Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
54
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2005
Adapting to the post-punk experimentalism of the early 1980s with genuine intelligence and enthusiasm, Discipline remains one of King Crimson's definitive statements.
Although containing elements of the avant-funk of Talking Heads, the ethnic grooves of Peter Gabriel and the constantly shifting Minimalist rhythms of Steve Reich, this frequently thrilling and complex album ultimately bears the unique imprint of the four highly individual and talented musicians at the heart of this 'Rock Gamelan' creation.
A clean and uncluttered production allows the band's power and articulate spikiness to shine through unfettered, while Fripp and Belew's guitar playing is undeniably dazzling, yet never remotely exhibitionist.
The gloriously unexpected lyricism of 'The Sheltering Sky' provides a hypnotic and mellow contrast to the rest of the album's inspired austerity, and alongside the relentless New Wave Prog Minimalist assault of 'Frame by Frame' provides my favourite moments on this extremely consistent, almost flawless, album.
A new sound then and still an influential one.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2006
I had been talking to a friend, in the early 1980s, about bands and music we liked. He was a big King Crimson fan and recommended Starless and Bible Black and Red which I really liked when I heard them and I started to listen to other KC stuff. Then I read about a new Robert Fripp project with Bill Bruford, Adrian Belew, and Tony Levin. I was really into music that all of these people had been involved with prior to this so I was excited. When I heard that Fripp had decided that this new band represented a new King Crimson I had mixed feelings. On the one hand I thought brilliant a new version of this fantastic music but on the other I was worried that it would not live up to expectations.

I needn't have worried, this was everything I hoped it would be and more. I know that Fripp was a bit concerned that Belew's lyrical stylings and vocal delivery had become a bit too influenced by David Byrne's in places but Belew had been evrywhere from Talking Heads/Tom Tom Clube via Zappa and Bowie around this time so it was unsurprising that he picked up some influences along the way. From the opening bars of Elephant Talk this is just a fantasic rock album, and the people would get all shirty about prog rock should just get out more. The moaning of the punks who still go on and on and on and on........ about how prog rock went on.... (you get the picture) are more boring than the longest of gutar/keyboard noodlings/ drum solos I have every heard.

This album does none of that though it just delivers.

The follow up Beat was equally as good with the third installment, Three of a Perfect Pair, nearly hitting the mark but not quite (a four rather than five star effort)

The next reawakening of the Crimson Dinosaur, Thrak, where the entire KC history is distilled into one album. If you want to hear more after this these are the places to go.
33 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2011
Please note these comments refer exclusively to the new CD re-master.

I was somewhat worried that 'Discipline' - one of my all-time favourite KC albums along with 'LTIA' (my all-time favourite), 'Red', 'Lizard', 'ITCOTCK', 'TCOL' & 'TPTB' - might have been spoiled by the so-called loudness wars influence that has sadly affected so many recordings these days ever since the iPod/mp3 revolution. I do have an mp3 player, BTW, which I happen to use quite a lot, loaded mostly with AAC VBR 192 kbps files.

What a relief to hear there's been some serious care taken to truly improve the sonics of this fine album. It seems as if a (not so thin) veil had been lifted from it. I actually thought the 30th Anniversary edition of 'Discipline' was quite good sonically (compared to previous editions), but this latest re-master is a real breath of fresh air.

The album sounds more organic, spacious, real, ie it is less 'clinical' and 'distant', yet it does not fall into the trappings of the let's-make-it-all-loud-and-very-clear-and-enhance-high-frequencies-to-satisfy-portable-playback tendency.

This 40th Anniversary edition is a must-have for those who value this remarkable album. I'm sure the extras are worth it and the 5.1 version of the album is very likely very well crafted, too. I was, however, particularly looking forward to the new stereo re-master, and this does not disappoint.

It is clear that both Robert Fripp & Steven Wilson have approached this project with the utmost respect and dedication as they have with previous the 40th Anniversary editions.

Been waiting patiently for the 40th Anniversary edition of LTIA, the jewel in the crown, in my opinion, of the whole KC catalogue.

Unfortunately, it seems the only album that will not be re-mastered this time round is 'The ConstruKction of Light'. If this turns out to be the case, it's a shame as 'TCOL' is a rather peculiar album which is terribly underrated. 'TCOL', in my view, does need to be 'improved' sonically - it is a gem of an album: raw, intense, powerful and, to some extent, fairly 'naive'.
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2001
Discipline is the first of the trilogy of red, blue and yellow albums by the newly-reformed (at the time) King Crimson. It is probably the most satisfying also. Fripp split the power-rock combo at the height of its success in the early 'seventies and the new line-up introduced two americans, Adrian Belew and Tony Levin. The music changed accordingly. Originally the band was to be called Discipline but reverted back to Crimson after some initial gigs. The album itself features 7 solid tracks. Elephant Talk kicks proceedings off with Belew's clever but simple lyrics of alternative words from the dictionary for "talk". Frame by Frame is next featuring the new duelling guitars of Fripp and Belew in an intricate time signature. A romantic Matte Kudasai follows, slow and atmospheric with whirling bird sounds from the guitar. Indiscipline is THE classic Crimson track building from a slow quiet sense of security into the trademark devil's music. Thela Hun Ginjeet or (Heat in the Jungle)is a fast rocking industrial piece, and the pace slows again with The Sheltering Sky. This shows Bill Bruford's box tapping skills to the fore and also Belew's incredible guitar effects. Discipline closes proceedings, hinting back to Indiscipline earlier and contrasting the piece. All in all an album that should be in everybody's collection and a strong return for the Crimson King.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
Discipline was one of those albums that I loved. But I forgot I loved it. It was always overlooked when choosing which KC album to play.
So when the 40th Anniversary remaster was being made with Steven Wilson on the mixing desk I knew were were in for a treat. He had done wonders for 'Red' and the others so far issued.
I ordered this together with 'Starless and Bible Black', a classic in my book. So when they arrived I played them with open ears and anticipation.
You will not be disappointed. The Wilson ears and hand have worked a miracle on Discipline. Like the previous reviewer says it's like a veil has been lifted. To my ears the bottom end, Levin's bass and Bruford's batterie, have been given a power and authority that previous editions lacked. I think the technical phrase is 'umph'. The guitar work is clear and to listen to Fripp and Belew interlocking guitar lines is a marvel to behold.
The album truly is aural knitting at its best. That makes it sound analytical and cold. It's not. It is a warm, funny, exotic and powerful album and all the more so for Wilson's remix.
Plenty of bonus material on the DVD part to keep any Crimso drooling too.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2006
King Crimson's first album after the reunion - a fascinating work influenced by Talking Heads and Minimal Music. But for me, this disc is also noteworthy for containing one of the greatest pieces of music ever written: The hypnotic "The Sheltering Sky", a much more fascinating and congenial hommage to Paul Bowles than The Police's "Tea in the Sahara". This track alone is worth the whole disc!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
King Crimson's `Discipline' was one of the ground-breaking albums of the 1980s. Robert Fripp for the first time brought in two fine young American musicians, Adrian Belew and Tony Levin, to join him and veteran KC drummer Bill Bruford in a reconstituted and for the first time guitar-dominated foursome.

The result is by turns mellow and energetic; complex, interesting and fun, it sounds nothing like the work of KC's previous incarnations. If you like the music of Talking Heads from the same period, you'll likely warm to it immediately. Lead vocalist Adrian Belew (you can't always describe what he does here with his voice as technically `singing') actually sounds like David Byrne in several places. Multiple guitar interplay weaves over inventive rhythms to form joyful conversations. It's more or less instantly accessible, as good on first hearing as on the hundredth.

On the 2011 remix, Steven Wilson and Robert Fripp again teach less skilled music producers the art of masterful remastering. The DVD is the star, featuring the album on MLP Lossless 5.1 surround & DTS 5.1 digital, and MLP Lossless & PCM stereo. The video content features performances of `Elephant Talk', `Frame by Frame' and `Indiscipline' from 2 different sessions for the BBC's Old Grey Whistle Test. Both the CD and the DVD feature extra tracks not on the original 1981 album release: `A selection of Adrian's vocal loops' and some new Steven Wilson mixes of `The Sheltering Sky' & `Thela Hun Ginjeet'.

Even if you have an earlier release of this album, the sound mix on the 2011 package is so exemplary that it's worth buying as well. If you don't have this truly great album in your collection, this is the one to go for.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2011
So says Adrian. I do remember one thing from the early 80s when this album came out; I remember thinking, God I've never heard music like this before. Well that was 30 years ago and it still sounds absolutely brilliant. Superb musicians - really superb - and brilliant song-writing: 7 tracks all completely different and not a duff moment at all.

There's a reviewer on here who gave this one star because it sounds like Talking Heads. Well, yes: Remain in Light and Discipline go together as the two albums that went furthest in bringing disparate genres together (rap, dance, post-punk, african, rock, techno). Discipline and Remain in Light are two of the best pop/rock albums ever made.

If you've not heard this album you're really lucky - a bit like if you've not read the Brothers Karamazov, eaten Gloucester Old Spot pork or been to Munich. A very big treat awaits you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2011
If you have DVDA capable equipment then buy this DVDA,excellent lossless 5.1 surround sound mix.Additional 5.1 DTS mix, 2.0 (stereo)lossless mix and LPCM 2.0 stereo mix,plus DVD footage from The Old Grey Whistle Test (3 tracks)There is also a 2011 remaster stereo mix CD,so something for everyone.Lossless mixes are 96/24 all others 48/24.Hope they do a Thrak conversion!!
Enjoy!!
UPDATE!!!!
Had this a few days now,have yet to remove it from my Oppo universal player,the 5.1 lossless mix is really good!!
NOTE;For anyone who does not know or is unsure the lossless mixes can only be played on a DVD Audio player(DVDA)
ALL other content will play on a standard DVD player,the CD will play on CD player.Just thought to make that clear,not out to insult anyone's intelligence.
Enjoy :)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
Steven Wilson's DTS mix is hugely complimentary.
Its as if Chapman Stick was designed for 5.1. The opening notes of Elephant Talk just flood the room.

It's not the most accessible KC album, my Wife didn't like it but she likes West Life so her opinion is useless.
I liked this incarnation of KC and saw them on the Discipline tour in Guildford in the early 80s so I am a fan anyway, but you should buy this despite my obvious bias.

The SW/Fripp 40th Anniversary edition of Red is also excellent. I'm putting In the Court of the Crimson King on my shopping list.

And if this review ever gets Steven Wilson's attention: please could you talk with Chris Squire and do DTS mixes of Fragile, Close to the Edge, Tales from Topographic Oceans, Going for the One and Relayer. Nobody mixes DTS like you. I have all the PT albums in DVD-A and prefer them to vinyl/CD.

(BTW, Crimson King is a cider apple. I only found that out this week).
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)