Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU ONLY BUY ONE CD THIS CENTURY...
...THIS SHOULD BE IT!
OK, a few 'Greatest Hits' packages have been released during Kylie's time as Princess Of Pop, but they have pretty much been about her old record labels cashing in on her renewed success. This CD, on the other hand, charts her music career right from the beginning to the present, and not only is it endorsed by Ms Minogue but it also features a...
Published on 4 Nov 2004 by jon_hastings

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate?
All the songs we know and love. Great. I love Kylie and her music. Also I do have to say it's really handy to have one double album of Kylie's best singles from PWL, deConstruction, all the way to Parlophone. It's great for the car. Or if you have gaps in your album collection.
But what else can I say? There is nothing new for fans here since the two new tracks have...
Published on 9 May 2005 by AyJay


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU ONLY BUY ONE CD THIS CENTURY..., 4 Nov 2004
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
...THIS SHOULD BE IT!
OK, a few 'Greatest Hits' packages have been released during Kylie's time as Princess Of Pop, but they have pretty much been about her old record labels cashing in on her renewed success. This CD, on the other hand, charts her music career right from the beginning to the present, and not only is it endorsed by Ms Minogue but it also features a couple of new tracks (including the spellbinding "I Believe In You").
This is truly what pop music is about. The oldest stuff from the PWL days is cheesy, melodic, simple and just great fun ('Hand On Your Heart' is post-Abba singalong cheese at its best), though if you want depth and enlightenment this may not be your cup of tea. As the 90s dawned and she began to assert a more mature image her music was allowed to evolve with her (enter "Better The Devil You Know", one of the high points in the history of pop), and she even managed to incorporate a rap on 'Shocked' :-).
Eventually the constraints of PWL became too much, and off to indie label DeConstruction she went. Though commercial success somewhat eluded her during this phase, the actual records themselves were brilliant, particularly the hypnotic 'Confide In Me' and the trancy 'Breathe' (and it should be noted that many of the other tracks from her two DeConstruction albums are excellent too, even though they haven't made it on to this compilation - worth looking into...).
But of course, the Kylie we know and love today rediscovered her pop roots after her relationship with DeConstruction came to an end. Parlophone signed her, they had a mutual vision of where she should go, and voila, she was back at the top of the charts (with the help of a pair of gold hotpants). The 'Light Years' album was a return to pure pop, but with a noticeably more mature sound and a styling with which Kylie was clearly very comfortable. The singles were great, and did the job of telling the world that she was back, but in my opinion it is a crime against all that is good and proper that the album track 'Your Disco Needs You' has not made it on to this compilation, given that it has become a firm favourite amongst her fans.
It was the next project that launched her into the stratosphere, and also managed to finally break her in the USA (well, at least as something other than 'the Locomotion girl'). 'Can't Get You Out Of My Head' was the perfect fusion of song, star and video, and for me it provided a very welcome boost in the gloom of September 2001. The 'Fever' album contained brilliant pop tunes and a fantastically mature sound, and the four singles went down a storm on the radio (as they did on MTV, now that some serious effort was being put into the videos). 'In Your Eyes' is just pure futuristic disco, 'Love At First Sight' is so utterly joyful, and 'Come Into My World' gradually captivates you with its brilliance.
After a bit of a break (and the enormously successful Fever Tour) she released 'Body Language'. With this album and it's #1 lead-off single 'Slow', Kylie tried an 80s-revival-with-a-modern-twist thing. Though it wasn't a commercial smash like its predeccesor it did at least show her critics that she wasn't going to get pigeonholed in the sort of sound that characterised 'Fever'. The singles provided a welcome relief from the manufactured pap being churned out by Simon Cowell and his ilk, and of course we got to see Kylie 'covering up' for her latest incarnation as Brigitte Bardot.
For the die-hard fans this album will only provide the two additional tracks as everything else is covered on her albums (though again I must point out just how brilliant 'I Believe In You' is!), but for everyone else this is the chance to add some of the best pop music ever created to your CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Also known as Charlene, 27 Dec 2004
By 
Michael Dixon (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
Fans might be disappointed that 'Ultimate Kylie' doesn't quite live up to its name as some of the pop siren's smaller hits have been left off this best of package. Which is a shame as 'Word is out' and 'Finer feelings' are top drawer Stock Aitken & Waterman tunes, while 'Some kind of bliss' (Kylie's smallest hit to date at n#22) is arguably the best song the Manic Street Preachers have ever written!! Nevertheless, there's no faulting the brilliance of 'Confide in me', 'Spinning around' and the almighty 'Can't get you out of my head'. Some of the SAW tunes may sound a bit dated today, but with a back catalogue that includes 'Better the devil you know', 'Step back in time' and 'Shocked', resistance is futile. Of the two new tracks, 'I believe in you' is the one to watch. Co-written by Jake Shears and Babydaddy of the Scissor Sisters, the track grows on you after every listen. There has been many Kylie Minogue greatest hits packages released in recent years, but if you need to pick one, plump for 'Ultimate Kylie'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 14 Nov 2004
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
Has Kylie ever truly been given recognition for the sheer quality of music she has released over the last 17 or so years? I don't think so - but this compilation should put all that to rest. But, I already have a Kylie greatest Hits you cry! It's true; there are probably no less than 4 different compilation cd's of hers. Why should you buy this one then?
As the title suggests, this is the Ultimate version. It is the only compilation of hers to cover all 3 record labels, meaning you get hits from every stage of her career in one box!
The early years; 'Je Ne Sais Pas Pourquoi', 'Got To Be Certain', the 'locomotion' and of course 'I Should Be So lucky' are very 'twee', however these songs really defined the era when PWL ruled the charts. No matter what people think of the PWL years, Kylie released some true pop classics in that time, such as 'What Do I Have To Do', 'Better The Devil You Know' and 'Shocked'. A startling omission from the PWL period is 'Finer Feelings' - a true fan favourite...
She left PWL for the 'cool 'DeConstruction label, and this is where Kylie really started to blossom. The truly stunning 'Confide In Me' & 'Put Yourself In My Place' are without doubt stand out tracks - no matter who would have recorded them. Her second album with this label produced perhaps some of the coolest tracks of her career, yet at the time was not recognised as such. 'Did It Again' and 'Breathe' are included here, but 'Some Kind Of Bliss' is strangely not? However, her incredible duet with Nick Cave, 'Where the wild roses grow' IS included thankfully.
After the disappointing sales of that album, Kylie was without a record label for a while. Would she revive her career?
ABSOLUTELY. Kylie came back with some of the strongest material of her career bringing her back onto the dance floor where she belonged; 'Spinning Around', duetting with Robbie Williams on 'Kids', the extraordinary 'Can't Get You Out Of My Head' 'Love at First Sight', and 'In Your Eyes'.
Then she did it again (no pun intended). As with her 'Impossible Princess' album, she decided to change direction. It didn't quite work for the general music buying market, but the stunning electo pop 'Slow' and gorgeous, sumptuous and very sultry 'Chocolate' were definate highlights.
She has included 2 brand new tracks for this compilation. one of which is without a doubt, in the top 3 Kylie singles of all time. 'I Believe In You', her collaboration with The Scissor Sisters is an absolute classic and a return to her true pop roots which she had abandoned on her last album.
This is truly an extraordinary collection, and maybe this is the time her contribution to the world of music is finally recognised. There are a couple of glaring omissions, but that can't stop anyone buying and thoroughly enjoying this cd.
AMAZING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite Ultimate, 17 Nov 2009
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
This is a nice collection of all Kylie's more recent hits before X, and the mre succesful from her SAW and DeConstruction days. The second disc is a nice summary of her post-SAW work and is not harmed by the lack of 'Some Kind Of Bliss' or 'Where Is The Feeling?'. But, the first CD would have been greatly improved if only a couple of songs - namely 'It's No Secret' and 'Finer Feelings' were included. Admitedly, the first was only released as a single in a few countries, but it's definitely an early classic and one of her more mature recordings from her 80's period. The second, though not as big a hit as 'I Should Be So Lucky' or 'Better the Devil You Know', shows a hint of the Kylie to come a couple of years later, being her first colaboration with Brothers in Rhythm. Her final SAW single, 'What Kind of Fool', a pastiche of her early work, would have also been worthy of inclusion, making the two discs a little more balanced.

It's still a good collection though, especially for the casual listener who rememebrs the old stuff or just wants some light but good quaity pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Compilation From The Pop Princess, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
Ultimate Kylie.

Product Info.
2xCD.

Track Listings.
Disc: 1
1. I Should Be So Lucky
2. Got To Be Certain
3. The Locomotion
4. Je Ne Sais Pas Pourquoi
5. Especially For You - With Jason Donovan
6. Never Too Late
7. Wouldn't Change A Thing
8. Never Too Late
9. Tears On My Pillow
10. Better The Devil You Know
11. Step Back In Time
12. What Do I Have To Do
13. Shocked
14. Give Me Just A Little More Time
15. Celebration
Disc: 2
1. Confide In Me
2. Put Yourself In My Place
3. Where The Wild Roses Grow - With Nick Cave
4. Did It Again
5. Breathe
6. Spinning Around
7. On A Night Like This
8. Kids - With Robbie Williams
9. Please Stay
10. Can't Get You Out Of My Head
11. In Your Eyes
12. Love At First Sight
13. Come Into My World
14. Slow
15. Red Blooded Woman
16. Chocolate
17. (Can't Start) Giving You Up
18. I Believe In You

Timelord Thoughts.
Keep your Lady Gaga for me Kylie will always be the Queen of pop & this double cd from 1988-2004 contains the majority of her greatest hits.

If Kylie & I ever meet the conversation it may go something like this.

Kylie I Just Can't Get You Out Of My Head when i see you Spinning Around On A Night Like This in those hot pants.

I say it was Love At First Sight as i couldn't Breathe & I Should Be So Lucky to do the Locomotion with you.

So Confide In Me im not Shocked your a Red Bloodied Woman & we can take it Slow & when we do the Locomotion & make love you'll say Je Ne Sais Pas Pourquoi & as we Did It Again.

I Wouldn't Change A Thing so Please Stay or there be Tears On My Pillow so Give Me Just A Little More Time & i get you a Celebration or some Chocolate Especially For You cause it's Better The Devil You Know.

A excellent Greatest Hits compilation by this great singer & sex goddess of pop, never have golden hotpants looked so hot on one woman.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Kylie, 26 Nov 2004
By 
Joe (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
This Kylie collection is exactly what I have been waiting for. It contains all of her best songs from "Kylie" up to "Body Language", including all of my favorites like "Better the devil you know", "Can't get you out of my head", "Spinning around", "Confide in me", "Step back in time" and more. This is probably the most comprehensive Kylie compilation out there right now. Her early tracks have been digitally remastered beautifully. I also like the fact that the songs are divided into 2 discs. The first contains all of her SAW hits, and is perfect for your next 80s dance party. The second is more contemporary, and is the genesis of Kylie's career in the past 5 years. My only complaint is that some tracks from "Let's get to it" have been left out, namely "Word is out" and "If you were with me now", as well as "Your disco needs you" and "Some kind of bliss" from "Impossible princess". Since each disc roughly chalks up to 60 minutes, I don't see why the record label couldn't have beefed up each disc a little with a few more tracks.
Other than that, "Ultimate Kylie" is probably the best hits compilation I have bought this year. If you enjoy pop music, you should definitely buy this! It stands alongside Madonna's "The Immaculate Collection" as one of the best pop diva hits collection ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kylie is a legend, 1 Oct 2007
By 
Bj Lucas "saculnamron" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
think of your strongest memory, a school disco perhaps? getting together with friends. Chances are it'll be a Kylie track that memory will play out too. My brother introduced me to kylie and her music when she first came out. starting out as the tomboy Mechanic charlene in neighbours she soon evolved into a international Superstar. beginning with 'I should be so lucky' this wonderful CD charts her musical journey. 'Got to be certain' The 'Locomotion' 'Je Ne Sais Pas Pourquoi' 'hand on your heart' 'wouldn't change a thing' spinning around' all your favourite Kylie songs are all here. long live the pop princess!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate collection of Kylie Minogue!, 16 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
With 'I Should Be So Lucky', 'Better The Devil You Know', 'Confide In Me', 'Spinning Around', 'Can't Get You Out Of My Head', and 'Slow' Kylie Minogue has released a slew of songs, while ever changing her appearance and style yet still achieving numbers one hits. Kylie Minogue, she has been called the "Queen of Pop" and is Europe's & Australia's best selling female artist since her arrival in 1987.

Ultimate Kylie showcases Kylie's best and is well worth the money. For old fans, you can enjoy all the Kylie classics, and few newer fan, it gives you a fast overview of Kylie's stunning career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For the sake of the second CD, 28 May 2008
By 
Can Ozdilek (Ankara, TURKEY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
As the previous reviews say, the first CD is not a complete one. It misses so many songs, especially the use of "Let's Get to It" album is horrible. Just one song, 'Give Me Just a Little More Time' is included from that album and to me, it is the worst single of her career, a highly unnecessary cover. Why aren't 'Word Is Out' and especially 'Finer Feelings' and 'If You Were with Me Now' included though there is enough space? Apart from that, all of these singles were already included in 1992's "Greatest Hits". So I don't find CD #1 that good.

But the second CD is really awesome. All big hits of her rebirth with "Light Years" is included. Yes, it wouldn't be bad to see 'Some Kind of Bliss' and 'Your Disco Needs You' (which is included in the German versions instead of 'Please Stay') as well; but the picked ones are much better than them and it is wise to exclude them for the sake of creating space for the current tracks.

By the way, isn't the tracklisting given here wrong? The tracks are not given chronological order in none of the CDs. I don't know if the British version is different, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful!, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
ggod quality and super music with all the songs i was looking for so very happy thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate Kylie
Ultimate Kylie by Kylie Minogue (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews