Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Millennium entries
This is one of the best in the Millennium series that seemed to be pretty lackluster at best compared to the Showa and Heisei series films. There's only 2 that really stand out to me and that's this one and of course the fan favorite Godzilla: Final Wars. Of the 3 Godzilla movies directed by Masaaki Tezuka this one is by far the best. The story is pretty engaging and...
Published 19 months ago by Anonymous

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad subtitles
This is one of the newest of the Godzilla movies, which results in a meaner looking rubber suit and more CGI special effects when it comes to radioactive breath and so on.

I was bought this (and several others from the collection) for Christmas and they all have a major flaw - the subtitles are incomplete.

The film itself is different, not as much...
Published on 28 Jan 2011 by C. Patten


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Millennium entries, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla: Tokyo Sos [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is one of the best in the Millennium series that seemed to be pretty lackluster at best compared to the Showa and Heisei series films. There's only 2 that really stand out to me and that's this one and of course the fan favorite Godzilla: Final Wars. Of the 3 Godzilla movies directed by Masaaki Tezuka this one is by far the best. The story is pretty engaging and entertaining which is good because many Godzilla films drag on and bore you before getting to the action. The action in this movie is very good and very little CGI is used which was a problem I had with a lot of the Millennium movies. There's not much to say really but if you like Godzilla then this is one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A highly enjoyable rampage, 11 May 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Godzilla: Tokyo Sos [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
2003's Godzilla Tokyo SOS, part of the third wave of Godzilla flicks, returns the Big Guy to his mean city stomping roots (no sappy protector of Japan stuff here) in a surprisingly well directed number with some superb visuals, is much more successful and one of the most exciting in the series. The film hits the ground running with a great opening that sees a jet chasing an unidentified flying object hidden in the clouds, with only a giant beating wing dimly visible, before setting out its stall as a direct if somewhat belated sequel to both the original Mothra and Mothra Vs. Godzilla. The attempt to impose a moral dilemma on the narrative doesn't really work because it's so confused: unless Godzilla's bones, used to build the giant MechaGodzilla robot to defend Japan, are returned to the sea, Mothra will attack Japan. If they are, Mothra will defend Japan from Godzilla. Naturally they don't listen, only for Mothra to end up defending Tokyo anyway when Godzilla attacks... Go figure.

There are plenty of nice touches, including having the showdown in a part of Tokyo that still hasn't been rebuilt after Godzilla's last rampage, the first full appearance of Mothra amid falling peony blossoms is a strikingly beautiful piece of imagery, and best of all, not only is Godzilla back to his old badass self but the singing Japanese fairy girls are back. With particularly good special effects and action sequences, it's a highly enjoyable addition to the canon.

Sony's Region 1 DVD has the brief Japanese teaser trailer and 21-minutes of behind the scenes footage, and offers a good 2.35:1 transfers with either the original subtitled Japanese soundtrack or a dubbed English-language version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 18 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla: Tokyo Sos [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Godzilla - Tokyo SOS is the penultimate Godzilla film made to date and in my book a much better one than the hit n miss "Final wars" which followed it. The film is one of the rare direct sequels to the one before..this being Godzilla against Mechagodzilla. A couple of characters from that film crosover to this..the main differnce on Tokyo SOS is that it has much more action than GAM. Mothra is superbly rendered in the film,much better than previous movies. Some of the FX work here is the best i've seen in any Godzilla Movie and tops some of the ropey monster work in Final wars.

If you want to dip into Godzilla and are new..id recomment this and Giant monsters all out attack as these are essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad subtitles, 28 Jan 2011
By 
C. Patten (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Godzilla: Tokyo Sos [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is one of the newest of the Godzilla movies, which results in a meaner looking rubber suit and more CGI special effects when it comes to radioactive breath and so on.

I was bought this (and several others from the collection) for Christmas and they all have a major flaw - the subtitles are incomplete.

The film itself is different, not as much fun as the original series, to me this seemed to be more serious and grown up. There isn't really a good guy or bad guy - yes Godzilla is the one attacking Tokyo (and yes Tokyo Tower gets it) but in my mind he's perfectly justified, and to be honest I don't understand why a country that respects its ancestors as the Japanese people do wouldn't see that in the film (except of course that the film isn't real). I also haven't seen the previous film in the series, to which this is a direct sequel, which may have helped explain.

However that isn't the main issue here, what bothers me most - especially with the newness of the release - is that the subtitles were absolutely awful, and watching the films badly dubbed just isn't the same.

Unfortunately I had no choice, the subtitles were beyond rubbish.

Whole scenes were forgotten, sentences were only partly conveyed, and if two people were talking at once you had no chance of following what was going on. Maybe I got one from a bad batch but if I could I'd be returning it to buy one of the older films, one where the picture may be a bit more grainy but at least I could watch the film as it's intended.

If you're someone who needs subtitles then this is not the disc for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monsters! Monsters!, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla: Tokyo Sos [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is a great one from the ToHo Godzilla storyline.
A nice sweet conclusion to the two part story of Kiryu, with a nice open ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good effects for a godzilla movie, 7 Jun 2006
By 
J. Cluness - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Godzilla: Tokyo Sos [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
this film is an enjoyable piece to the godzilla movie series with good effects and rather good monsters. good plot as well.

BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bizare title, 11 Nov 2008
This review is from: Godzilla: Tokyo Sos [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
this film is not a true godzilla flick.it is more about the robot. my kids love watching monster movies but the ending was a shock to them.if you want to see a good godzilla film then i recommend final wars and the superb 1975 terror of mechagodzilla.Godzilla: Tokyo S.O.S. [2003] (REGION 1) (NTSC)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Godzilla: Tokyo Sos [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
5.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews