Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars over the top
I enjoyed the Amazon review and thought that reviewer covered it pretty well. I have to say, however, that these guys are way more even than really, really good, soft rock. Every one of the songs on this collection is excellent, or better. This is also a reminder why Travis is a must see live, as they are all-heart, and with each of these 20 or so songs to fall back on...
Published on 16 Nov 2004 by J. A. COSBY

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
OK
Published 2 months ago by Julian Piggott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars over the top, 16 Nov 2004
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
I enjoyed the Amazon review and thought that reviewer covered it pretty well. I have to say, however, that these guys are way more even than really, really good, soft rock. Every one of the songs on this collection is excellent, or better. This is also a reminder why Travis is a must see live, as they are all-heart, and with each of these 20 or so songs to fall back on every night, there is no filler, whatsoever.
Furthermore, "Writing to Reach You," "Driftwood," "Turn," Why Does it Always Rain on Me," "Sing," and "Side" are CLASSICS--*transcendent* even (not to mention "Tied to the 90's," "More Than Us," "Pipe Dreams," "Indefinitely," "Flashing Blue Lights," and, now, "Walking in the Sun.") Their lyrics are "off the hook," as the kids say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music, wonderful album, 4 Jan 2005
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
I received this gift for christmas even though i wasn't really into Travis. I put it and listened to it the whole way through and i have to say, it is a beautiful album to listen to. The music is not threatening in anyway. It's a type of album where you just want to chillout on your sofa, put this album on while reading a book. I recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Travis, 18 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
I've just bought and listened to this album, and I have to say its one of the best albums I have heard in recent times.
The lyrics and music are simply wonderful to listen, and it's probably one of the few albums where I've enjoyed most if not all the songs - great stuff!!
I'd recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genious from the greats that are Travis, 23 Dec 2004
By 
Mr. K. M. SYMONS D'SOUZA (berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
I have to admit i luv Travis. They are such a great band who write some of the best lyrics ever. The title of the songs are just sublime. Each song has a meaning.
Well this cd consists of 18 songs from which 17 are singles. I own all the singles in view. They range from the 4 albums but also contain 'Coming Around' and 'Walking In The Sun'. All the singles are brilliant and are different. My favourites have to be 'Turn', 'Side' and 'Re-Offender'.
This is a great way to end the first era of Travis. Bring on the next one. It was great to hear them say this is not their greatest hits as they have a long future before they have finished.
To sum it up Travis are a great live band who show off indie-rock with ease. They also have 4 talented members and each can sing to ('The Distance' by Dougie). LONG LIVE TRAVIS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRILL BAND, 15 April 2006
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Travis are one of my favourite bands simply because of their simplicity. There isnt really nothing that original or spectacular about the music or lyrics of Travis' songs, but they are all great sing alongs with good melodys that are easy to chill out to.

I have given this album 4 stars purely because I am not a fan of ALL of the whole tracklisting. However, there are some classics such as Sing, Turn and my personal favourite, Driftwood.

All in all, a great collection of Travis' hits thats well worth the purchase. If your after a chill out CD, then this ones for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Aug 2005
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
One of my friends bought this for me, although i hadn't really heard much of Travis i imstantly loved it. 'Why Does It Always Rain On Me?' 'Driftwood' and 'Writing To Reach You' are brilliant songs, every song is great though. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definitive hits collection (at the time), 20 May 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Travis are one of my favourite alternative rock bands from the aftermath of Britpop. 'Singles' is a collection of every single they released from 1997-2004, therefore making it a definitive collection of everything they released up until that point, and serving as a great introduction to the band. With only all the hits present, and a few of their strong past studio album only tracks, any filler is avoided.

My personal favourites will always be 'Driftwood', 'Writing To Reach You' (inspired by '74-75' by the Connells), 'Flowers In The Window' and 'Why Does It Always Rain On Me?', all absolute classics that nobody I know seems to dislike.

An excellent CD of catchy pop/rock songs with simplistic lyrics. This is one of those albums that you'll find yourself chilling out to again and again. Although they have released three more albums and numerous other singles since this collection was released, I still think that 'Singles' captures the band at their best, and contains the creme of their material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
What a great album! I was looking for 'Why does it always rain on me', glad I found this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singles
Singles by Travis (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews