Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars149
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2005
Ben Stiller puts in a committed performance in this spoof of a classic David vs. Goliath story. Lots of visual gags and cracking one liners. A motley but immensely likeable cast of characters. I was pleasantly surprised at how funny and enjoyable this movie turned out to be. Watch this movie when you need to get away from the real world and have a good laugh for a couple of hours.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2005
I only saw Dodgeball a couple of days ago, and was quite scepticle of how good it would be. I thought from TV ads lasdt year that the film looked boring. How wrong I was! This film has every type of comedy known to man, from witty one liners to a guy who throws spanners, its fun for everyone! Stiller does a great job acting as White Goodman, and provides much of the best comedy in the film. Vince Vaughan also plays his part of Peter Le Fleur well but the real star has too be the hillarious dodgeball coach who has the team dodging spanners and cars aswell as balls. The special features on this DVD are also very good. The deleted and extended scenes provide extra laughter material as do the commentaries,and some of the special featurettes. All in all, this is well worth the money!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
Viewing this for what may have been the 5th or 6th time, I was surprised just how well Dodgeball holds up on repeat viewings. Ben Stiller is excellent as White Goodman and Vince Vaughan perfect as Peter LaFleur but the rest of the cast also suit their roles very well and the cameos by David Hasselhoff and Chuck Norris still make me laugh out loud. OK, so the ending is obvious from the very start of the story, but getting there is a lot of fun with Rip Torn's Patches O'Houlihan brilliantly funny with the coaching style and his dialogue. I wasn't keen on the character of Steve the Pirate and found him to be a weak point, but it doesn't stop Dodgeball from being a very enjoyable comedy throughout. Recommended. 4/5
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2005
This is a really funny movie. It is rather good and funny. Wait, I've already said that!
Nah, seriously it is really funny as Vince Vaughn goes up against Ben Stiller in this hilarious movie where Peter LaFleur(Vaughn) has 30 days to come up with $50'000 or around 70'000 Canadian dollars to save his Average Joe's gym from being crushed by big eejit White Goodman (Stiller). Average Joe's goes up against Globo Gym (Goodman's gym) in the annual Dodgeball tournament in Las Vegas. The prize money: $50'000. Convinent eh? A really great, hilarious movie. By the way this movie has a quick guest appearance of Lance Armstrong, the guy who one the Tour De France 5 times in a row. JUst in case you're interested!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2005
Corny, cheesey American comedy at its best. A film to sit back and enjoy when you don't want to have to think too hard about subtle plot lines or admire the nuanced inflections of the actors. Fun and funny, with a happy ending, of course.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2005
Dodgeball is silly. It is mad. It is mindless...
But it is also increadably entertaining and side-splittingly funny.
One of those movies where you can have an ultimately relaxing viewing.
The underdogs are the guys at Average Joe's Gym, where owner Peter La Fleur (Vince Vaughn) takes a low-key approach to the health and physical fitness of his loyal and eccentric members. This is in stark contrast to the high intensity environment across the street at Globo Gym, where White Goodman (Ben Stiller) has made narcissism an art form. La Fleur is informed by attorney Kate Veatch (Christine Taylor) that he has 30 days to come up with $50,000 or lose his gym to (wait for it) Goodman.
It looks like all is lost until the gang at Average Joe's Gym discover that the American Dodgeball Association of America is having its national tournament and the winning teams gets (wait for it) $50,000.
And the perfect partner for this movie would be the Anchorman!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2006
There are plenty of moments in the film which are aimed to make kids laugh and the adults!!! Stiller and Vaughn are main characters in the film so you know the acting is great and the team work as in all the films they appear in together create a humourous atmosphere.

its a comedy with a crazy bounce but there are some dumb jokes which may have let it down.

Definatly a film to watch though!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2006
I have to admit I do love movies that are stupidly funny. Dodgeball is great if you're like me. Ben Stiller is amazing as White Goodman as is Vince and all the other fantastic actors in it. I highly recommend if you want a good laugh.
My favourite line: 'We here at Globo Gym understand that 'ugliness' and 'fatness' are genetic disorders like baldness and necrophobia.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2005
Dodgeball is one of those rare things. A comedy that will make you laugh every minute. Some of the jokes may be old but are still made funny by Ben Stiller who is on fine comedy form. The ending may be a bit predictable but with so much humour you can't help but care. The training scene is possibly the funniest scene in the movie. 'If You can dodge a ball, You can dodge a wrench'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2005
With the laughs in the cinema at the moment mainly coming from bad one liners in poor action films any person with some sense or simply an understanding of what's funny can see there is a gap in the Hollywood market for a shinning red ball shaped gem in the name of Dodgeball. Ben Stiller in arguably one of his best roles sends jokes at you as hard as the dodgeballs themselves and yes they hit you right in the ribs. Ben Stiller isn't alone on this war on bad comedy though, Vince Vaughn is by his side as a great straight man for Stiller especially in the great scene with multiple double negatives in the bar.
The film does fit in a story amid the jokes, Ben Stiller plays White Goodman a fitness freak that owns a nearby gym part of a huge fitness franchise which boasts the phrase 'We're better than you, and we know it' he wants to take over Peter LaFleur's (Vince Vaughn) gym 'Average Joes' to stop this LaFleur and his band of less than average Joes must raise $50,000 to pay of various debts and save their much loved gym. Obviously to get this insane amount of money in such a small space of time, the group come up with the clear answer of entering a Las Vegas dogeball tournament which gives the champions of the event $50,000.
This striking piece if comic genius really knows when to make you laugh and well when to make you laugh, and fantastic film that really teaches the viewer to "grab life by the ball".
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.