Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU ONLY BUY ONE CD THIS CENTURY...
...THIS SHOULD BE IT!
OK, a few 'Greatest Hits' packages have been released during Kylie's time as Princess Of Pop, but they have pretty much been about her old record labels cashing in on her renewed success. This CD, on the other hand, charts her music career right from the beginning to the present, and not only is it endorsed by Ms Minogue but it also features a...
Published on 4 Nov 2004 by jon_hastings

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate?
All the songs we know and love. Great. I love Kylie and her music. Also I do have to say it's really handy to have one double album of Kylie's best singles from PWL, deConstruction, all the way to Parlophone. It's great for the car. Or if you have gaps in your album collection.
But what else can I say? There is nothing new for fans here since the two new tracks have...
Published on 9 May 2005 by Amanda


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU ONLY BUY ONE CD THIS CENTURY..., 4 Nov 2004
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
...THIS SHOULD BE IT!
OK, a few 'Greatest Hits' packages have been released during Kylie's time as Princess Of Pop, but they have pretty much been about her old record labels cashing in on her renewed success. This CD, on the other hand, charts her music career right from the beginning to the present, and not only is it endorsed by Ms Minogue but it also features a couple of new tracks (including the spellbinding "I Believe In You").
This is truly what pop music is about. The oldest stuff from the PWL days is cheesy, melodic, simple and just great fun ('Hand On Your Heart' is post-Abba singalong cheese at its best), though if you want depth and enlightenment this may not be your cup of tea. As the 90s dawned and she began to assert a more mature image her music was allowed to evolve with her (enter "Better The Devil You Know", one of the high points in the history of pop), and she even managed to incorporate a rap on 'Shocked' :-).
Eventually the constraints of PWL became too much, and off to indie label DeConstruction she went. Though commercial success somewhat eluded her during this phase, the actual records themselves were brilliant, particularly the hypnotic 'Confide In Me' and the trancy 'Breathe' (and it should be noted that many of the other tracks from her two DeConstruction albums are excellent too, even though they haven't made it on to this compilation - worth looking into...).
But of course, the Kylie we know and love today rediscovered her pop roots after her relationship with DeConstruction came to an end. Parlophone signed her, they had a mutual vision of where she should go, and voila, she was back at the top of the charts (with the help of a pair of gold hotpants). The 'Light Years' album was a return to pure pop, but with a noticeably more mature sound and a styling with which Kylie was clearly very comfortable. The singles were great, and did the job of telling the world that she was back, but in my opinion it is a crime against all that is good and proper that the album track 'Your Disco Needs You' has not made it on to this compilation, given that it has become a firm favourite amongst her fans.
It was the next project that launched her into the stratosphere, and also managed to finally break her in the USA (well, at least as something other than 'the Locomotion girl'). 'Can't Get You Out Of My Head' was the perfect fusion of song, star and video, and for me it provided a very welcome boost in the gloom of September 2001. The 'Fever' album contained brilliant pop tunes and a fantastically mature sound, and the four singles went down a storm on the radio (as they did on MTV, now that some serious effort was being put into the videos). 'In Your Eyes' is just pure futuristic disco, 'Love At First Sight' is so utterly joyful, and 'Come Into My World' gradually captivates you with its brilliance.
After a bit of a break (and the enormously successful Fever Tour) she released 'Body Language'. With this album and it's #1 lead-off single 'Slow', Kylie tried an 80s-revival-with-a-modern-twist thing. Though it wasn't a commercial smash like its predeccesor it did at least show her critics that she wasn't going to get pigeonholed in the sort of sound that characterised 'Fever'. The singles provided a welcome relief from the manufactured pap being churned out by Simon Cowell and his ilk, and of course we got to see Kylie 'covering up' for her latest incarnation as Brigitte Bardot.
For the die-hard fans this album will only provide the two additional tracks as everything else is covered on her albums (though again I must point out just how brilliant 'I Believe In You' is!), but for everyone else this is the chance to add some of the best pop music ever created to your CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 14 Nov 2004
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
Has Kylie ever truly been given recognition for the sheer quality of music she has released over the last 17 or so years? I don't think so - but this compilation should put all that to rest. But, I already have a Kylie greatest Hits you cry! It's true; there are probably no less than 4 different compilation cd's of hers. Why should you buy this one then?
As the title suggests, this is the Ultimate version. It is the only compilation of hers to cover all 3 record labels, meaning you get hits from every stage of her career in one box!
The early years; 'Je Ne Sais Pas Pourquoi', 'Got To Be Certain', the 'locomotion' and of course 'I Should Be So lucky' are very 'twee', however these songs really defined the era when PWL ruled the charts. No matter what people think of the PWL years, Kylie released some true pop classics in that time, such as 'What Do I Have To Do', 'Better The Devil You Know' and 'Shocked'. A startling omission from the PWL period is 'Finer Feelings' - a true fan favourite...
She left PWL for the 'cool 'DeConstruction label, and this is where Kylie really started to blossom. The truly stunning 'Confide In Me' & 'Put Yourself In My Place' are without doubt stand out tracks - no matter who would have recorded them. Her second album with this label produced perhaps some of the coolest tracks of her career, yet at the time was not recognised as such. 'Did It Again' and 'Breathe' are included here, but 'Some Kind Of Bliss' is strangely not? However, her incredible duet with Nick Cave, 'Where the wild roses grow' IS included thankfully.
After the disappointing sales of that album, Kylie was without a record label for a while. Would she revive her career?
ABSOLUTELY. Kylie came back with some of the strongest material of her career bringing her back onto the dance floor where she belonged; 'Spinning Around', duetting with Robbie Williams on 'Kids', the extraordinary 'Can't Get You Out Of My Head' 'Love at First Sight', and 'In Your Eyes'.
Then she did it again (no pun intended). As with her 'Impossible Princess' album, she decided to change direction. It didn't quite work for the general music buying market, but the stunning electo pop 'Slow' and gorgeous, sumptuous and very sultry 'Chocolate' were definate highlights.
She has included 2 brand new tracks for this compilation. one of which is without a doubt, in the top 3 Kylie singles of all time. 'I Believe In You', her collaboration with The Scissor Sisters is an absolute classic and a return to her true pop roots which she had abandoned on her last album.
This is truly an extraordinary collection, and maybe this is the time her contribution to the world of music is finally recognised. There are a couple of glaring omissions, but that can't stop anyone buying and thoroughly enjoying this cd.
AMAZING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Also known as Charlene, 27 Dec 2004
By 
Michael Dixon (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
Fans might be disappointed that 'Ultimate Kylie' doesn't quite live up to its name as some of the pop siren's smaller hits have been left off this best of package. Which is a shame as 'Word is out' and 'Finer feelings' are top drawer Stock Aitken & Waterman tunes, while 'Some kind of bliss' (Kylie's smallest hit to date at n#22) is arguably the best song the Manic Street Preachers have ever written!! Nevertheless, there's no faulting the brilliance of 'Confide in me', 'Spinning around' and the almighty 'Can't get you out of my head'. Some of the SAW tunes may sound a bit dated today, but with a back catalogue that includes 'Better the devil you know', 'Step back in time' and 'Shocked', resistance is futile. Of the two new tracks, 'I believe in you' is the one to watch. Co-written by Jake Shears and Babydaddy of the Scissor Sisters, the track grows on you after every listen. There has been many Kylie Minogue greatest hits packages released in recent years, but if you need to pick one, plump for 'Ultimate Kylie'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate collection of Kylie Minogue!, 16 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
With 'I Should Be So Lucky', 'Better The Devil You Know', 'Confide In Me', 'Spinning Around', 'Can't Get You Out Of My Head', and 'Slow' Kylie Minogue has released a slew of songs, while ever changing her appearance and style yet still achieving numbers one hits. Kylie Minogue, she has been called the "Queen of Pop" and is Europe's & Australia's best selling female artist since her arrival in 1987.

Ultimate Kylie showcases Kylie's best and is well worth the money. For old fans, you can enjoy all the Kylie classics, and few newer fan, it gives you a fast overview of Kylie's stunning career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Kylie, 26 Nov 2004
By 
Joe (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
This Kylie collection is exactly what I have been waiting for. It contains all of her best songs from "Kylie" up to "Body Language", including all of my favorites like "Better the devil you know", "Can't get you out of my head", "Spinning around", "Confide in me", "Step back in time" and more. This is probably the most comprehensive Kylie compilation out there right now. Her early tracks have been digitally remastered beautifully. I also like the fact that the songs are divided into 2 discs. The first contains all of her SAW hits, and is perfect for your next 80s dance party. The second is more contemporary, and is the genesis of Kylie's career in the past 5 years. My only complaint is that some tracks from "Let's get to it" have been left out, namely "Word is out" and "If you were with me now", as well as "Your disco needs you" and "Some kind of bliss" from "Impossible princess". Since each disc roughly chalks up to 60 minutes, I don't see why the record label couldn't have beefed up each disc a little with a few more tracks.
Other than that, "Ultimate Kylie" is probably the best hits compilation I have bought this year. If you enjoy pop music, you should definitely buy this! It stands alongside Madonna's "The Immaculate Collection" as one of the best pop diva hits collection ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex Goddess Of Pop, 23 Dec 2013
By 
timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
Keep your Lady Gaga for me Kylie the Queen of pop & this double cd from 1988-2004 contains the majority of her greatest hits.

If Kylie & I ever meet the conversation may go something like this.

Kylie I Just Can't Get You Out Of My Head when i see you Spinning Around On A Night Like This in those hot pants.

I say it was Love At First Sight as i couldn't Breathe & I Should Be So Lucky to do the Locomotion with you.

So Confide In Me im not Shocked your a Red Bloodied Woman & we can take it Slow & when we do the Locomotion & make love you'll say Je Ne Sais Pas Pourquoi & as we Did It Again.

I Wouldn't Change A Thing so Please Stay or there be Tears On My Pillow so Give Me Just A Little More Time & i get you a Celebration or some Chocolate Especially For You cause it's Better The Devil You Know.

Great album by one beautiful sex goddess & a great singer & never have golden hotpants looked so hot on a woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful!, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
ggod quality and super music with all the songs i was looking for so very happy thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate up to 2004, 24 Feb 2013
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
Though I only have a minor interest in Kylie Minogue it was her SAW period which was the most interesting.I'd like her to have done more covers but an interesting fact re her version of The Locomotion brought its originator Little Eva out of oblivion to remark she expected royalties.Which was ridiculous as she was not the writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
this album is very good all her hits i'm really pleased with it you can hear how her style changed over the years brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars É um Luxo !, 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Kylie (Audio CD)
this is undoubtedly the best collection of Kylie minogue already done! who is a fan of truth can not fail to have this album. because, it comes to music i believe in you that only comes in this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8a2436c)

This product

Ultimate Kylie
Ultimate Kylie by Kylie Minogue (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews