Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Uncle!
Golly, this is good! Tati takes M. Hulot from the seaside (M. Hulot's Holdiday', his earlier masterpiece) to the city,
where he's one of a troupe of highly-eccentric characters whose fantasies and foibles are explored in minute and hilarious fashion. Hulot (circa 1950s.),a descendant of Chaplin and Keaton, reincarnated recently as the absurd Mr...
Published on 25 Jan. 2006 by John Langley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ecole des facteurs
I bought it as one of the few options to acquire a copy of "Ecole des Facteurs". The version of Mon Oncle is not complete from my initial viewing of it. The best news is that although it is an NTSC copy(USA) it plays back perfectly on a Sony/Samsung PAL system!!
Published 19 months ago by hartrob


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Mon oncle, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mon Oncle [1958] [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this film because I've seen it before - a long time ago and I love it. It's a wonderful story about the friendship between an uncle and his cousin. The uncle represents the 'good old times of France' (he lives in an old nostalgic 'quartier' in Paris) whereas the 9 year old cousin lives in a big modern house (representing the modernism of post war France).
They visit each other and even though their worlds totally different, they have a wonderful friendship. The differences are well worked out in music, sound, colours, setting.
Apart from that, it's a funny movie as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Uncle, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mon Oncle [1958] [DVD] (DVD)
Silence can speak volumes, add in Mr Hulot and a brother with a 'modern electric' house and a cheeky nephew and just watch the hi-jinks ensue. Goofy once visited a future house finding chaos but never did he have a party in a garden where you can only step on the stepping stone path and beware the fishy water feature :)
A guaranteed laugh, for those who can enjoy a slower pace.
Like Dario Fo you can understand it even without knowing the language (of which with Tati there is hardly any)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tati was a film genius; My Uncle is a great film, 9 July 2007
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Here's a guy who was a movie genius, who wrote, directed and starred in his own films, and who created a character of universal humor and gentleness. I'm not talking about Chaplin or Keaton, but about Jacques Tati. The character he plays in all his movies (only six in 25 years!) is M. Hulot, a tall, gangling innocent of a man who continually finds himself in situations that bemuse him. My Uncle is probably the best of the films to introduce yourself to him, if you haven't already met.

Hulot's sister, brother-in-law and nephew live in an excruciatingly modern, fashionable, cold and uncomfortable house in Paris. There's not a gadget they don't have and there's a button to push for every gadget. The adults seem to have everything except an appreciation of what life is for and an understanding of what their little boy needs. Hulot lives atop a strange apartment house in a colorful part of Paris where everyone knows each other and foibles are accepted. Hulot moves through life seemingly without purpose, but he finds small ways to help others and to enjoy what life brings. How his sister and her husband are determined to bring Hulot into the modern life of ambition and goals is part of the story. How Hulot helps his nephew cope and ultimately brings about a change in the kid's parents is the other part.

All this is shown with little dialoque. Tati builds his movie(s) around meticulously planned, step-by-step sight gags, although sight gag is too coarse a phrase for what he accomplishes. Things happen that may make you smile, later you realize they're part of what you're now seeing that makes you laugh.

Some people think M. Hulot's Holiday is better than My Uncle, some think not. Well, the point is that they are both great movies. In one way or another all of Tati's movies are great. This one is very funny and very affecting.

If you think Chaplin is a great film artist, and most people do, you owe it to yourself to become acquainted (if you aren't already) with another.

The DVD transfer is excellent and the extras well worth watching...but don't watch them until after you see the film. The discussions about how Tati builds his visual humor will take some of the surprises away if you watch them first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 11 Feb. 2015
By 
Dr. Robert C. Oswald (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mon Oncle [1958] [DVD] (DVD)
The very best of Tati. The only sane man in a world gone mad in the pursuit of modernity. M. Hulot tries to comprehend the world of his Babbit-like brother in law, and realises eventually that it is incomprehensible. So much that foreshadows the world we try to understand today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ecole des facteurs, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought it as one of the few options to acquire a copy of "Ecole des Facteurs". The version of Mon Oncle is not complete from my initial viewing of it. The best news is that although it is an NTSC copy(USA) it plays back perfectly on a Sony/Samsung PAL system!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jacques Tati, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mon Oncle [1958] [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic Jacques! What else is there to add.
Only if you have never watched JT, I recommend do.
The humour is charming, very funny, observational and has no inuendo.
So refreshing!!!
Great delivery service too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars jacquea tati, 1 July 2009
This review is from: Mon Oncle [1958] [DVD] (DVD)
Jacques Tati one of his more modern versions on film, the divide between old and new town and the characteristics of persons living in each sector - being the natural old ways vs the discipline of the modern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say?, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mon Oncle [1958] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a lovely classic. Next to no dialogue but it isn't needed. I keep saying to my husband that he is the Jacques Tati character as he always has to mess with things just that bit too far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its not a Hollywood Blockbuster, 7 Dec. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mon Oncle [VHS] [1958] (VHS Tape)
It is however Wonderful. Of its time of course but Tati is a master of his art. Buy, watch, enjoy. Then get a CD of French cafe music of the 20s and immerse yourself in frenchness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hulot at his best, 1 Jan. 2013
By 
zorglub 2A "JM" (La Javie (PACA) France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mon Oncle [1958] [DVD] (DVD)
Jacques Tati was a clown and "Mon Oncle" or "My Uncle" his appotheose.

A very good film and I can't forget the sleeping sofa ! ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mon Oncle [1958] [DVD]
Mon Oncle [1958] [DVD] by Jacques Tati (DVD - 2004)
£15.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews