Breathe No More' and 'My Immortal'. It is still by no means perfect but it looks good, sounds a lot better with the visuals and is overall very watchable.
The DVD extras are pretty much Evanescence messing around back stage, it does throw out the myth that Amy Lee is miserable and moody and that she has no connection to the rest of the band. These extras are quiet watchable and do have some funny moments, but they are hardly relevant or essential viewing for any fan. It also includes the Evanescence music videos for 'Bring Me To Life', 'Going Under', 'My Immortal' and 'Everybody's Fool'.
The DVD is pretty good, while the live CD is not the best. For all the hardcore Evanescence fans I am sure you will find enough here to justify the purchase (the 3 unreleased songs in particular), but for the passive fans there is little here to convert you into a hardcore fan and you might want to give this a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anywhere But Home, 14 Dec 2004
Evanescence have been one of my favourite bands since the first time I heard the band play Bring Me To Life on Top Of The Pops.
After watchign the band live in Sheffield in May 2004 it just upheld my opinion that they are a great band, with the talented vocals of Amy Lee and the musical stylings of Rocky, John, Terry and William are pure brilliance.
This CD/DVD combined was a star buy and with songs like 'Farther Away' and the Korn cover 'Thoughtless' they still cease to amaze me. A must for any fan. Evanescence rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Evanescence - anywhere but home, 9 July 2006
By 
Mr. P. A. P. Gammond "Earthpig" (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anywhere But Home [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
If you're an Evanescence fan, and I am, you will want to kill the director of the gig footage. The music is fantastic and the CD is awesome but I could not watch the concert in bites of more than two tracks at a time. What i was hoping for was a feel for an Evanescence gig but instead got an insight into the mind of someone with attention deficit syndrome.

The director has chosen to flash from one cut to another, barely spending more than 2 seconds on each bit. He probably thinks this conveys the atmosphere of a concert, but it doesn't. I could maybe have forgiven him if he had done it for one track, but no - he has to do it all the way through. This makes it totally unwatchable.

I think we should all get our flaming torches and pitchforks and rabble over to the director's house demanding that he recuts the concert footage properly because underneath all the arty crap it looks like a fantastic gig.

It's like excitedly waiting for your new car to arrive only to have it delivered in bits. The 2 out of 5 is for the editor, not the band, although i supposed they must have approved it. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good package!, 30 Aug 2007
By 
L. Otto (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anywhere But Home [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
If you're an avid Evanescence fan, then this will no doubt already be in your collection, and rightly so! The content on this 2-disc set is fantastic, not only are you getting a full-length DVD performance, you also get the audio tracks to the entire concert AND an exclusive track as an extra. Speaking of extras, the DVD features behind the scenes footage (which is very good and very funny, and definitely shows you the lighter side of Evanescence) but you also get a few previous music videos, which is a nice touch too. This is definitely a worthwhile package to purchase. Definite value for money here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must have for fans, 4 July 2005
This review is from: Anywhere But Home [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
This DVD/CD package is a must have for Evanescence fans. I have seen them live and the concert footage captures the atmosphere perfectly, with warts and all.
As a band they were really tight when I saw them and Amy Lee does definately hold the audience really well. I love her voice and even the DVD captures her at her best - rocking out and loving every minute. A friend watched it the other day with me and he's not a massive fan at all but really enjoyed it - appreciated where my love of them comes from.
The behind the scenes footage is fly on the wall and is a must see for fans.
I hope to see more of these in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Going Under, 15 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Anywhere But Home [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
To anybody who thinks Evanescence are too 'commercial' they should get a load of this. The DVD is not only superb but proves that Evanescence are 'real rock'. This is the bands statement that they can live on without Ben (ex lead guitar) and he is completely absent from the DVD. True Amy's vocals are slightly rougher than on 'Fallen' but still carry the tune and emotion that make Evanescence unique. Blended with bursts of nu-metal they silence all critics.
The concert is great, the backstage footage hilarious plus you've got all the Evanescence video's too. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY AWESOME, 22 Nov 2004
By 
C. Reason "Caz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this should be a bible for any bands making a DVD. the hour of behind the scenes stuff is so hilarious and the actual concert is totally awesome. a must have for an Ev fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 29 Dec 2004
By 
Bryan Longmuir (Aberdeen, Aberdeen United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anywhere But Home [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
I am a fan of Evanescence and have to say that the DVD/CD package is the best!!! The concert itself is absolutely fantastic as is the CD version. The Behind the scenes stuff is also very good along with the other features such as the Bloopers and Evanescence Unleashed. A truly excellent package that is worth every penny. Go Get It NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd been there, 10 Aug 2008
By 
E. Perkins "spideredd" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is Fallen preformed in paris live on DVD, with the CD in to boot.
The lighting is good, the atmosphere from the crown made me feel as though i was there and the quality of the sound is excellent.
it includes the first four videos that they did, and they are as good as I remember.
It includes a behind the scenes of evanescence, which i watched, but found boring after a while, but I can see that people would like to see it.
It includes missing, an excellent track that hadn't previously made it to album. I fail to see why, as it would have finnished Fallen off well.
It also includes the excellent Thoughtless and Farther Away.
As i wached it for the first time, i found myself wishing that i had been to paris (despite the french) to see this preformence.
Would i recomend it to any one? well, yes i would, and i have. I've even got people to listen to evenesce on the strength of this dvd.
Watch this DVD with the sound up and damn the neighbors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anywhere But Home [CD + DVD]
Anywhere But Home [CD + DVD] by Evanescence (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews