Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
Please note these comments refer exclusively to the new CD re-master.

I was somewhat worried that 'Discipline' - one of my all-time favourite KC albums along with 'LTIA' (my all-time favourite), 'Red', 'Lizard', 'ITCOTCK', 'TCOL' & 'TPTB' - might have been spoiled by the so-called loudness wars influence that has sadly affected so many recordings these days...
Published on 10 Oct. 2011 by A music enthusiast.

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a different crimson yet again
Strange album. Im a big crimson fan but they have always been a most frustrating band to me. I dont think theres ever been another band who can go from the sublime to the ordinary and back again within the space of one album. All their albums suffer from this malady - this one being a prime offender

As usual- there is at least one monstrous crimson song on here...
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 by The lone voice of reason


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must buy, 8 Nov. 2008
By 
This review is from: Discipline (Audio CD)
possibly the best cd i've heard in the last YEAR. you must buy it if you like music. beware, though, it's not for common people who like commercial music, only for freaks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars but much better quality sound, 4 July 2014
By 
Jager Pal (Ajka, Hungary) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I keep it in mind, but much better quality sound. Some bonus tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Listeners should really look elsewhere..., 15 Oct. 2011
Of all the albums released under the name of King Crimson this is easily the most unoriginal. Albeit there is some very good musicianship on display and one very good track indeed in the form of "The Sheltering Sky" the rest is all too often, almost embarrassingly, in thrall to Talking Heads and listening to it again only reinforces this impression. In my opinion there are much, much better albums by this "band" (Robert Fripp being the only constant in their long history) and new listeners should look to: "Lizard", "Islands", "Red" or even "The Power to Believe" in the first instance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I don't have the discipline to enjoy this album, and I doubt many do, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discipline (Audio CD)
I can repeat the first part of my review from a different KC album:

I heard "Court of the Crimson King". I thought it was so sophisticated and clever that I bought a lot of other KC albums.

They're all pretty bad, and this one is no different. Most of it is unmemorable at best, and unlistenable at worst. I love progressive rock, but this is just progressive dreck. It may be exceptionally clever, but that doesn't make it music.

What you get with this is Robert Fripp demonstrating that he can play musical instruments. If that's what you want, great. Calling it music would be disingenuous.

There is one positive: it does make you look sophisticated if someone sees it in your music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Discipline CD, 4 Jun. 2011
By 
T. Wilkinson "commonwealth" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Discipline (Audio CD)
Arrived on time, in v. good condition. Alas, I failed to like it any more than I did all those years ago - despite my hopes to the contrary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars i don't even see why this is credited to king crimson, 4 May 2011
This review is from: Discipline (Audio CD)
this has about as much to do with king crimson as robbie williams or toyah wilcox. i know the lineup contains robert fripp and bill bruford but musically there is no connection. and quite frankly, the "music" is as tedious as anything put out by the insufferable talking heads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Discipline
Discipline by King Crimson (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews