Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say, I've FALLEN!
I have to say that I've watched this video over and over. I love the songs and am so glad they included four music videos. Amy Lee is a great front-woman and in my opinion in the top three female rock vocalists in the world - along with Julianne Regan of All About Eve and No Doubt's Gwen Stefani.
I did, however notice that on occasion, Amy was singing harmonies with...
Published on 15 Jun 2005 by Silas Wegg

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD is ok, but live CD shows up flaws
The problem with live albums is that is very difficult to capture the atmosphere and energy of being at the concert. It is very difficult to reproduce songs in a live setting to the same standard of the ones you hear on the bands CD. Most live performances will not be perfect, but the energy, and atmosphere when you are there at the gig often hide these imperfections. So...
Published on 16 Jan 2005 by king_dezeeuw06


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say, I've FALLEN!, 15 Jun 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evanescence: Anywhere But Home (DVD + CD) [2004] (DVD)
I have to say that I've watched this video over and over. I love the songs and am so glad they included four music videos. Amy Lee is a great front-woman and in my opinion in the top three female rock vocalists in the world - along with Julianne Regan of All About Eve and No Doubt's Gwen Stefani.
I did, however notice that on occasion, Amy was singing harmonies with herself. I'm not sure whether this was backing tracks (which is a possibility as there was no keyboard player on stage, but there were certainly keyboards playing) or whether they added it in a studio afterwards. This isn't an uncommon practice though, even Roger Waters did this with The Wall Live in Berlin.
The sound quality is excellent with a choice of 5.1 surround or 2.0. Great to see Missing (studio version) included on the CD and the DVD (DVD as end titles to Behind the Scenes doc), which I hadn't heard before and love. Breathe No More (Live) was also new to me and a beautiful track.
I have to say that the Behind the Scenes "documentary" was something of a disappointment. I was hoping to learn something about this excellent band and maybe have an interview with Amy. Unfortunately it was little more than a lot of shouting, mooning and general larking around. It did give an insight into Amy Lee though. By some of the lyrics to her songs, you'd expect her to be introverted and pessimistic. Well she certainly doesn't appear to be. If anything, she's like a kid that really shouldn't be allowed to have sugary drinks. It was a nice surprise.
One other thing: the track list is wrong, Missing is not in the concert at all, it's a studio track played during the end titles (as I said before).
A must DVD for all fans. Brilliant concert and great videos. Roll on album No 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 1 Sep 2006
By 
I. OBrien "In the cupboard reading a book." (East Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When i bought this, finally, i had doubts that i wouldbe able to listen to it- in the past my experience with live recorded music cd's has been poor, becauise on some all you can hear is the crowd, plus if the singer cant sing, it shows up badly.

However, amy lee can obviously sing live very very well. The audio cd is perfect, with 2 tracks that werent on the last one. There were also little added touches as she was singing live, like the way she sang, so it made it nicer to listen to- didnt feel so fake.

The dvd has many features, which i didnt expect. It has four music videos- going under, bring me to life, everybodys fool and my immortal. All good videos.

It has the concert, which is basically the same as the audio cd, except you get to watch it aswell. The only problem i had with that was that the camera man didnt stay in one place very long, so there was never a good shot of the band or concert, which defeats the object of the dvd really. I often found myself hitting pause if i wanted to see a detail (like amy lee's amazing clothes!).

There was also an extras section, with lots of funny film footage put together when the band were on the road, adding up to about an hours in total.

Overall, though, i found this is great, and i would reccomend it to anyone who listens. The bonus is the pretty cd cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant :), 8 Dec 2004
By 
C. Down "C Down" (Plymouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think most people are being mislead into thinking this is a NEW ALBUM - IT ISNT, its a recording of one of their tour dates in Paris with additional DVD footage, all of the above rock especially the bands rendition of "Thoughtless." The CD does contain the studio recorded track "Missing" which wasnt included on Fallen, if you dont have this track, then the DVD - CD combo is a must.
I gave it only four stars because although the footage is great (Amy drunk is a must see!!) it is a bit random, there are also no real interviews as such. But apart from that for the price your paying its worth every , look out for the hidden live video too........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evanescence ROCK, 11 Jan 2005
By 
Mrs. A. Jeff "madal12" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evanescence: Anywhere But Home (DVD + CD) [2004] (DVD)
Having seen the band live in Birmingham, I wasn't disappointed with this excellent DVD/CD. (what a brilliant idea to put the concert on CD, because how many time do you want to listen to a live CD but only have it on DVD/video?)
with the added benefit of videos of their previously released tracks and 'Behind the scenes' to see them in their own light was excellent.
Amy Lee has a fantastic voice and this DVD/CD is an absolute must for any Evanescence fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Sorely Disappointed!, 24 Nov 2004
I am also a huge fan of Evanescence and I belive that the DVD/CD is fab. The DVD has the amazing performance from Zenith, Paris and as always the band are on top form. However, for me the backstage footage is what makes this DVD. Its is an hour long piece of them goofing around and being themselves which is great to see.
Now this matter of a bad cd, I thought that it was quite clear by the fact that since Ev havent actually released their 2nd album the content would not be all new. The tracks are the same as they are taken straight off of the DVD. This is why there is screaming in the background. In my opinion this adds to the cd as it gives you the atmosphere of being back at one of their gigs. The final track Missing (or the only redeeming feature as was said before!) is also not new, it is just unreleased, this song has been one of my favourites for a long time as it is truly beautiful, so at least we are in agreement about one thing. Ev are currently writing their new album and I believe this DVD/CD was released as there will be no more tours consisting of only the songs from fallen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value? You have no idea!, 21 Dec 2004
By 
M. Hodgetts (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evanescence: Anywhere But Home (DVD + CD) [2004] (DVD)
All your favourite tracks and live. This is not like many artists who suddenly seem to have been utilising studio technology to make them sound good when they are heard live -- this woman can sing!!! A whole live concert that can only be appreciated with the lights off and the sound up. From loud to quiet, to quiet, to LOUD...... and she can play the piano!.
Fed up with the concert, no probs, all the music videos are here.
Two disks, one DVD and one CD and all for less than eleven quid. If only all bands were this good value. If you like Evanescence or just think you might do, buy this DVD set, I promise you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A proper live DVD, 29 Nov 2004
This review is from: Evanescence: Anywhere But Home (DVD + CD) [2004] (DVD)
Evanescence's debut 'Fallen' was my favorite debut album of the last decade, and Amy Lee is probably the best vocal talent to emerge from all of the 'nu' rock bands streaming out of America.
I did worry then that this would dissappoint, particularly as all the TV commercials featured studio versions of the songs to advertise this, a Live DVD.
Had the corporate boys at Wind-Up taken a lesson from the 'Bob-Rock' school of post production, and bleached every hint of live-ness from this? - Not a bit.
This is a full on Live DVD. Instruments and vocals have been allowed to fend for themselves in a really ballsy performance from all concerned.
The only detraction is the use of a backing track for synth noises and the odd bv. It is most prevalent during the intros, but thankfully it is low in the mix and the band really do shine through.
The band clearly enjoy themselves on-stage playing a very strong setlist, including a terrific Korn cover -'Thoughtless'.
Sure there is the odd duff note, but that is what makes it live. - Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding value, 17 Dec 2004
The DVD was well worth going through a repeat of 'Fallen' tracks. You have the concert, the official vidoes and the behind-the-scenes footage. Somewhere in the region of 31/2 hours of stuff! Let's not forget the Live CD of the concert!?
I can't find one single fault with this package; even the Amazon price tag was more than admirable!
Go get it, you won't be sorry or disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock out, 5 Feb 2007
By 
This is fantastic!! Not only does it contain a mind blowing concert on DVD but then a copy of the concert on CD too.

I got this when it came out and didn't know what to expect but having bought their first album and loving it I really wanted to see a LIVE dvd of a concert.

I was not disappoint with this!! It is an amazing concert from start to finish. I could sit there and watch it two times in a row and not get bored with it.

Also on the DVD is behind the scences feature which is just as enjoyable as the concert itself and with the added CD you can't go wrong with this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a official DVD and the best!, 23 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Evanescence: Anywhere But Home (DVD + CD) [2004] (DVD)
Got it from the first day it came out... very funny indeed! Lots of wrong bits from the live performances like John falling over backwards from jumping, Amy playing wrong notes... but all in all the extras show how normal and funny the band can be! Sound qaulity is very good in the main concert, especially in 5.1 or 2.1 sound!
If your an Evanescence fan... it's like the Bible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evanescence: Anywhere But Home (DVD + CD) [2004]
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews