Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars161
4.6 out of 5 stars
Package Quantity: 1|Style Name: Original Packaging|Change
Price:£15.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2005
For ages, I've been looking for a decent boardgame that you can play with just two people (so many need three players or teams) - and finally I've found it! 221B is an excellent, thought-provoking game, ideal for anyone who enjoys games such as Cluedo.
221b Baker street is a very simple game to understand, with very few rules, so you can start playing very quickly instead of having to read your way through an instruction booklet the size of your local telephone directory. The game comes with 40 different cases, and it's your job, as Sherlock, to solve them.
Each case is detailed on a card, and tells the story of a crime, detailing the probable suspects and a list of important locations. Clues are hidden at each of fourteen locations on the board. Players must collect these clues and deduce their answers from these, in order to solve the crime.
Some of the clues are very easy, while others take a little more thought and deduction, meaning it's probably not suitable for young children to play. The box recommends it being suitable for ages 10+. An average game with four players lasts around 1hour20 minutes.
As there are only forty cases, there will be a point when there are no more crimes left to solve, however, I understand that extra 'booster boxes' are available.
Highly recommended!
0Comment|112 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
I absolutely love this game, the strength of the game lies in the storytelling aspects. As a kid (around 10+) my friends and I would play this, as would visiting families. It's great for rainy days and for people who love solving or reading mysteries. It can be played several times over, as long as you give enough of a break between returning to play (thus forgetting the case details). When I played it at times I'd play it as a team, when there were only two players, each person gathering clues, as it can be quiet difficult to solve some clues particularly if you're young, although a lot of the fun from the game comes from racing each other to be the first to answer. It's like cluedo, only better! It has more details, actual stories, and a real theme. It's a great mystery game and proved very popular with my friends and family. I'm not really into board games, but this gives you a little story every time and is immersive in gameplay.
Two of us wrote the game's writer once about one case, and received a lovely letter back from him.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2011
What an excellent game! Not really child friendly as is aimed at adults (Well maybe really smart kids as-well?)
It's like Cludo in the fact that you have to solve a mystery, apart from that this game is on another level. Read aloud the scenario and what you have been hired to do (a Murder or maybe stolen jewels etc...) Roll the dice to move your character to different locations on the board to get clues. Mark them off and keep thinking about the opening scenario as that has hidden clues in there too. You could have to say (for example) work out Why the victim was murdered, how they were murdered and by whom.
Or on another case, Who stole the Jewels, how they broke in and escaped and where they are now. Much more in-depth than Cludo!

Would recommend. (The more players the better)
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
We love this game, I brought it for Christmas but we didn't get around to playing it. However we have now played it on a poor tv night and it was well worth it. So much fun, it can seem a little complicated at first but once you get into it your hooked. It is more individual than most board games but has a certain element of surprise which I haven't had in a board game before. Cluedo or Scotland yard meets a murder mystery night. Worth turning the Telly off and playing!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2009
A great game with a larger variety per play than in any other board game available. Cludeo is completley trumped in every way with this clever but easy to learn mystery board game.
You will not be dissapointed.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
bought this for a weekend away to celebrate a family birthday. had hours of fun playing this with 4 adults and two teenagers. its similar to the cluedo type of game but there is a lot to it and really makes you think. Each game is different so there are years of life left in this game. if you like mystery, intrigue and clue based games this is definitely a game to consider. only downside was that there were no pencils in the box so if you are going away remember to pack some pens/pencils.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2008
Really good game for family - easy to learn the game, but the clues are hard for under 12s. Not as well-known as Cluedo but just as much fun. The only problem is that you run out of cases - there are 40 in the set but sadly no more are available. You simply can't play again once somebody knows the case.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
It's a very interesting and well made game, but takes a very long time to pay, around 1,5 hours for 5 people and since the turns are quite time consuming, there's a long waiting time in between. Would be nice to have more than one booklet with the clues (more like 1 for each player), then the game would go on a lot faster.

Also, the clues are quite difficult, I have played it 4 times now with 2-6 people each time and non of us solved the case 100% correct.

I also noticed that payers no not interact or talk with each other during the play, since you have to concentrate and think about the clues and the next move. I think that takes away the fun and feeling of togetherness.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
love the game, for years I've thought about how the game Cluedo could be improved, but never really done anything about it and here we are with Gibsons take on the detective game. Every time you play the story is different, the clues are different and the solutions are different. You do have to read and think about the known facts, or story line carefully and you can't take all of the clues at face value.

The game can be tweaked a little to make it even better, for instance you can effectively tape off an area to prevent others from entering a place to get the clue by placing a card on it, which is exactly what would happen in real life. However, the game rules suggest you'd need a blocking card for every entrance when in real life the whole area would be out of bounds until the police had finished gathering evidence. Therefore we decided you should only need one card to block the park or the docks and only one key card to allow entry to get the clue. Sounds complicated, but it's not in practice.

Another is the use of the carriage, or cabbie. You can use them to go anywhere, but the instructions suggest an exception should be 221b Baker Street. We decided you could use a cabbie to 221b, but only to the door. You can't enter till your next go. These variations seem to work for us and I'm sure there could be others.

Overall, a really good and intriguing board game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
An acquired taste I think. We all enjoyed playing it for a while but got a little frustrated at the length of time it took to get round the board. Still good fun though.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)