Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
Please note these comments refer exclusively to the new CD re-master.

I was somewhat worried that 'Discipline' - one of my all-time favourite KC albums along with 'LTIA' (my all-time favourite), 'Red', 'Lizard', 'ITCOTCK', 'TCOL' & 'TPTB' - might have been spoiled by the so-called loudness wars influence that has sadly affected so many recordings these days...
Published on 10 Oct. 2011 by A music enthusiast.

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a different crimson yet again
Strange album. Im a big crimson fan but they have always been a most frustrating band to me. I dont think theres ever been another band who can go from the sublime to the ordinary and back again within the space of one album. All their albums suffer from this malady - this one being a prime offender

As usual- there is at least one monstrous crimson song on here...
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 by The lone voice of reason


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 10 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Please note these comments refer exclusively to the new CD re-master.

I was somewhat worried that 'Discipline' - one of my all-time favourite KC albums along with 'LTIA' (my all-time favourite), 'Red', 'Lizard', 'ITCOTCK', 'TCOL' & 'TPTB' - might have been spoiled by the so-called loudness wars influence that has sadly affected so many recordings these days ever since the iPod/mp3 revolution. I do have an mp3 player, BTW, which I happen to use quite a lot, loaded mostly with AAC VBR 192 kbps files.

What a relief to hear there's been some serious care taken to truly improve the sonics of this fine album. It seems as if a (not so thin) veil had been lifted from it. I actually thought the 30th Anniversary edition of 'Discipline' was quite good sonically (compared to previous editions), but this latest re-master is a real breath of fresh air.

The album sounds more organic, spacious, real, ie it is less 'clinical' and 'distant', yet it does not fall into the trappings of the let's-make-it-all-loud-and-very-clear-and-enhance-high-frequencies-to-satisfy-portable-playback tendency.

This 40th Anniversary edition is a must-have for those who value this remarkable album. I'm sure the extras are worth it and the 5.1 version of the album is very likely very well crafted, too. I was, however, particularly looking forward to the new stereo re-master, and this does not disappoint.

It is clear that both Robert Fripp & Steven Wilson have approached this project with the utmost respect and dedication as they have with previous the 40th Anniversary editions.

Been waiting patiently for the 40th Anniversary edition of LTIA, the jewel in the crown, in my opinion, of the whole KC catalogue.

Unfortunately, it seems the only album that will not be re-mastered this time round is 'The ConstruKction of Light'. If this turns out to be the case, it's a shame as 'TCOL' is a rather peculiar album which is terribly underrated. 'TCOL', in my view, does need to be 'improved' sonically - it is a gem of an album: raw, intense, powerful and, to some extent, fairly 'naive'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Sound For A New Age, 18 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Discipline (Audio CD)
Adapting to the post-punk experimentalism of the early 1980s with genuine intelligence and enthusiasm, Discipline remains one of King Crimson's definitive statements.
Although containing elements of the avant-funk of Talking Heads, the ethnic grooves of Peter Gabriel and the constantly shifting Minimalist rhythms of Steve Reich, this frequently thrilling and complex album ultimately bears the unique imprint of the four highly individual and talented musicians at the heart of this 'Rock Gamelan' creation.
A clean and uncluttered production allows the band's power and articulate spikiness to shine through unfettered, while Fripp and Belew's guitar playing is undeniably dazzling, yet never remotely exhibitionist.
The gloriously unexpected lyricism of 'The Sheltering Sky' provides a hypnotic and mellow contrast to the rest of the album's inspired austerity, and alongside the relentless New Wave Prog Minimalist assault of 'Frame by Frame' provides my favourite moments on this extremely consistent, almost flawless, album.
A new sound then and still an influential one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First of an Almost Perfect Trio, 4 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Discipline (Audio CD)
I had been talking to a friend, in the early 1980s, about bands and music we liked. He was a big King Crimson fan and recommended Starless and Bible Black and Red which I really liked when I heard them and I started to listen to other KC stuff. Then I read about a new Robert Fripp project with Bill Bruford, Adrian Belew, and Tony Levin. I was really into music that all of these people had been involved with prior to this so I was excited. When I heard that Fripp had decided that this new band represented a new King Crimson I had mixed feelings. On the one hand I thought brilliant a new version of this fantastic music but on the other I was worried that it would not live up to expectations.

I needn't have worried, this was everything I hoped it would be and more. I know that Fripp was a bit concerned that Belew's lyrical stylings and vocal delivery had become a bit too influenced by David Byrne's in places but Belew had been evrywhere from Talking Heads/Tom Tom Clube via Zappa and Bowie around this time so it was unsurprising that he picked up some influences along the way. From the opening bars of Elephant Talk this is just a fantasic rock album, and the people would get all shirty about prog rock should just get out more. The moaning of the punks who still go on and on and on and on........ about how prog rock went on.... (you get the picture) are more boring than the longest of gutar/keyboard noodlings/ drum solos I have every heard.

This album does none of that though it just delivers.

The follow up Beat was equally as good with the third installment, Three of a Perfect Pair, nearly hitting the mark but not quite (a four rather than five star effort)

The next reawakening of the Crimson Dinosaur, Thrak, where the entire KC history is distilled into one album. If you want to hear more after this these are the places to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Crims, 11 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
Discipline is the first of the trilogy of red, blue and yellow albums by the newly-reformed (at the time) King Crimson. It is probably the most satisfying also. Fripp split the power-rock combo at the height of its success in the early 'seventies and the new line-up introduced two americans, Adrian Belew and Tony Levin. The music changed accordingly. Originally the band was to be called Discipline but reverted back to Crimson after some initial gigs. The album itself features 7 solid tracks. Elephant Talk kicks proceedings off with Belew's clever but simple lyrics of alternative words from the dictionary for "talk". Frame by Frame is next featuring the new duelling guitars of Fripp and Belew in an intricate time signature. A romantic Matte Kudasai follows, slow and atmospheric with whirling bird sounds from the guitar. Indiscipline is THE classic Crimson track building from a slow quiet sense of security into the trademark devil's music. Thela Hun Ginjeet or (Heat in the Jungle)is a fast rocking industrial piece, and the pace slows again with The Sheltering Sky. This shows Bill Bruford's box tapping skills to the fore and also Belew's incredible guitar effects. Discipline closes proceedings, hinting back to Indiscipline earlier and contrasting the piece. All in all an album that should be in everybody's collection and a strong return for the Crimson King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album bodly goes..... to a dangerous place!, 20 Feb. 2000
By 
S. Loft "slime57" (Madrid) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Discipline (Audio CD)
Having got this far you can congratulate yourself on your excellent taste. You've done the difficult bit finding this CD. Now buy it. You won't want a complete history of the 30 years, and continuing, of King Crimson - see "The Rough Guide to Rock" - but a little background won't hurt. Robert Fripp is the only ever-present member of King Crimson. Between 1969 and 1974 they released seven sudio LPs, but then split for seven years. In 1981, Fripp recalled the drummer, Bill Bruford, from the line-up that made the excellent Red, and introduced not only Adrian Belew who had previously played guitar with Frank Zappa and Talking Heads, but also Tony Levin, who brought his considerable reputation, his weird "stick" guitar and his bass. Levin's mere (stage) presence meant that this band was likely to be special, even before he had played an idiosyncratic note. Fripp had never included another guitarist in Crimson, nor any Americans; now there were two. It is worth mentioning that Red has a preominantly black cover, whilst....see above. This is typical. Although the writing credits go to King Crimson, it seems likely that Fripp had already envisaged the overall sound on Discipline even before anything was formally written. No other combination of musicians could have come up with anything like this, for whilst the songs differ in tempo and purpose, there is a unifying sound which unfortunately is almost impossible to describe. This is not a case of 4 amazingly talented musicians trying to blow their colleagues off stage, or out of the studio. It's difficult to tell, apart from the percussion and the lead vocals, who is responsible for what, and this is made more difficult by the poineering use of the (Roland?) guitar synthesisers. The instruments intertwine like rapidly rotating cogs, the same phrases emerging, just slightly altered, with the result that the tunes seem to be going nowhere, except starting a nagging resonance from which there doesn't seem to be an easy escape. At times it's a cacophony, but one that has a plan. These are not, with the possible exception of Matte Kudasai, 'pop' songs, neither are they progressive, in the sense that they don't build up to thundering climaxes. They are something else, almost a new category, though I hesitate to use the term, more like soundscapes. Elephant Talk sets the tone, which is one of tension that runs throughout. Belew recites a list of synonyms for "talk" in alphabetical order, until he gets to "elephant talk" over a constantly bubbling backing. He gets closest to conventional singing on Frame by Frame - these two tracks could easily run into each other. On Matte Kudasai I'm reminded of lying in a hammock in The Far East, even though I've never done so. It's a brief interlude before the music starts to threaten again. Indiscipline must be about the madness that results from constant exposure to modern day pressure, and Thela Hut Ginjeet continues this theme, highlighted by Belew's nervous spoken passage. Both these tracks have their amusing moments, which serve to alleviate the overall threatening feel, and perhaps make them just bearable, although this is not, I repeat, easy listening. Sheltering Sky is calmer, the atmosphere could be pastoral African rather than the earlier references to Indonesia and the urban jungle. The lead instrument is probably guitar, although it sounds more like a saw! Finally there is Discipline, which is perhaps a typical Crimson instrumental, if there is such a thing, with a glance back to the band's earlier formations. At this stage Fripp had decided that a Larks Tongues in Aspic Part III would be one too many. Two albums later, on Three of A Perfect Pair, he'd changed his mind. Anyone seeking a more scholarly guide to the music on this album would do well to read the chapter on King Crimson IV in "Robert Fripp,From King Crimson to Guitar Craft", by Eric Tamm (faber&faber 1990). Of the three albums that this line-up made (Discipline, Beat, Three of a Perfect Pair) I have no doubt that this is by far the best. It's as though the band formed with the expressed purpose of making this album and then felt that they had a duty, to Fripp, their audience, or their bank managers, to make a couple more. King Crimson split again after the last of these, but re-emerged in 1994 with an augmented line-up that includes Pat Mastelotto and Trey Gunn who form what is effectively a second rhythm section. There is, as yet, only one studio release, Thrak, which has its moments, but whilst the 'extra' players complicate the sound, I'm not convinced that it actually needs it, and after all this time in the business, I suspect that Fripp may have already produced his best work, so that the twin peaks of Red and Discipline are unlikely to be scaled again. Thrak is merely a milder form of Discipline!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new direction for a musical chameleon., 15 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Discipline (Audio CD)
I've only recently become interested in King Crimson, and I have to say that their earlier albums, particularly 'Islands' and 'Lizard', are great. They made exciting prog-rock, and more importantly, it still sounds as good now as it probably did a good decade or so before I was born.

Because of this, I imagine die-hard fans were probably less than enthused by 'Discipline', which was almost King Crimson's attempt at a pop album, but I don't quite see why. You've got catchy dance tracks like 'Frame by Frame' and a really good ballad in the form of 'Matte kudasai'.
Yes, gone is the bizarre lyrical ramblings and almost never-ending guitar sections (which to be honest, does make their earlier stuff very entertaining), but here instead is a fresh, funky, kind of cool pop group.

This is a great album, and what followed was two more equally great pop albums. Give this a go, then give 'Three of a Perfect Pair' a spin. KC put most 80s pop groups to shame, and that's quite an achievement considering pop wasn't exactly their longsuit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I do remember one thing, 24 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discipline (Audio CD)
So says Adrian. I do remember one thing from the early 80s when this album came out; I remember thinking, God I've never heard music like this before. Well that was 30 years ago and it still sounds absolutely brilliant. Superb musicians - really superb - and brilliant song-writing: 7 tracks all completely different and not a duff moment at all.

There's a reviewer on here who gave this one star because it sounds like Talking Heads. Well, yes: Remain in Light and Discipline go together as the two albums that went furthest in bringing disparate genres together (rap, dance, post-punk, african, rock, techno). Discipline and Remain in Light are two of the best pop/rock albums ever made.

If you've not heard this album you're really lucky - a bit like if you've not read the Brothers Karamazov, eaten Gloucester Old Spot pork or been to Munich. A very big treat awaits you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aural Knitting, 12 Oct. 2011
By 
K. Eden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Discipline was one of those albums that I loved. But I forgot I loved it. It was always overlooked when choosing which KC album to play.
So when the 40th Anniversary remaster was being made with Steven Wilson on the mixing desk I knew were were in for a treat. He had done wonders for 'Red' and the others so far issued.
I ordered this together with 'Starless and Bible Black', a classic in my book. So when they arrived I played them with open ears and anticipation.
You will not be disappointed. The Wilson ears and hand have worked a miracle on Discipline. Like the previous reviewer says it's like a veil has been lifted. To my ears the bottom end, Levin's bass and Bruford's batterie, have been given a power and authority that previous editions lacked. I think the technical phrase is 'umph'. The guitar work is clear and to listen to Fripp and Belew interlocking guitar lines is a marvel to behold.
The album truly is aural knitting at its best. That makes it sound analytical and cold. It's not. It is a warm, funny, exotic and powerful album and all the more so for Wilson's remix.
Plenty of bonus material on the DVD part to keep any Crimso drooling too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Sheltering Sky" - one of the greatest pieces of music, 16 Sept. 2006
By 
chrisiulius (Seedorf, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Discipline (Audio CD)
King Crimson's first album after the reunion - a fascinating work influenced by Talking Heads and Minimal Music. But for me, this disc is also noteworthy for containing one of the greatest pieces of music ever written: The hypnotic "The Sheltering Sky", a much more fascinating and congenial hommage to Paul Bowles than The Police's "Tea in the Sahara". This track alone is worth the whole disc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably King Crimson's best work., 14 Mar. 2001
I was first introduced to King Crimson when this album was first released. I had heard of KC and saw them once on TV, but never really listened to them until I bought this one on vinyl. Since then, I have bought every album made by KC up to Thrak (which I haven't heard yet but will soon) and I still consider this one the best: taut; well-crafted; and very dark. It is by far their most consistent album. Most of the others have pieces I can "take or leave" interspersed with great prog. rock but this one is consistently good. It even has decent lyrical content, particularly Elephant Talk, something KC weren't exactly renowned for in their earlier works! Other albums belonging to the same period have their moments (try Neurotica, The Howler and Requiem from Beat! and Industry, Dig Me and No Warning from Three of a Perfect Pair) but this one is outstanding! I have to admit though, KC have never been easy listening and this one is no exception; not the easiest introduction to prog. rock! According to my late father "they sound like a demented cat!". Wonderful stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Discipline
Discipline by King Crimson (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews