Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
20
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 February 2005
This album is simply mix magic!it changed my opinion of so many tracks and has made me want to listen to artists i wouldn't usually give a second look.
the opening track is an amazing mix, eminem and surviver,i'm telling you this whole compilation is total genius from the start.
inxs and grandmaster flash was definetly my highlight,but the cure and missy elliot made me listen and take note of the depth of research that must have went into its creation!.
every track blew me away,you would have never have thought that the ghostbusters theme tune could go so well with public enemy but it sounds great.
michael jackson and joe budden is a massive treat,the lyrics flow perfectly with the instrumental.
overall this is a nostalgic wonder and anyone from the 80's will love it,infact anyone will love it,i've already convinced so many people to buy it from there first listen, buy it!!!!.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2007
I love a good mash up and this is a good mash up. Good, not great. Mashing up Hip Hop (a cappella), old and new, with 80's pop songs (instrumental) is a great idea and for the most part, works well in this album. There are bad tracks here though, number 17, Missy Elliot vs. Bobby Brown being the worst with completely mismatched songs badly cut together. Interludes featuring sound clips from well known 80's movies are dotted throughout this album and although they perhaps help set the 80's tone, they don't seem to be relavent to the music (bar a few instances). My final complaint is with the use of vulgar language in the CD's title. It just doesn't suit the up beat mood of the music featured.

This is mostly a good effort and no doubt most will enjoy it. This could have been much better than it is though, considering the potential of the concept.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2005
This is simply the best album I own. It is immense. Includes samples from Ghostbusters, Beverly Hills Cop, Jaws etc. Unlike most albums these days where tracks are just thown onto a CD, much thought has gone into the order and build of this CD. It starts with a sample of that famous boxing M.C, 'Let's Get Ready To Rumble!' then the first tune kicks in with Eminem 'Without Me' versus Survivor 'Eye of the Tiger'. This alone is worth buying the album for!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
Like 80's films and music? Like mash-up music? This is heaven

Imagine a weird nightmare where all your 80's classic film lines are mixed in with 80 hits and modern tracks. This is that world. A couple of them don't work so well but some classics on here that make me smile when they turn up on shuffle!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2006
this is brilliant. I like remixes anyway (2many djs, GYBO etc) so have a fair idea of the standard aand this deserves all five stars. brilliantly blended, the interludes add a nice cool down period between tracks and the overall composition is masterful. Madonna Vs Notorius B.I.G two artists I normally dont like) mashed together is a wonderful sound. there is no messing around. just buy the damn thing now and avoid a future of drum solo's, neil diamond and donny osmond. you can do it, bring life back to your music.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2006
A fantastic CD worth the cash for D12 - Depeche Mode track alone. For me the mixes are very well done and a real laugh when you catch the old school intros like 'like a virgin'. Really loving this genre, just as pop was getting a bit 'same old' this injects some creative vitallity.

Superb.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
I love this album, I love every song on it, and that's pretty rare! They've mixed absolute classics and they work really well! Definitely recommended!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
not as good as DJ Yoda but.... it is worth a listen - bit too much crap rapping (Eminem et al) but this does not spoil the experience (nearly does though)

Others have done this better but this is a nice try.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
If you like mash ups that include classic tracks then thus is a belter of a compilation. A great party cd.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2007
I have to say i love cut up albums and own all 2 many dj's as hear on radio soulwax all the radio soulwax sessions 0-30. Got loats of Yoda mixes and avalanches sets. Dj shadow stuff and some awesome freelance hellraiser to go with it.

But I must warn everyone stay well well away from this cd its horrible, you may look at the tracklist and think ooh that choice of tunes looks interesting no one has used those before, well there is a reason they are all rubbish. The tunes in there own right should never have been made in the first place let alone have someone attempt to mix them together.

I beg of you have some taste and stay away.

And if i could i would rate this as no star not the 1 I have been forced to put.

TMB
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)