Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mezmerizing Metal
I can see how some people hate this album - weird sounds, weird lyrics... I'm a massive SOAD fan, their self-titled album was probably my favourite pre-Mezmerize/Hypnotize of the three, so when I heard B.Y.O.B. and Cigaro on the radio a few weeks before this album came out, I thought it would be incredible.
Surprisingly after the first listen I was a little...
Published on 11 Mar 2006

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic but Flawed
After hearing 'Cigaro'and 'B.Y.O.B'I was expecting a crushing, relentless, frantic album that would drag the listner by the ears and abuse the hell out of him for example Faith No More's 'Angel Dust' and while it does have songs that fit style, (the previous 2 mentioned) and it does include songs that are just plain bizarre but brillaint as well (Violent Pornography &...
Published on 14 Jun 2005 by a_broken_tv


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mezmerizing Metal, 11 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Mezmerize (Audio CD)
I can see how some people hate this album - weird sounds, weird lyrics... I'm a massive SOAD fan, their self-titled album was probably my favourite pre-Mezmerize/Hypnotize of the three, so when I heard B.Y.O.B. and Cigaro on the radio a few weeks before this album came out, I thought it would be incredible.
Surprisingly after the first listen I was a little disappointed - there didn't seem to be any 'anthems' aside from B.Y.O.B. and there were a few strange songs. After a few listens though, I realised that every single song was an anthem.
I saw SOAD on their Mezmerize tour in June 2005, and to be honest, I can't imagine a better display. Starting with Soldier Side (Intro) being played behind a curtain, only for the curtain to drop when B.Y.O.B. kicked in, it was clear that every song from Mezmerize would be a classic.
This album displays all of System's traits - Crushing-yet-catchy riffs, sing-along choruses, eastern instrumetal solos, comedy lyrics, political lyrics, and general 'bizarreness'. Heavy songs B.Y.O.B., Revenga, and Sad Statue are equals to classics such as Chop Suey, Sugar, and Suggestions. Crazy songs Cigaro, Cocaine, and Old School Hollywood bring relief from the political rants (Malakian singing an acoustic version of the first verse from Cigaro is possibly the funniest thing I've ever seen/heard). Album closer Lost In Hollywood is a beautiful song even with the 'un-beautiful' lyrics "All you maggots smoking fags out there...".
To some it up, this album has everything, sounds like nothing before it and nothing since, and will forever be remembered as half of the greatest double album ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Album from a quality band, 18 Feb 2006
By 
This review is from: Mezmerize (Audio CD)
There was a lot of hysteria surronding "Mezmerize" before its release, would it be able to match or even topple the sucess of multi-platnium "Toxicity" and keep up the maamoth sales that it inticed.
Seeing that many magazines gave it glowing reviews i decided i would buy it, and i was not dissapointed.
Although it takes a more melodic and less heavy approach than their previous albums with more daron singing (a bad thing)it was a piece of arts genius and shows that metal does not have be bland or hollow screaming to make it sell.
And unlike the weaker "Hypnotize" you can just put it on and not skip one track, chock full of catchy metal and rock tunes with main vocalist/keyboradist Serj Tankian using all of his vocal talents giving it every drop of emotion he has.
From the gentle "Soldier side" to the beserk "cigaro" with daron malakian (vocals/guitar) signing stuff like "cant you see that i love my cock"
features the singles "Bring Your Own Bombs" "Question" and i think "Cigaro"
All in all a stunnig piece of work with a triple platnium success. Buy it, you wont be dissapointed, see why they stand out from other metal bands.
Inventive guitar riffs, that are annoying to play coz they are in drop C tuning, damn! ( i am too lazy to detune my guitar)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOAD has taken over my life!, 14 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Mezmerize (Audio CD)
Beware of System of a Down.
I used to pride myself in being pretty eclectic in my musical taste. I loved all rock music, the blues, classical, World music, and regulary attended folk festivals. I've got a record collection of several hundred which I played variously and regularly. But not any more.
Now, all I can listen to is System of a Down. I remember that fateful day, 2 years ago, when I first heard Aerials from "Toxicity", an album which I promptly purchased. This was followed swiftly by "System of a Down" and "Steal this album" (which I bought, nevertheless).
And now "Mezmerize". I've taped all four albums, and play them incessently in my car. At work, "Mezmerize" does exactly what it says on the label - mezmerizes. My waking hours are filled with Tankien's lyrics and vocals, Malakian's bewitched guitar, Dolomayan's thundering drums and Odijian's blistering bass lines. Even my dreams are sound-tacked by SOAD songs. I travelled 100 miles to see them in concert, never believing that they could replicate their albums live - but they did, and often improved on them with clever twists and variations.
So, mezmerized, here I sit, trying to pick out tracks which I like better than others, but cannot, as they're all equally magnificent. So I pick out ones which haven't been mentioned below. Radio/Video is just so singable, it penetrates the brainwaves and emits its lyrics in place of your normal speech. This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm on this Song is so paranoia-inducing that I've not eaten fish in a month. Violent Pornography urges us to switch off our TVs and get a life.
And so I would, if it wasn't for the fact that I now live life focussed on 21st November, when Amazon have promised the next album, "Hypnotise", will drop through my letter box.
People are disappointed by "Mezmerise"? You want to hear Serj over Daron? Come on, people how can you make such crass statements? Mozart was incredulous when asked to improve upon something which was already perfect. SOAD must also hear such comments with confoundment. There is only one music now: and that music is System of a Down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can evolution be a bad thing?, 24 Nov 2005
By 
D. Brewer "dark_mercenary" (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mezmerize (Audio CD)
Having read some of the reviews of their new album Hypnotize (of which I haven't heard yet but will when I receive my copy from Amazon) I was staggered to read some people's opinions that not only Hypnotize but also Mesmerize was inferior to the bands early work. Absolute nonsense.
Whilst albums such as Toxicity are works of art, System of a Down have undoubtedly taken many steps forward with Mesmerize. Perhaps what hardcore fans may dislike about these latest offerings is the more political stance and decided leaning towards a more soulful and mystical style of music.
Their self-titled debut, Steal This Album and Toxicity were full of rage: Mesmerize has more of a message. Stand out tracks on this surely have to be B.Y.O.B (which is all about the war and in particular the use of bombs), Old School Hollywood, Lost In Hollywood and, my personal favourite, Sad Statue.
The album begins with the haunting Soldier Side which, although brief, acts as an introduction to the more methodical approach to come. The end track, Lost in Hollywood, is a scathing attack on the lifestyles of the rich and famous in Hollywood, yet for it's acidic overtones is still beautifully crafted.
Hardcore metal and rock fans, who are only after pure sound and noise by some of System's lesser contempories, will be disappointed by this. But if you appreciate a more thought-out and carefully crafted metal album then you would be hard-pressed to find something superior to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 24 May 2005
By 
JP (Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mezmerize (Audio CD)
I was absolutely dying to get this album, now I can't stop listening to it. It's been on my stereo non-stop for the last week. The only track I've not really given a chance yet is the last one, its a bit slow. My favourite track keeps changing too, first it was Violent Pornography - love the lyrics, then it was Cigaro - angst at its finest, now its Question - really melodic in places but with a nice rough edge thrown in. Man its so easy to over review these guys so I'll stop rambling. SOAD do hard&fast extremely well. Only down side is its over far too soon, cant wait for the next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars System scream a diversity of music and talent., 13 Jun 2005
By 
MR R J R BALDWIN (Lincoln, Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mezmerize (Audio CD)
This album has been eagerly awaited by system fans the world over,and it delivers every thing you could ever want. B.Y.O.B. Is a particuarly fantastic song with all the others being of a standard that lets you know you are hearing quality metal. If you are not already a fan then give it a go, this album is more listener friendly than previous releases, but it is still a very welcome addition to the System catalouge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not Toxicity but does that make this bad ?, 4 April 2007
This review is from: Mezmerize (Audio CD)
For those new to SoaD like I was until only recently, ignore the usual detractors here.

They are comparing all subsequent albums against 'Toxicity' just like other people are comparing the newer Queens of the Stone Age album against 'Songs for the deaf'.

These 2 new albums are better than 95% of other groups' albums out there.

The muppet who mentioned the lyrics in Cigaro on this album hasn't heard of irony or cynicism. Anyway, if you don't like 1 of the tracks, there's still another 10 classics to listen to.

All I would suggest is - if you like your music loud and challenging - go for it.

My son tried to get me into this lot ages ago and I resisted like an idiot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mezmerize, a review., 26 Jun 2005
This review is from: Mezmerize (Audio CD)
System of a Down's latest album is the first of a 2-part album. This is mezmerize and the follow up (due for release late 2005) is called hypnotize.
The album is the first SOAD album to have an opening - Soldier Side. It also is very short in length, about 30-40 minutes. The first song to be released from the album is also the first song on the album - BYOB. BYOB is a great song that is full of meaning and excellent lyrics. A politically charged song is nothing new from SOAD but that doesn't mean that this is anything you've heard before. SOAD seem to have developed since Steal This Album and definately since Toxicity.
More brilliant songs follow with meaningful, whitty and even funny lyrics, particularly Revenga, Cigaro and Sad Statue.
The sound as mentioned has evolved, Serj Tankian's voice remains as powerful and unique as ever, John Dolomayan's drumming has got better (if that is possible), Shavo Odijian's bass playing is still solid and Daron Malakian's guitar playing is still as complex as it is brilliant. His vocals however do tend to encroach upon Serj's talented voice.
Since this is the 1st of 2 I suggest that this may be the weaker of the two, this is brilliant so imagine what Hypnotize will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reaching and beating expectations, 5 Jun 2005
By 
P. R. Britten "esiotort" (Southwold) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mezmerize (Audio CD)
Owning all previous System albums, you could only expect something brilliant. The rapid lyrics and even quicker rhythm changes makes this an incrdible, pacey exciting album to own.
With the caning bass and drums similar to that of Rage against the Machine, with the comedic lyrics that only Daron Malakian and Serj Tankian can attain '...violent pornography, choking chicks and sodomy...'.
Though, as mentioned before, the rhythm changes really steal the show, and the bass keeps them in check.
Pros:
1.Rhythm change
2.Amazing lyrics
3.Knowing that another album should be on the way!
Cons:
1.The album is only 38 minutes long, though not much of a con
Songs to listen to when you buy this:
Radio/Video
This cocaine makes me feel like I'm on this song
Violent Pornography
Question!
Sad Statue

So, if there is any doubt left in your mind and you havn't bought any System of a Down albums before, put those aside, this album isn't as scary and goth yelling crap, it is proper music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but could it have been better?, 20 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Mezmerize (Audio CD)
This album seems perfect for a generation with MTV attention spans (it clocks in at about 38 minutes - shorter than an episode of 24!) but it is the first disc of a 2disc set so that may explain the short running time. There are moments of sheer genius on this record - 'Revenga' is one of the best modern rock songs I've heard and 'Lost In Hollywood' is truly haunting - but as a longtime fan of System I can't help missing Serj Tankian's presence as the overall frontamn.
Daron is all over this album - guitars (obviously), songwriting, lyrics, vocals, production - and while he's clearly the biggest creative force behind the band the fact remains that Serj is simply a more unique and quite frankly better vocalist. It would have been nice to have Serj still singing the majority of the lead vocals (for all his claims to have moved more to the musical side of things, the cd sleeve only gives him music writing credits on one song).
However, as an album Mezmerize is simply fantastic. The overall sound is massive and heavy as hell (although its disappointing that they've finally given in and started using Autotune more heavily) and the songs are leagues ahead of what most other bands are putting out these days.
If you've been a fan of System since the beginning you may have reservations about Daron's frequent lead vocals but you'll still thoroughly enjoy the album. Everyone else should just buy this immediately (followed by all their other releases) and get up to date with the greatest hard rock band in the world today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mezmerize
Mezmerize by System of a Down (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews