Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU ONLY BUY ONE CD THIS CENTURY...
...THIS SHOULD BE IT!
OK, a few 'Greatest Hits' packages have been released during Kylie's time as Princess Of Pop, but they have pretty much been about her old record labels cashing in on her renewed success. This CD, on the other hand, charts her music career right from the beginning to the present, and not only is it endorsed by Ms Minogue but it also features a...
Published on 4 Nov. 2004 by jon_hastings

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate?
All the songs we know and love. Great. I love Kylie and her music. Also I do have to say it's really handy to have one double album of Kylie's best singles from PWL, deConstruction, all the way to Parlophone. It's great for the car. Or if you have gaps in your album collection.
But what else can I say? There is nothing new for fans here since the two new tracks have...
Published on 9 May 2005 by AyJay


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Missing one vital song!, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
I love this - Kylie's Stock Aitken Waterman songs on CD1 and her later, more credible hits on CD2. Only one gripe - why has the No4 ballad 'If You Were With Me NOw' not been included? It's a hundred times better than her 'Celebration' cover, which isn't bad in itself, but that ballad was not just a brilliant song but emotive and gave Kylie a chance to spread her wings vocally. She sounds great on it, and it coudl easily be a hit for her these days - it was first released in 1992 and did well then, but it hasn't dated at all. So why isn't it included on this album?

Anyway - supreme songs are: "Can't Get You Out Of My Head", "Where the Wild Roses Grow" (stunning), What Do I Have To Do, Shocked, Step Back In Time, Better The Devil You Know, Spinning Around, Confide In Me, Did It Again. The no 6 hit "Where Is The Feeling" from her deConstruction days is another one that could have been included but isn't. - neither is Manic Street Preachers collaboration 'Some Kind Of Bliss' - neither of these songs would have been out of place in this Greatest Hits package.

The songs on there show the range Kylie has encompassed musically - she's never been afraid to try things, even if they don't work out as commercially successful as previous endeavours. She could have just stayed a S/A/W poppet, sweetly singing their songs until she faded from obscurity like the rest of their acts, but instead she had the good sense to leave and make her own way in the music world, recognising that she needed image changes and changes of musical direction along the way. That's why smart and sassy Kylie will always be ten steps ahead of the likes of Leona Lewis, Alexandra Burke - singers who have stronger voices than Kylie but don't have the nerve to break free as she did.

Kylie, you're a legend, and this album shows why that deserves to continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complete Kylie, 26 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
Firstly I am not a true Kylie fan, so I was not expecting too much from this album, I mainly bought this as a DJ tool. However, if you like Kylie you will love this. It is a good retrospective of her work and I have to say you can sing along to it. As you can imagine her early work is a bit cheesey and I am not a fan of "Celebrate" & "Give me just a little more time" as they are songs that should never be covered in my opinion. That said, a well balanced pop album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You should be so lucky, 25 Oct. 2011
By 
steven Green (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
kylie is no madonna, however she is a legend of european pop and a great pop survivor. I like her, her songs are great pop and fun never outrageous or political. She is safe, needless to say shes had career ups and downs and this double cd has the lot. Kylies been very generous with this cd and its nicely designed and presented- its one for all pop lovers.
I personally love the saw days and her comeback recordings from the fever albumFever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For the sake of the second CD, 28 May 2008
By 
Can Ozdilek (Ankara, TURKEY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
As the previous reviews say, the first CD is not a complete one. It misses so many songs, especially the use of "Let's Get to It" album is horrible. Just one song, 'Give Me Just a Little More Time' is included from that album and to me, it is the worst single of her career, a highly unnecessary cover. Why aren't 'Word Is Out' and especially 'Finer Feelings' and 'If You Were with Me Now' included though there is enough space? Apart from that, all of these singles were already included in 1992's "Greatest Hits". So I don't find CD #1 that good.

But the second CD is really awesome. All big hits of her rebirth with "Light Years" is included. Yes, it wouldn't be bad to see 'Some Kind of Bliss' and 'Your Disco Needs You' (which is included in the German versions instead of 'Please Stay') as well; but the picked ones are much better than them and it is wise to exclude them for the sake of creating space for the current tracks.

By the way, isn't the tracklisting given here wrong? The tracks are not given chronological order in none of the CDs. I don't know if the British version is different, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Kylie Indeed, 5 May 2013
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
I initially reviewed this on June 22, 2008. I would definitely recommend this cd to fans of Kylie Minogue and non fans alike. What I love about this cd is that many of these songs are beautifully compiled together in terms of time era. For example, if you want to listen to Kylie in the 80's and 90's for the moment you would definitely check out cd 1. However if you crave the songs from the 2000's with some from the 90's check out cd 2. One of my favorite songs on her compilation is "come into my world" while my husband's is "where the wild roses grow". Many of the gems that I love of hers are on these cds but my top other fave songs would have to be "red blooded woman", "can't get you out of my head", "on a night like this", "in your eyes" and "slow". I love the ultimate kylie collection because it is upbeat, cheerful, sensual, and erotic at the same time. Plus this collection is any gem that will appeal to various occassions. If you like pop and/or europop or dance you will love this collection. Obviously "Ultimate Kylie" by Kylie Minogue is another purchase that I definitely feel is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate up to 2004, 24 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
Though I only have a minor interest in Kylie Minogue it was her SAW period which was the most interesting.I'd like her to have done more covers but an interesting fact re her version of The Locomotion brought its originator Little Eva out of oblivion to remark she expected royalties.Which was ridiculous as she was not the writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The style of Kylie, 12 Aug. 2011
By 
Francisco L. Hernandez González (Valencia, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
En general la complilacion esta buena, pero para mi gusto el segundo CD esta mucho mejor, pues es la etapa del pop de la artista que mas me llam la atencion y cuyas melodias han pegado mas...pero reconozco que para los fans de kylie sera una joya a considerar...gracias kylie por ofrecernos tu musica y tu elegante estilo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 22 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
Wow... This is an amazing collection of tracks from the wonderful Kylie. Ranging from her soap-star beginnings of I Should Be So Lucky through pop classics such as Better The Devil You Know and What Do I Have To Do, and onto Kylie's 'indie' period with the enchanting Confide In Me, up to Kylie's reincarnation for the millenium with Spinning Around and Can't Get You Out Of My Head, this album is a gem. It doesn't have every single one of Kylie's releases, but it is a great collection of almost all of her singles. It also includes two new tracks, set to be hits: I Believe In You and Giving You Up.
A brilliant addition to any collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars É um Luxo !, 19 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
this is undoubtedly the best collection of Kylie minogue already done! who is a fan of truth can not fail to have this album. because, it comes to music i believe in you that only comes in this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hit after hit after hit..., 10 Nov. 2008
By 
Mr. TB Reeks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
If you want the collection of Kylie's hit singles, this is the CD for you. If you're looking for every single one of Kylie's releases then some are definitely missing from here, not that it matters to me anyway, this is a fact of Greatest Hit compilations.

"Ultimate Kylie" is a lovely shiny collection of Kylie's songs that will be forever loved by her fans and pop music lovers. Only bad tracks in my opinion are "Tears On My Pillow", "Give Me Just A Little More Time" (Disc One) and "Chocolate" on Disc Two.

If you haven't heard and loved "Can't Get You Out Of My Head" you must be nuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate Kylie
Ultimate Kylie by Kylie Minogue (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews