Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of alternative rock
If you love Pearl Jam, you'll love this album. Includes all the greats - "Alive", "Jeremy", "Nothing Man" - and some of the newer work - "Last Kiss" being my favourite. Eddie Vedder's throaty vocals still send chills down the spine, and the songs are great to listen to, even after more than 10 years. This is a comprehensive collection, great for both serious...
Published on 16 Dec. 2005 by Angela Speck

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
It's good that the the "well known" songs are on here. It's good that there are 2 discs. One songs aren't that good.
Published 23 months ago by A. Finney


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of alternative rock, 16 Dec. 2005
By 
Angela Speck "Pop_culture_geek" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rearview Mirror: The Best of Pearl Jam (Audio CD)
If you love Pearl Jam, you'll love this album. Includes all the greats - "Alive", "Jeremy", "Nothing Man" - and some of the newer work - "Last Kiss" being my favourite. Eddie Vedder's throaty vocals still send chills down the spine, and the songs are great to listen to, even after more than 10 years. This is a comprehensive collection, great for both serious fans and those who want the "Best of" because they've heard a good couple of tracks. The extra material in the CD sleeve is quite arbitrary, nothing spectacular. And Pearl Jam's preference for unusual cardboard/paper CD covers is a bit frustrating. It looks quite cheap and nasty, and they end up damaged. However, this does not diminish the excellent music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The two sides of Pearl Jam., 3 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Rearview Mirror: The Best of Pearl Jam (Audio CD)
Here is a history summarised In Thirty-Three of their greatest tracks, the grunge come melodic rock heroes - Pearl Jam. Their sound is so diverse and unique, their music ever-changing and maturing. There is something for everyone on this album, heavy grunge rock in Once and Alive, the powerfully Dark Do the Evolution, the punky Hail Hail the fabulous acoustic Elderly Woman and to round it off, The soft and beautiful Man Of the Hour and Hendrix inspired?; Yellow Ledbetter.
Two discs that give two very different impressions of the band that kept rock 'alive' in the 90's. Disc One is pure high-energy rock, I was totally made up with the inclusion of State of Love and Trust, one of the best raw edge acoustic rock songs ever written. You have the typical tracks from Ten that made it the best-selling grunge album i.e. Alive, Jeremy, Once and Even Flow. Watch out for the catchy Corduroy on track 11 and the emotion-fuelled Rearviewmirror on track 9, both superb! Something from each studio album except Binaural, sadly. On this disc watch out for McCready's solo's on Alive, Even Flow and Animal - fantastic.
Disc two is alot more mellow, an amazing compilation. The lyrics in Elderly woman are beautiful. Better Man is always a favourite, one of Vedder's early accomplishments. Last Kiss was a suprise inclusion, maybe at the cost of Thin Air but in any case really shows vedder's vocal capability. Off he goes is possibly the most mellow, Man of the hour is a real thought-provoker nad If your after good lyrics, sung beautifully, to some really sweet melodies, on disc two you will find what you're after.
This is definitely one of the greatest rock albums of all time form one of the greatest rock bands.
I'm looking forward to hearing the remixed versions of the Ten Tracks, Not sure why Even Flow has been left out of the remixes, after all on the 2000 live touring band DVD it's done better than ever.
No Best of album ever has every track that fan wants but this is so close, fans will miss the likes of: Brian of J, No way, Greendisease, Smile, the before mentioned Thin Air, Insignificance and Indifference. The selection was always going to be debated, I don't think there has been a better album than this since Ten. I think Pearl Jam threw of the label of Grunge by the end of Vitalogy if not sooner, this is just great musicianship displayed in a broad spectrum of styles that ultimately can be classified as rock. If your after intelligent lyrics, great guitar riff, soft melodies, "face-melting solo's" and the greatest Rock vocals since Paul Rodgers this is where you'll find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect rock album, 29 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Rearview Mirror: The Best of Pearl Jam (Audio CD)
Before listening this album gets five stars just for presentation. As with all Pearl Jam releases, the layout is simple and the artwork eyecatching. The inlay features interesting photos from throughout the band's career career.
This album highlights the depth, variation and quality in Pearl Jam's back catalogue. Anyone who dismissed them as grunge bandwaggon jumpers in the early 90's will realise that Vedder and co. have gone from strength to strength since then, building on the stadium rock of their debut 'Ten' via the punky 'Vitalogy' through to the more laid back 'Riot Act'. The songs on 'Rearviewmirror' range from strum-along acoustic ballads such as 'Nothingman' to full on rock beasts like 'Go', all featuring beautiful melodies, expertly played instruments and of course, Eddie Vedder's rich, warm sounding vocals, for me the highlight of all Pearl Jam's music.
The two discs are separated into the band's 'heavier' tracks on disc one, and the more laid back numbers on disc two, which is quite a good idea if you're the sort of person who likes to choose music according to their mood. Also it's nice to hear the tracks from different albums back to back, to get a feel for how the band's music has changed over the years.
The bands earliest tracks ('Once', 'Alive', 'Black' etc) benefit from having been re-mixed for this release. To the trained ear of the Pearl Jam nerd, they sound a lot different and fresh. 'Even Flow' features a different guitar solo take, which I don't think is quite as good as the original, but's it's nice to hear a different interpretation.
I was particularly pleased with the inclusion of some of Pearl Jam's 'non-album' tracks, particularly 'Breath' from the 'Singles' soundtrack and 'I Got S**t', a gritty and sparsely produced rocker owing a great deal to Neil Young (who plays extra guitar on the track).
Anyone who hasn't heard much (or any) Pearl Jam should listen to this to see how a true rock band does it, although I'd recommend this specifically to fans of anyone from Hundred Reasons to Ryan Adams, from Cave In to REM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Greatest Hits', not 'Best Of', 8 Nov. 2004
By 
ad-rock (Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rearview Mirror: The Best of Pearl Jam (Audio CD)
Greatest hits albums, as a rule, tend to be something of a dissapointment to me. It seems to signify that the band in question cannot be bothered to produce new material or don't care enough to do so. It can also be an exercise in money spinning from said bands record company. I definatly think that is the case with this compilation, yet somehow, it still contains a fine collection of superb tracks from what I consider to be the 'ideal' rock group, conciencious, for-the-fans, hard working and constantly growing into something exciting whether the mainstream likes it or not. i also know that Pearl Jam aren't exactly 'not bothered' with putting new stuff out, after all we have had Lost Dogs, the bootlegs and Live at Beyanora, plus the MSG DVD and relentless touring (albeit in the US) from the group since 2002. I read that their contract with Sony is just about up so they are trying to get one last album out Pearl Jam. This is a band that is still very active, with energy to burn for a long time yet.
And I must say, from a fans perspective, Sony have done a good job collecting tracks for this album. this is a band with so much quality material that it is impossible to produce a best of, so here we have a greatest hits. Big difference. I cannot deny that these are the most radio-friendly and commercial tunes from Pearl Jam, so while I may consider 'No Way' to be one of their best songs, it was not a hit or a single, so I can't argue for it's inclusion. What we have here is a nice collection of the bands most well known songs, handily packaged together for new-comers or fans like me who want all the songs available, but can't be bothered with an Ipod.
Every track on here is pure gold, I can't imagine any person getting to the end of this album and not having liked a least three songs. There really is something for everyone. I am a fan of later albums so I would have liked to see more Binaural/Riot Act stuff here but, like I said, this is greatest hits, not best of. And a little correction from another review, there is one Binaural track on here; Light Years, a brilliant song with such sublty powerful lyrics that remains too catchy for words.
I am confused by the decision not to remix Even Flow, but then that song has always been quality, and always will be, even if they rerecord it in a dumpster. Inclusion of tracks like State of Love and Trust and Breath is a massive bonus too.
In short, this is an album for anyone who considers themselves a serious music fan or any Pearl Jam fan/potential fan. The CD is not let down by a single track and looks to flow nicely. If I have any critisism, it would be the lack of any live tracks, as Pearl Jam are at their strongest when they are feeling it on stage, and also, the cover art, which is a bit too Grunge IMO. I guess you can tell which image Sony is capitalising on. But the music is there, the passion is there, and with this band, that's all that's ever mattered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Machine . ., 9 Jan. 2011
I bought this album based on reviews and my purchase of 'Ten' when PJ originally released it, I'd just downloaded 'Vs' as I lost the CD years ago and to be honest I've forgotten how great this band are!

Listening to this music on a cold and bright January afternoon literally transported me back twenty years and I can't help thinking Eddie sounds remarkably like Springsteen on the track 'Off He Goes' - which if course is no bad thing

Buy it - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The two sides of Pearl Jam., 3 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Rearview Mirror: The Best of Pearl Jam (Audio CD)
Here is a history summarised In Thirty-Three of their greatest tracks, the grunge come melodic rock heroes - Pearl Jam. Their sound is so diverse and unique, their music ever-changing and maturing. There is something for everyone on this album, heavy grunge rock in Once and Alive, the powerfully Dark Do the Evolution, the punky Hail Hail the fabulous acoustic Elderly Woman and to round it off, The soft and beautiful Man Of the Hour and Hendrix inspired?; Yellow Ledbetter.
Two discs that give two very different impressions of the band that kept rock 'alive' in the 90's. Disc One is pure high-energy rock, I was totally made up with the inclusion of State of Love and Trust, one of the best raw edge acoustic rock songs ever written. You have the typical tracks from Ten that made it the best-selling grunge album i.e. Alive, Jeremy, Once and Even Flow. Watch out for the catchy Corduroy on track 11 and the emotion-fuelled Rearviewmirror on track 9, both superb! Something from each studio album except Binaural, sadly. On this disc watch out for McCready's solo's on Alive, Even Flow and Animal - fantastic.
Disc two is alot more mellow, an amazing compilation. The lyrics in Elderly woman are beautiful. Better Man is always a favourite, one of Vedder's early accomplishments. Last Kiss was a suprise inclusion, maybe at the cost of Thin Air but in any case really shows vedder's vocal capability. Off he goes is possibly the most mellow, Man of the hour is a real thought-provoker and If your after good lyrics, sung beautifully, to some really sweet melodies, on disc two you will find what you're after. Could they have finished on a better note - Yellow Ledbetter.
This is definitely one of the greatest rock albums of all time from one of the greatest rock bands.
I'm looking forward to hearing the remixed versions of the Ten Tracks, Not sure why Even Flow has been left out of the remixes, after all on the 2000 live touring band DVD it's done better than ever.
No Best of album ever has every track that fan wants but this is so close, fans will miss the likes of: Brian of J, No way, Greendisease, Smile, the before mentioned Thin Air, Insignificance and Indifference, if your fan of music in general or a fan of Pearl Jam you will love the craftmanship of this compilation regardless. The selection is obviously going to be debated, but I don't think there has been a better album than this since before I can remember. I think Pearl Jam cast off the label of Grunge by the end of Vitalogy if not sooner, this is just great musicianship displayed in a broad spectrum of styles that ultimately falling into the category of rock. If your after intelligent lyrics, great guitar riff, soft melodies, "face-melting solo's" and the greatest Rock vocals since Paul Rodgers this is where you'll find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What more can you ask?, 25 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Rearview Mirror: The Best of Pearl Jam (Audio CD)
OK. SO I bought this album, as an "introduction" to Pearl Jam, to see what I've been missing. It arrived, just as I was leaving for work, juat 2 days after I'd placed my order. I eagerly unwrapped it and put CD1 into my cars' radio. IT HASN'T COME OUT SINCE! Apart from, now and then, swapping between CD1 and CD2! If you're not sure as to whether or not to start buying Pearl Jam albums, buy this one. And buy it from Amazon, as it's half the price of the HMV alternative. The Lord said, "Let there be Rock" and the answer, for a newbie, is Pearl Jam! I shall be buying more albums, by this band, from Amazon.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock Classic, 3 Oct. 2010
Great album and a great introduction to a wide range of their songs. One of the most consistently good bands to still be around from the 90's rock scene. As Ten is one of my favourite albums of all time, and Yield (another great album) was the only other Pearl Jam album I owned, I down loaded this to give me a good grounding in their other work. Its a great purchase and I will go on to buy other Pearl Jam albums, as I now know which albums contain my favourite songs from this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sums Up This Remarkable Band., 10 May 2006
By 
D. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rearview Mirror: The Best of Pearl Jam (Audio CD)
I Remember First seeing Pearl Jam Perform 'Alive' almost ten years ago on the BBC and it just shows how ****in good they are when they are still going strong today with the Ten club Rockin' Behind em. Pearl Jam are my favourite band and I love this album to pieces. Ok, It may not have some of there greater songs on it ( All those yesterdays and Green Disease, in my opinion) But It makes up for it with Tunes like 'state of Love And Trust', Previously only on a B Side.

If you are hearing 'World Wide Suicide' on the radio and tv, I urge you to look into this album and find out for yourself why this album is one of my favourite greatest Hits.

Every Single song, on both the upside disc and downside disc is amazing ( Especially Rearviewmirror, Do the Evolution, Betterman and the legendary Yellow Ledbetter)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good gift for people who doesn't know PJ music, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rearview Mirror: The Best of Pearl Jam (Audio CD)
Great album for Pearl Jam fans who doesn't have PJ albuns. Very good choice of songs. Ideal gift for everyone who like this type of music,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rearview Mirror: The Best of Pearl Jam
Rearview Mirror: The Best of Pearl Jam by Pearl Jam (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews