Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So What?
Let's be fair, Rod's no Tony Bennett - but I'm sure he's only too conscious of that. The fact that he's introducing 'The Great American Songbook' to a legion of his fans who've probably never heard most of these songs other than in a soundtrack to a film doesn't matter. It's a little precious of us to judge that he's not capable of singing these songs (Hell, neither am...
Published on 14 Nov 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect delivery
The CD supplied was not 'Stardust'. The problem was that the barcode was for 'Stardust' but the actual Cd was not. CD returned and account credited.
Published 4 months ago by spaced


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So What?, 14 Nov 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stardust: The Great American Songbook Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Let's be fair, Rod's no Tony Bennett - but I'm sure he's only too conscious of that. The fact that he's introducing 'The Great American Songbook' to a legion of his fans who've probably never heard most of these songs other than in a soundtrack to a film doesn't matter. It's a little precious of us to judge that he's not capable of singing these songs (Hell, neither am I, but I enjoy doing so) - and that's the point. The joi de vivre which is only too evident when listening to one of his GAS songs - HE'S HAVING THE TIME OF HIS LIFE! - and who am I to gainsay that? especially when the feeling is so infectious. Come on - a CD costs what, ten quid?, Isn't it worth the price of three or four pints to have an hour of solid pleasure now and again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what dreams are about!, 20 Oct 2004
By 
Robert Park (Kirriemuir, Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stardust: The Great American Songbook Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
This guy might be a crooner but he's got the 'magic' both in his public personality and in his singing. Like good wine he gets better with maturity. Life without romance must be miserable but this guy provides the antidote in large dollops. This is what our dreams are about! Great singing; great listening; great guy Rod!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great present, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stardust: The Great American Songbook Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Bought as a gift and it went down a treat. Lovely songs sung in that relaxed, smokey voice of his. Very easy relaxing listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff!, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stardust: The Great American Songbook Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Great songs sung in Rod Stewart's gravelly lived in voice. However, if you are going to include a song written by an Englishman (Eric Maschwitz) you shouldn't be calling the compilation "The Great AMERICAN Songbook)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect delivery, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stardust: The Great American Songbook Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
The CD supplied was not 'Stardust'. The problem was that the barcode was for 'Stardust' but the actual Cd was not. CD returned and account credited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MUSIC FOR MY TABLET, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just Like Rod Stewart's music. I have a lot of is CDs but wanted some on my tablet for when I am out and about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rod Stewart and the Great American Songbook!, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stardust: The Great American Songbook Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
I sent this to my cousin. I have had a copy since it was first released and simply love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas present, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stardust: The Great American Songbook Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Part of the series my wife is collecting, and this made a perfect stocking filler for Xmas. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stardust: The Great American Songbook Vol.3, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. David Hopwood (West Yorkshire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stardust: The Great American Songbook Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
I bought this for my wife who is a great fan of Rod Stewart. She loved it and added it to her growing collection of his works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stardust: The Great American Songbook Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Easy listening. I really like this playing in the background when I've got friends over. They all like it too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stardust: The Great American Songbook Vol. 3
Stardust: The Great American Songbook Vol. 3 by Rod Stewart (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews