Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK Diana
I cannot understand the other reviews. I found this an attractive and interesting addition to the Krall catalogue. The great advantage of the live concert dvds is that you get so much more of Diana's piano-playing than on her CDs. The camera angles add to the enjoyment and although this does not reach the dizzy heights of her Live in Paris dvd - and it is true the...
Published on 31 Dec. 2004 by david62615

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average perfomance poorly recorded
Some people in their reviews referred to the musical contents. I will just say that it is a fusion of Jazz with modern pop/country songs. It is a matter of taste, but I prefer "Live in Paris".
Diana appeared somewhat tired. Se rushes on "West of the Sun" and only catches fire in "Devil may care". God knows why...
The bass section in notably inferior to the duo...
Published on 7 April 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average perfomance poorly recorded, 7 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Diana Krall: Live In Montreal [DVD] [2004] [NTSC] (DVD)
Some people in their reviews referred to the musical contents. I will just say that it is a fusion of Jazz with modern pop/country songs. It is a matter of taste, but I prefer "Live in Paris".
Diana appeared somewhat tired. Se rushes on "West of the Sun" and only catches fire in "Devil may care". God knows why...
The bass section in notably inferior to the duo Hamilton/Clayton in "Live in Paris", but these gentlemen as she calls them have other engagements...Anthony Wilson is very good on the guitar, and of course Dina Krall is very good on piano, but her left hand is weak. Almost all notes are played in the middle of the keyboard. Thus the lady maintains composure and does not need to move on the seat, affording correct placement of the microphone when she sings.
This is a recording of a Jazz Trio in a large arena hall. These venues are, in general, not good to record acoustic instruments (to reach the audience they need to be amplified).
Therefore close miking is a necessary "bad practice".
Regarding the DVD there is a significant error in the package. The sound is Dolby 5.0, not 5.1, meaning there is no subwoofer. I personally like that, because I have 4 large speakers and can hear bass from all of them. But a large number of people have 5 small speakers and a subwoofer. When they play this DVD they will simply hear no bass.
If Universal put 5.1 in the label on purpose I think some customers have legitimate right to claim their money back...
Another important point is the fact that only Dolby Digital is available for both surround and stereo. Dolby Digital at the lowest compression rate (highest bit rate) is still not good for music, period.
This is a strange decision for a company called "VERVE" which recorded the greatest Jazz groups in the 60's and 70's with great fidelity. Listen to "Night Train" by the Oscar Peterson Trio on CD and you will hear the difference...
Why this decision to allocate the majority of the DVD to the video and a small portion to the sound in a music record is beyond belief. They could at least put the stereo track in PCM.
Compared to Warner's Paul Simon "You are the One" at the Paris Olympia that has DTS surround and PCM in addition to Dolby 5.1 and subtitles of the lyrics for the non-English native language customers this DVD should be priced at half of the normal...
Since I got my copy from the USA, that's more or less what I paid and therefore I will make a recommendation to the fans and collectors of Mrs. Krall. , but a CD such as "Only trust your heart" is better way of spending cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK Diana, 31 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Diana Krall: Live In Montreal [DVD] [2004] [NTSC] (DVD)
I cannot understand the other reviews. I found this an attractive and interesting addition to the Krall catalogue. The great advantage of the live concert dvds is that you get so much more of Diana's piano-playing than on her CDs. The camera angles add to the enjoyment and although this does not reach the dizzy heights of her Live in Paris dvd - and it is true the "extras" are fairly puny - it would be sad if people were deterred from buying it because of a couple of negative reviews. I hope this may help redress the balance. I certainly find it well worth the money.+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing release.., 20 Nov. 2004
By 
Jesper Daugaard Nielsen (Aarhus, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diana Krall: Live In Montreal [DVD] [2004] [NTSC] (DVD)
I was at Diana's concert yesterday in Vejle, Denmark and brought home the new Montreal DVD. A great 5-star live concert in Vejle - but the DVD is very disappointing. Granted.. after "Live in Paris" my expectations were high.. probably too high. But this DVD release really leaves a lot to be desired.
The video boasts "stunning 14-camera shoot".. and it's alright.. but are we supposed to believe that the greatness of a video shoot is equal to the number of cameras in use? The editing seems random at times, but you do get a nice view of Diana's piano playing for all us piano players out there.
The audio options are 5.1 and 2.0 Dolby surround. Why no DTS? The audio sounds thin and cold, there's no warmth or depth to the sound of any of the instruments... again (unfairly maybe) compared to "Live in Paris".
The concert is also not complete (not that "Live in Paris" was), but the highlight of this particular concert (June 29, 2004) is supposed to have been a closing duet with Diana and Ron Sexsmith performing "Secret Heart". This was promised to be on the DVD - it is not.
Also promised to be on this release was a 15-minute documentary on the Montreal Jazz festival and its 25th anniversary - not on the DVD.
The promised Oscar Peterson Awards ceremony (recipient Diana Krall) was also promised to be on this DVD - it is not.
The extras you do get are:
- the video for "Narrow Daylight"
and in case you do not have internet access (well.. how could you be reading this then?) - you can spend a good 1 or 2 minutes exploring:
- a Diana Krall "discography" and
- a photo gallery
On a positive note.. the next Diana Krall DVD-release is guaranteed to exceed this one .. unless they decide to sell it on adding one and using FIFTEEN cameras!
So in other words.. if you don't own "Live In Paris".. buy that one first instead of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not more bloody Elvis Costello!!!!, 20 Jan. 2013
By 
B. L. Rudd "GUITARIST" (FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diana Krall: Live In Montreal [DVD] [2004] [NTSC] (DVD)
I have plenty of time for Diane Krall and love her band, Anthony Wilson is not just good, he's a world class player and a perfect foil for her, I rate him more than Russell Malone or Randy Johnson, but her collaborations with Elvis Costello make me sick. Yes, Diane can choose who she wants - but her ever increasing use of his material turns me off. I hate the way she holds the door open for that cretin. His "....Sings the Movies" is surely the worst album of all time, listening to him gulping his way through "She" is my idea of hell. Nobody buys his awful stuff
I not sure whether I like Black Crow or Black Crew (that's what she sings) either, but her arrangement of "Stop this World" makes up for it. I acquired this DVD very cheap but my wife hates Costello even more than I do so we won't watch it together. Mick Mcmanus' boy hit the jackpot with Diane, free lunch for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black and white...??, 2 Feb. 2005
By 
Mr. A. A. Mccord "alexmccord" (brighton uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diana Krall: Live In Montreal [DVD] [2004] [NTSC] (DVD)
I have just received a copy of this disc and agree with the other reviewers (except one!) that it is excellent in sound quality, picture quality, and quality of musicianship. You won't hear or see jazz played any better than this.
I don't know how it can be said that the disc is in black and white, unless the reviewer is talking about the picture on the box! Perhaps he hasn't had the sense to open it yet - or, like me, he has bought an NTSC copy and has a machine that cannot display it in colour like the one I own can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dian Krall - on form, 15 Mar. 2005
By 
This review is from: Diana Krall: Live In Montreal [DVD] [2004] [NTSC] (DVD)
Once again, an exercise in sublime perfection from one of the most talented musicians around. There are many young pretenders in this field (and some of them mighty good) but Diana was amongst the first and still leads the pack. This concert features many tracks from her latest album which some may feel is a move away from her jazz roots. This is somewhat true but the musicianship and quality of voice remain. (Some mastercless guitar work also). A must have for Krall fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana Krall: Live In Montreal [DVD] [2004] [NTSC] (DVD)
The music and outstanding musianship of Diana Krall continues to amaze me. Her backing musicians are to be commended for their virtuosity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Diana Krall dvd, 19 Jan. 2009
By 
R. Brewster "Wilson" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diana Krall: Live In Montreal [DVD] [2004] [NTSC] (DVD)
Allways love Diana Krall singing and her music.
Good buy, but needs more zip, or more get up and go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, it's JAZZ!, 3 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Diana Krall: Live In Montreal [DVD] [2004] [NTSC] (DVD)
One might, or might not, like the current Krall/Costello originals (they sure grow on you!), and there are several of them here, but despite fair warnings, I was delighted to find this DVD pure jazz. Quite a musical development, both vocally and pianistically, since "Live in Paris" and without the sweetening. Superb musicianship all around: guitarist Wilson, wonderfully creative and free from clichees, Erskine subtle on the drums, and, big suprise to me, Robert Hurst, delicate, smooth bass walker with a rich tone! While I can understand that some will find the camerawork a bit on the buzy side, the 5.1 sound is among the best I've heard! Both in terms of harmonic balance and frequency response. Don't miss this DVD if your Surround system is into Hi-fi... Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana Krall: Live In Montreal [DVD] [2004] [NTSC] (DVD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diana Krall: Live In Montreal [DVD] [2004] [NTSC]
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews