Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT
Vince Vaughn's Character runs a small gym called Average Joes, it only has a few customers & he hasn't been collecting their membership fees & is steadily getting himself deeper into debt. Ben Stiler's "Globo Gym" however is a massive corperate gym. As Vaughn's business starts to go under Stiller reveals that he will buy up his Gym unless he...
Published on 3 Mar 2006 by E. Swainston

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars brilliant movie, poor value blu ray.
I have owned the DVD for years, and its one of my favourite movies, so now I am starting to move over to blu ray with my collection, I thought it was about time to replace this movie with a shiny new high def version.
The film itself looks really good, but where this blu ray disappoints is with the extras.
On the DVD you get commentary,deleted scenes, alternate...
Published on 1 April 2012 by C. C. Brown


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 10 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story [DVD] (DVD)
What appeared to be the makings of a great comedy turned out to be a pedestrian amble full of cliches and tired old jokes, the type of film where the best bits fill up the promo ads. I hold 'Dumb & Dumber' up as my favourite comedy of all time so I should go for this stuff but it fails dismally. It seems that there has been a series of comedy releases which date back to the brilliant 'Trains, Planes & Automobiles' all of which try in some way to replicate that film's humour, but sadly, with each passing year they get worse. The original purveyors of 'toilet' humour were terrific but a toilet gag only travels so far! Let's have some originality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best film ever, 29 April 2007
By 
J. Davidson (Norwich UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story [DVD] (DVD)
This is my all time favourite film of all time. It stays hilarious every time I watch it, mainly from Ben Stiller's performance, and everyone should definitely buy it straight away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good hangover cure..., 19 Oct 2006
This review is from: Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story [DVD] (DVD)
when you're feeling a little tired & numb from the night before I would definitely recommend this film. Light hearted, silly & amusing... the perfect cure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 13 Feb 2005
By 
Ian barnes (shepperton, middx United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story [DVD] (DVD)
This has got to be the worst film I've seen in a long while.
It is a typical US nerds make good against all odds comedy, except it isnt funny. I am a keen watcher of slapstick comedy. What amazes me is how this film made watching someone being hit in the face with a large spanner so UNFUNNY.
Embarrisingly LAME gags, POOR chaaracters (and acting?)and DULL plot are the only strong features of this film.
Watching somebody being hit hard with a ball did make me smile THE FIRST TIME, but after the 1000th or so cry of pain I was just wishing for the end to come.
I did find the FAT CHEERLEADER funny at the start of the film amusing, but fat people are funny arn't they?
Two smiles over the course of this film then. NOT GOOD.
I pity those that actually bought this film.The joke is on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Whats all the hype about, 24 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say I was more than a little dissapointed by this movie. Yes I did have a giggle at a few scenes but no it was not a top class comedy that had me laughing loudly. I had been wanting to see this for a while as I saw the trailer and thought it would be a laugh. However after seeing it I cant help feel it was a little too much like a teen giggly movie. However my 12 year old kid thought it was hillarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't believe the hype!, 6 Feb 2005
By 
Lee Farley (Malvern, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story [DVD] (DVD)
Stop! Listen! Don't bother with this movie unless you have the sense of humour of a 3 year-old. I watched it having read a review in The Guardian which said it was really funny. It isn't. It's exactly the sort of puerile, childish, old-fashioned, over-acted, sentimental twaddle you expect from the likes of Stiller. Zoolander, anyone? Awful. It would be nice if Hollywood could remember how to make a good comedy. Can anyone name a recent one? Comedy is now the preserve of TV - Phoenix Nights, Spaced, Mighty Boosh etc. Films just ain't funny anymore. Even Shaun of the Dead was a bit disappointing. If you like Meet the Fockers etc. you'll like Dodgeball but in that case there's no hope for you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much overhyped, 23 Feb 2006
By 
Neb (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story [DVD] (DVD)
An average comedy receiving suspiciously rave reviews in the broadsheet press – the result, I think, of catching on rather too late that Hollywood comedy is experiencing a real rennaisance – Dodgeball is a feelgood movie with an endless stream of so-so gags, redeemed by the odd one that makes you laugh out loud. There is a lot about this film that just doesn’t seem right – the cheesy incidental music, Vince Vaughn’s cardboard lead, Ben Stiller playing Derek Zoolander again, and what exactly is the point of having a character who thinks he’s a pirate if you don’t give him any lines? Nevertheless, the jokes that do work are funny, and the feelgood ending, whilst formulaic, is guaranteed to raise a smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 5 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story [DVD] (DVD)
Same jokes wore off after the fist 20mins. Expected more....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DODGEBALL - FUNNIEST COMEDY EVER, 27 Oct 2006
This review is from: Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story [DVD] (DVD)
This is an amazing film with non-stop laughter. Ben Stiller's superb as the eccentric White Goodman. His wife Chrisine Taylor plays Kate, a lesbian accountant or something who White acts hilariously around. Vince Vaughn is suitable for Peter La Fleur.

This is must have becuase of its consistency and it's layered, so you can watch it over and over again discovering new immense jokes each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm, 16 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. S. T. Allen (Birmingham, West Mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story [DVD] (DVD)
Mildly diverting, but not half as funny as I'd expected it to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story [DVD]
Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story [DVD] by Rawson Marshall Thurber (DVD - 2005)
£2.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews