Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Chilling Out CD!
This is a brilliant album! After listening to The OC Mix 1 I thought the music could get no better, yet this is as good as, if not better than the first mix. Firstly, it is longer with 16 tracks compared to the paltry 12 on the first cd.
Personally I have found the tracks have got a lot more emotional depth now although the two cds complement each other perfectly...
Published on 20 Jan 2005 by D. J. Wilson

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOOOOOOOOOOOO
in one of the episodes of the O.C, series 2, there is a scene where they are at a Rooney concert. They should have put their song on the album. I'm sure there are other goods songs on it anyway. If you want the Rooney song anyway, you can buy the album off Amazon (cheaper too)
Published on 4 Oct 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Chilling Out CD!, 20 Jan 2005
By 
This review is from: Music from the O.C. - Mix 2 (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant album! After listening to The OC Mix 1 I thought the music could get no better, yet this is as good as, if not better than the first mix. Firstly, it is longer with 16 tracks compared to the paltry 12 on the first cd.
Personally I have found the tracks have got a lot more emotional depth now although the two cds complement each other perfectly (the third mix is also great but unfortunately only playable around christmas!).
A few of my personal highlights include 'Something Pretty' by Patrick Park which has poignant lyrics and brilliant vocals, 'Maybe I'm Amazed' by Jem which always reminds me of the series wedding, and finally 'Little House of Savages' by The Walkmen which has to be my stand out track of the cd. It is loud yet curiously relaxing, especially for all the stresses that the TV characters and normal late-teens experience!
All in All a brilliant CD with tracks to suit everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The OC: Mix 2, 20 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Music from the O.C. - Mix 2 (Audio CD)
This CD is the perfect sequel to the first compilation of music heard on the programme itself. It captures the mood and emotions of the programme and the charcters we love to watch. Some of the music is upbeat (The Thrills, Beulah etc.) and other songs are more melancholy and reflective. Some artists that are featured on the album are slightly more obsure than others, yet listening to their music on this Cd has encouraged me to go and find the rest of their music. I would encourage you to buy this wonderful collection of songs whether you are a OC fan or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 22 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Music from the O.C. - Mix 2 (Audio CD)
This is honestly one of the best CDs I own at the moment, and i personally think it is better than mix 1... It has loads of fab but less obvious songs that you will only notice when watching old episodes! Saturday morning, Smile like you mean it, Maybe I'm amazed and A lack of colour are the best but all are excellent... A must for any OC fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good if not better than Mix: One, 27 Oct 2004
This review is from: Music from the O.C. - Mix 2 (Audio CD)
Definatley as good as Mix 1, if not better. As anyone who owns mix one will know this mix of music has no real relevance ot the programme but it is as awesome a compilation on music as you are going to find. The modern/indie/mellow sounds extracted from the O.C can suit any mood and i cant do anything but praise this Cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU NEED THIS CD IN YOUR LIFE, 31 Oct 2004
Saw this Cd in Heat and brought it the next day, a really good Cd. Especially liked track 8, which is played when Anna leaves and seth has to say goodbbye to her. Track 4 and 6 are really good, too. I'll be getting mix 3 when it is out too, already have Mix 1, but so far 2 is better !! Overall a brillient Cd 1000 stars ***********************
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O.C., 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music from the O.C. - Mix 2 (Audio CD)
very good cd to relax to and take away stress at the end of the day. would recommend for easy listeners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected from a teen series, 23 May 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music from the O.C. - Mix 2 (Audio CD)
Very good album, although not quite as good as mix 1. Stand out tracks: Death cab for cutie a lack of color, Patrick Park something pretty, Keane Walnut tree. These are all excellent tracks; the rest are good except for Jonathon Rice so sweet, The thrills Big Sur and Album leaf Eastern glow which are pretty dull. But this album is definitley worth getting even if you aren't a fan of the O.C. But even better for avid fans like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 31 Oct 2004
Saw this Cd in Heat and brought it the next day, a really good Cd. Especially liked track 8, which is played when Anna leaves and seth has to say goodbbye to her. Track 4 and 6 are really good, too. YOU NEED THIS CD IN YOUR LIFE !!! I'll be getting mix 3 when it is out too, already have Mix 1, but so far 2 is better !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the O.C...., 31 Dec 2004
This review is from: Music from the O.C. - Mix 2 (Audio CD)
I first played this album whilst coming back from holiday at 11:00 at night. It suited my mood perfectly, and i was reminded of the o.c so much,it is a perfect complement to the show.
I feel the only way to survey the albulms strengths and weaknesses is to review every song.
So, the album kicks off with the eels, a band who i really like, and this track, saturday morning kicks the album off well. It is cheery, and has a good riff- qualities typical of the eels in general,and is a good filler.
Hello sunshine, is the next track, bringing the beat down to a slow plod. It is good, but at points almost grows too slow and never really picks up. However it is a very atmospheric song,and you'll forgive its pace.
After this, the killers presents smile like you mean it, the best track so far with the superb kind of lyrics you come to expect from the killers, it has a strong hook and stays in your head long after playing.
Death cab for cutie then turn the sound down and crank up the meaning even further,a lack of colour is one track which will jump out at you at first as it drips with quality. However if you listen over and over, you come to like other songs more.One of these songs being the next track by interpol.
Specialist is a weird track, but has a great bass rythm, and it's so weird it works. Also to add extra merit it has the best opening bit on the whole cd, but doesn't stick it through to the end. Still great though.
Something pretty is a laid back country song- if you like country you'll like this but i personally findit almost too sickly sweet for me,it's definately not a track i'll play over and over.
Dios malos and if you leave sticks to its rythm and delivers a solid spanish guiter type song, that whilst not amazing, is still very listenable. However i feel it repeats itself too much, always coming back to its title line, and the definition between chorus and verse is not alaways that noticable.
Nada surf combines two factors to make it the first truly stunning track on the albulm. First of all it sticks too its guns, not too much, but the rythm is always very apparent.Looking back at death cab for cutie, if you leave has the same meaning and atmosphere that i talked about whilst keeping its tempo, it is a near perfect piece of music making, that only lacks true emotional singing.
The thrills is an upbeat song that bursts your eardrums after the soothing if you leave. If you like the thrills you like this but i am personally not a fan, and tend to skip straight ahead.There is reason for this though.
Little house of savages have made a standout track that crys for your attention.
Whilst i may have said that if you leave lacks emotional singin,Specialist is full of it, and it makes you want to scream along to it. It is a brilliant blast of a track and a definate good-un.
My utter appreciation has to go to trouble sleeping by the perishers though, as they take emotion from the screaming to the quiet sort, and each time you listen to this song, you can't help but feel true emotion. This is the standout song of the album for me, as it is so relatable, it is one of my favourite songs ever. I cannot recommened this song enough, you really have to listen to it yourself to understand what i mean.
Jonathan rice and so sweet is a decline in quality however, but still is worth listening to many times, it is like a better, less country version of something pretty by patrick park.
To further the decline in quality, popular mechanics is too breezy and airy to be truly good, but is quite a happy song, it will stick in your head after the first listen but will, like death cab for cutie, go old.
Walnut tree is a beautiful song, like most of keane's records, but it lacks power and comes of as a bit weak as it has no climax to speak of whatsoever.
Maybe i'm amazed by jem is o.k... but definately not a track i would listen too much as it is far too cheesy to recommend, and it seems out of place with the album- i feel it would be better if put in mix 1.
Eastern glow is a low point for the album, as it relies MUCH to heavily on its instumental sections, and has a minute of music for every 30 seconds of singing. It could have beniftted from more voclas as it truly shines when they are mixed, but i find it hard not to get bored and flick the cd player off during this record.
Still not convinced? The oc mix 2 isn't just a promotion tool, it is a brilliant album, that has a great quality, that only dips at the end. Every track is worthy of its place in the O.C and many of them have become some of my firm favoureite tracks.
If you love music, love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under the O Sea, 15 Sep 2005
By 
C. Tuton (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music from the O.C. - Mix 2 (Audio CD)
Well the mix is definately worth buying especially if your a fan of The OC.
The songs on it change your mood, and I seem to find myself, especially on the more relaxed songs, thinking about the future or what i'm thinking about doing later on that day.
Although I had never heard most of these songs before watching The OC, its like hearing that memorable song from when your younger or from a particular fantastic or sad moment in your life.
It gives you hope, by reminding you that nothing is certain and that you need to make the most of it.
Or it could be just goOd musiC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music from the O.C. - Mix 2
Music from the O.C. - Mix 2 by Original TV Soundtrack (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews