Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Selection of SEAL's work
Great album. I have enjoyed SEAL's music since the early 90's but anybody looking for an introduction to his work has found the perfect compilation. As a fan of SEAL I was disappointed that this collection did not include 'Newborn Friend' from his SEAL II album but all the other main ones are here really....
Interestingly I play the bonus acoustic collection cd more...
Published on 21 Feb 2005 by Joanne Nickerson

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diverse
An interesting greatest hits work. The album spans from the early tracks such as 'Killer' to his less commercial recent work. The album opens with the hit 'Crazy', a downbeat dance track with its familiar beat and Seals empowering vocals. It is not until you hear the distinct sound of his frosty voice that you remember just how good a singer he is. He flows gracefully...
Published on 25 Jan 2005 by brad_stone


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Selection of SEAL's work, 21 Feb 2005
This review is from: Best 1991-2004 [2CD Set: Hits & Acoustic] (Audio CD)
Great album. I have enjoyed SEAL's music since the early 90's but anybody looking for an introduction to his work has found the perfect compilation. As a fan of SEAL I was disappointed that this collection did not include 'Newborn Friend' from his SEAL II album but all the other main ones are here really....
Interestingly I play the bonus acoustic collection cd more than the main one. I love the acoustic versions of Bring it on, Kiss from a Rose and Killer especially but the whole arrangement is great and really demonstrates his amazing voice and keeps you captivated.
Fantastic CD, if you like SEAL the acoustic collection is a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diverse, 25 Jan 2005
An interesting greatest hits work. The album spans from the early tracks such as 'Killer' to his less commercial recent work. The album opens with the hit 'Crazy', a downbeat dance track with its familiar beat and Seals empowering vocals. It is not until you hear the distinct sound of his frosty voice that you remember just how good a singer he is. He flows gracefully from low to high notes, from reserved to free, but always controlled.
The dance tracks eclipse the slower material. 'Killer' erupts with a bass line so heavy and brooding it makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up, the maximum volume on your hi-fi were made for tracks like this.
Although the later tracks are never weak, and are probably better suited for Seal's voice, they don't seem to pack the same punch as the first half of the album, perhaps with the exception of the funky 'Fly Like An Eagle'. There is a dignified cover of Burt Baccarach's 'Walk On By', which Seal carries off soulfully.
A varied album in all, including a handful of powerful tracks, and a good display from a very talented vocalist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For fans of Seal, and of good music...., 9 Nov 2004
This review is from: Best 1991-2004 [2CD Set: Hits & Acoustic] (Audio CD)
WOW! Words just cannot do justice to this. If you are a fan of Seal, no doubt you will already have all of the tracks on the first cd, and the well produced cover of Walk on By is a nice addition to the mix. However, I would recommend everyone getting this 2 CD set for the acoustic bonus disc. 13 great tracks that will blow your mind! Great vocals from a real singer with soul, and an almost jazzy tempo and recording style. Buy this, and enjoy a very rare musical experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seal - Best - DVD-Audio version, 5 Sep 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best 1991 [DVD AUDIO] (DVD Audio)
If you have DVD-Audio capable surround sound, a very worthy addition to your collection. The range of singles is excellent and Seal's ability simply shines in this collection; surround versions of his regular hits followed by accoustic versions.... and then some videos... awesome value, but the quality and sound is brilliantly mixed. I do feel that a good surround mix on DVD_Audio or SACD makes an otherwise "OK" CD just way ahead in the listening experience - not everybodies views though.
If you have DVD_Audio, like Seal - you have to get this.... have to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have collection, 25 Nov 2004
By 
Erica Anderson (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best 1991-2004 [2CD Set: Hits & Acoustic] (Audio CD)
If there was a male version of Sade, Seal would have to be that person. Like Sade, Seal has a voice that could melt butter. Although I don't really consider myself a diehard fan of his music, I still enjoy his music whenever his songs would air on the radio. I thought his "The Best of: 1994 - 2004" would be the ideal collection for this casual fan. I bought the gold version which comes complete with a second disc of acoustic versions of his hits. It may have been pricey but I felt I got my money's worth. The acoustic disc is definitely worth shelling out the extra $$$. If I thought the original version of "Love Divine" was emotionally moving, the sparse acoustic version is even more breathtaking. I love both versions equally. "Love Divine" is my favorite song in the past few years that I have not gotten sick and tired of hearing. I also adore "Don't Cry", "Kiss From a Rose", "Crazy", and "Prayer For the Dying". I used to be sick and tired of those songs but since it is rare for me to hear Seal on the radio nowadays, those songs have once again became favorites of mine. I also loved Seal's version of Echo and the Bunnymen's "Lips Are Like Sugar". It may not be as good as the original but I thought he did a great job covering the song however I did not like "Fly Like an Eagle" but then again I didn't like the original song by The Steve Miller Band to begin with. For anyone who is contemplating getting Seal's best of compilation, get the gold version. You will definitely love hearing his songs acoustically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful !!!!, 17 Feb 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best 1991-2004 [2CD Set: Hits & Acoustic] (Audio CD)
If like me, you hate music that's around at the moment, but love a great melody, then buy this album. I can't fault it. Soulful, tuneful and passionate!
'Love's Divine' gave me goosebumps the first time I heard it, his voice makes me melt!! Just make sure you play it loud!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sexual Healing!, 1 Aug 2007
By 
C. O'toole "bigcon" (co. down N ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best 1991-2004 [2CD Set: Hits & Acoustic] (Audio CD)
If ever a modern day artiste could fill the mighty shoes of Marvin Gaye then It's Seal. Emerging from obscurity as the dreadlocked dude who added attitude to Adamski's Killer and made the summer of 1990, he then emerged with his own eponymous album in 1991. "Crazy", "Future Love Paradise" and a reworked"Killer" made great listening. But it was the slow growing"Seal" of 1994 which really blew me away. a perfectly formed shaven Seal is framed against a pure white background and an iconic image is formed. The songs are outstanding "Bring it On" "Prayer for the Dying" "Dream in Metaphors" are soul searching and soul soothing especially at the time when I was raw from being dumped by a then girlfriend. "Kiss from A Rose" needs no intro propelled into the mainstream on it's second release with the Batman Returns Project. Seal possibly lay back on his laurels and we didn't get any new material till 1998's "Human Being" An underrated excellent album which is a slow grower and is woth a purchase for"Just like you said" and "When a man is wrong". A subsequent album was scrapped in it's entirety and "Seal IV" from 2003 was more dancey and upbeat "Keep it together" "Love's Divine" and "My Vision" all excellent. Seal's live in Paris showed us that his silky voice isn't studio trickery. this Greatest Hits pckage is a must have for all Seal fans and The accoustic versions are gems created painstakingly and can be enjoyed as separate songs in their own right. Here's to another Seal album ASAP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good of hits for all types of moods, 25 April 2005
Not bad at all. good collection of his best songs and perfect for any occasion. defenetley worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Compilation, 5 Dec 2004
By 
DAR - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
What's not to like about this CD? It's just what you need when you want to remember the best and the worst of your love life the past decade or so. Seal's voice is just gorgeous. He takes you through, in and around every heart ache you've ever had...scrumptious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My first DVD Audio - and wow!, 19 Oct 2007
This review is from: Best 1991 [DVD AUDIO] (DVD Audio)
What a cracking collection - original versions, acoustic versions and videos - all in 5.1 surround sound. Seal's fantastic sonic production values translate superbly to DVD Audio, with subtle surround effects mostly on background accompaniments so nothing feels artificial about this. It just feels like this is the way the songs should always have sounded, taking full advantage of the expanded sound stage.

Truely well done, and the acoustic versions are a revelation.

What a shame the format hasn't been more widely exploited - this shows how it should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews