Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good documentary, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Don Dollock (Hants. England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Choke [DVD] (DVD)
Choke is an account of Rickson Gracie's rise to stardom in Japan during the second Vale tudo Japan tournament. He arives at the tournament as the reigning champion from the previous year and Choke delivers an insiders point of view of what happened. There are interviews and footage of family members including the late Helio Gracie (Rickson's father and pioneer of Gracie jiu-jitsu)regarding training and ability of the undefeated champion. This film is not in the same tone of "The smashing machine",which envokes an emotional link with the fighter. Choke is just a behind the scenes look at what happened in the build up and at the time of Rickson's peak in MMA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rickson - BJJ icon, 30 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choke [DVD] (DVD)
I'm an experienced martial artist (20yr+ karate) who's recently taken up BJJ. I first saw Choke on VHS format a few years ago, and was mesmerised by Rickson's skills and attitude. This guy was (and still is) a real warrior.

There are a lot of MMA/UFC/Vale Tudo products out there now, but - for me - this gives a unique insight into Rickson's psychology and performance. The thing that sets him apart from his brothers (for me) is his strength and striking, which obviously are coupled with amazing technical skills. He hits with real venom, and his striking is a major threat that sets up decisive and relentless finishes, usually by rear naked choke. The quality of the opposition is obviously below what's around today in terms of well rounded fighters that train to grapple and strike, but the Japanese Shoot & Jiu Jitsu fighters are good (though I was annoyed to see Yamamoto hanging on to the rope to avoid being taken down & dragged to the centre of the ring, and him ALMOST getting a guillotine on)

I'd love to see Rickson (in his prime) competing today...think he'd still dominate. I've also watched Renzo's 'Legacy' DVD, which is fantastic too...but Rickson's conditioning is far superior and his striking a lot more decisive. Excellent product if you're a BJJ or MMA fan, strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 7 Oct 2008
This review is from: Choke [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic insight to the world of MMA and Vale Tudo.

Its a well filmed documentary that caters for both the martial artist and the average joe.

I watched it with my wife who generally detests anything to do with martial arts (thats my fault because of my 'un'healthy obsession with training and going to fights!) and she enjoyed it!

So, martial artist or not, get a copy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must have dvd, 27 May 2014
This review is from: Choke [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent dvd. Loved it watched it over and over again. Rickson is a legend buy it for your collection if your a ju jitsu fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Living Legend, 23 Dec 2013
This review is from: Choke [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic movie. I got this on recommendation as I was think of taking up BBJ. I was not dissapponted. A great insight into a great family and a great man!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good documentary on Rickson Gracie, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choke [DVD] (DVD)
Very nicely done . Rickson Gracie is obviously very very good at what he does . Nice to see some of his workout techniques .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch, 1 Aug 2013
This review is from: Choke [DVD] (DVD)
I can't really add anything that hasn't already been said. This is an excellent behind-the-scenes 'documentary' featuring arguably the greatest one-on-one fighter of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great documentary, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choke [DVD] (DVD)
This documentary will appeal to fans and non-fans of mma alike. Great footage of the fights, interviews with the participants, and the ongoings backstage to keep everyone entertained.

*Spoiler Alert*

Most people who purchase this probably know who the eventual winner of the tournament was. I thought it was interesting paralleling Todd Hays and Yuki Nakai. Hays basically retired from a shoulder injury when he knew he was going to be fighting Rickson in the next round, it seemed though that he was willing to fight Rickson's opponent Yoshihisa Yamamoto in the next round, had he beaten Rickson. Compare that with Yuki Nakai who fought Rickson in the final, even though he had a very bad eye injury and had already been through two gruelling fights with much bigger opponents.

Great documentary well worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choke [DVD] (DVD)
If you love BJJ or fighting, you will appreciate this DVD, Rickson is one in a million a true warrior and it's a great look into his life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 13 Nov 2012
This review is from: Choke [DVD] (DVD)
absoloutly excellent film! watched this for years and always watch it often. would recommend to anyone with a slight interest in martial arts or just looking to learn from a master!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Choke [DVD]
Choke [DVD] by Robert Goodman (DVD - 2004)
5.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews