Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Comprehensive.. almost!, 23 Nov 2004
This review is from: The History of Iron Maiden Part 1 - The Early Days [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
When I first heard of this release i thought "oh no not another package of archive material", but i'm pleased to say I was completely wrong.
For the newish fans, the live stuff is a real treat. Bruce's vocals on Beast over Hammersmith have never been beaten in my opinion, and the Rainbow gig for anyone who's particularly into Paul Di'anno. My one complaint is that Iron Maiden (the song) from the Dortmund gig is missing, in which you can witness a frantic massacre of big Eddie in a rare scene of guitar trashing from the boys.
The real treasures are found on the second disc, with 90mins of interviews with almost every member of iron maiden from the time (a lot more than you may think!), some great little stories about the band's rise to fame, very Spinal Tap in places! Also some old footage from the band in its earliest days, and although this is very poor quality its still a piece of history!
Amazing purchase, can't wait for the next in the series..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely essential for any Maiden fan, 1 Nov 2004
This review is from: The History of Iron Maiden Part 1 - The Early Days [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Here we have a brilliant and thoroughly put together collection that any person who calls themselves a real Maiden fan will just have to own. Much has been published, broadcast and talked about with the band and here we have something which is new and fresh and doesn't just give us more throwbacks that we have been bombarded with over the years.
There is lots of very interesting live stuff on the discs but it is with the documentaries that we get the reals goods that all Maiden fans so deserve. The documentary on NWOBHM is interesting and captivating and the new documentary with the members of the band from the early years as well as friends and tour members is an absolutely must see alone. At the price charged for this you are realy getting a treat because as a double disc collection it could have easily been harshly over-priced like other Maiden items but this is unique.
Sure Maiden fans will love this the most and it will inevitably only really appeal to big fans but for a new band starting up wanting to know the reality of getting started this will prove very educational. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last Maiden have produced a decent history, 2 Nov 2004
By 
Mitch (CHESTERFIELD United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The History of Iron Maiden Part 1 - The Early Days [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is the best thing on Maiden since '12 Wasted Years' and is long overdue. Maiden are a unique band and they have a lot of history.
Some of the concert footage is re-issued but there is lots of new stuff too. Unfortunately the quality is only middling as this footage is 20+ years old but you won't see anybody give a better performance. The Marquee footage is an absolute classic.
The documentary is all new and does a great job describing the early days. This is the star of the show.
If you remember Maiden from the early 80's then you know how good they were. This DVD captures a lot of that atmosphere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 10 Jun 2005
This review is from: The History of Iron Maiden Part 1 - The Early Days [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This DVD has EVERYTHING you want if you are a Maiden fan and people unknown to Iron Maiden alike. Not only do you get an interesting "Rockumentary" that is 90 minutes long and shows how they begun and up along to their hit album "number of the Beast", but you also get 3 breathtaking, powerful concerts for your enjoyment.
the first concert allows you to almost "introduce" yourself to Paul Dianno, their deep, powerful singer and gives you an experience for what a gig with him is like.
The second gig introduces you to "Bruce Dickinson", their 2nd singer and gives you yet another fantastic and totally new experience that will blow you away.
And the final concert has Maidens permanent drummer, "Nicko McBraine" and yet again, provides a new experience for you to enjoy.
Besides the mind-blowing gigs and the documentary, you get videos from Maiden early songs, including their Top of the Pops appearences. you also get a funny TV interview and lots of other extras. A brilliant investment for any fan of Heavy Metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the early days........, 9 Nov 2004
This review is from: The History of Iron Maiden Part 1 - The Early Days [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
If you're a maiden fan new or old you will love this,plenty of extras worth watching,i even learnt a few more things about the original line-up that i didnt know!There all on there,ex band members etc.And 3 concerts worth watching.Sound quality is good even thought its not 5.1.I give it a big thumbs up!!!
This is part1,cant wait for part2....UP THE IRONS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUITE AN INTRODUCTION FOR NEWER MAIDEN FANS, 26 Dec 2006
By 
PETER XUEREB (SYDNEY, NEW SOUTH WALES Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The History of Iron Maiden Part 1 - The Early Days [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I'm a recent convert to Iron Maiden having only recently acquired their entire back catalogue. My into to them was "The Number Of The Beast - Classic Albums" DVD and I found that quite fascinating. Being an "old school" heavy rock fan (Purple, Zeppelin, Rainbow et al) I had originally stayed clear of the newer breed of heavy metal bands. I was delighted to discover that Maiden were not your typical thrashy guitar based group with vocalists that sounded like they gargled concrete, but were in fact more in in the mould of Deep Purple in style with talented players and great singers. Bruce Dickinson reminded me a lot of Ronnie James Dio in vocal style and power while the guitar playing is both deft and powerful in the same instance. So now I'm hooked! This DVD is a great starting point for newbies like myself though it's also what dedicated Maiden fans will want too! I love "history based" rockumentaries and this fills the bill. The concerts are great to watch and sound amazing. All one can do is crank up the volume and let go! Where's Part 2!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great watch., 11 Feb 2008
This review is from: The History of Iron Maiden Part 1 - The Early Days [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This really is a great dvd. It covers everything from the very beginnings of Iron Maiden up until the Number of the Beast album.

Part 2 (which I've be waiting for over 3 years for!) is on the recently released Live After Death dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Biography Of All Time!!!, 19 Jan 2008
This review is from: The History of Iron Maiden Part 1 - The Early Days [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This biography has everything from before Iron Maiden formed up to when they headlined a festival in Germany on their World Peace Tour (Piece Of Mind album, 1984) This DVD includes: A 90 minute biography including current and former members of Iron Maiden, roadies, fans, journolists and more. The most informative biography ever made, telling every detail from when Steve first picked up a Bass guitar up until 1984. Also included is some of the shows from The Early Days. A home recording of Iron Maiden at the Ruskin Arms 1980, a couple of days after their debut album was released. Live At The Rainbow 1982, during Iron Maiden's worldwide tour after Killers was released. Beast Over Hammersmith. Iron Maiden's first live recording with Bruce Dickinson. Filmed after Number Of the Beast was released. 1984 Germany, Iron Maiden after Piece Of Mind was released. there are loads more features which will keep you entertained from possibly THE greatest rock band of all time. This DVD captures some of the bands best and most energetic performances EVER!!!!! A MUST BUY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive overview of the bands early days, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Iron Maiden Part 1 - The Early Days [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a brilliant DVD, cobbling all sorts of material together across 2 DVD's. There's a lot of live material on here from the period, not all of it sadly in its entirety but still a good chunk, with a lot of interviews from the time too. Some of the footage is understandably old and grainy, but I'm happy that it was included, it really fleshes out the set and shows the band finding their feet. There's a couple of segments exploring the metal scene at the time and people attending Iron Maiden gigs, which is interesting.

This really feels like a bundle sent in from the past and definitely worth a look for those who enjoy that period in Iron Maiden's career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden Heaven, 13 Nov 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Iron Maiden Part 1 - The Early Days [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The dvd is wonderfully put together if you are maiden fan then this is a must.New fans will fine this a great insight into the bands history,i myself have been a fan for many years and the various interviews from past and present members are great.If you have never heard or seen Iron Maiden then i suggest you buy this dvd.And remeber Iron maiden have always been true to themselves and there fans.UP THE IRONS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The History of Iron Maiden Part 1 - The Early Days [DVD] [2004]
£15.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews