Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
21
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2004
Right in time for the Christmas buying season the Rolling Stones release another live CD on the world. This time it is somewhat different - Side 1 are the "warhorses" that they must play at every show or the masses are upset. Side 2 is purported to be all songs never released before in live versions, which is not completely true because at least one, 'When the Whip Comes Down' was already on an official release ('Sucking in the Seventies') in a live version. Nevertheless, this album has a very guitar-oriented mix and the keyboards and background musicians play second-fiddle as they should to the Stones themselves. There have been complaints about the questionable editing done to some of the tunes ('Brown Sugar' loses at least 30 secs) while 'Rocks Off' has one of the worst edits ever released by the Stones (if you know the song at all you will immediately know what I mean). But the discs also have some very good performances. Witness 'Paint It Black' from last year's Twickenham show and 'Gimme Shelter' from the New York MSG show. They have emotion, pounding drums and slashing guitars enough for even the most jaded Stones fan. The songs on Side 2 are in the main excellent versions and indicate just how successful the Stones were in playing small theatres on the hugely lucrative Licks Tour. Buy this one for the casual Stones fan in your family or someone who indicated once they would like to have a live album from them - they will all be thankful.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2004
Having the excellent DVD set of the "live licks" tour I purchased this double cd with high expectations that it would be equal in sound quality and contain more "unissued live tracks" Whilst I was delighted that "Rock Me baby" "Monkey Man" "Worried about you" find a deserved place on this album, it is disappointing that "Let it Bleed" and "Love Train" have been omitted. Do we need another version of "Street Fighting Man" and "Satisfaction"? also some tracks seem to have suffered from bad editing (You can't always get what you want) The best of the set is on disc 2 "Neighbours" is a driving rocker, "Rock me baby" shows the Stones can handle the blues as good as ever and makes you wish that they would include more blues standards in their sets. "Can't you hear me knocking" does not seem the same version that is on the dvd, it is less polished and Ronnie Woods guitar solo is not so stunning as the dvd version. Keyboard player Chuck Leavell is outstanding as is Bass player Darryl Jones, The backing singers get better all the time and ever faithful Bobby Keys must rate as one of the great sax rock musicians. Although the sound quality could have been better it is an essential for collectors and those new to the Stones. I hope that the Stones next cd includes some more original material and hopefully a bit more blues.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2004
To be honest I was sceptical seeing the release of yet another live album. Due to my curiousity and the low price I finally did buy it (mind you- I did not get tracks all the extra tracks on DISC 2)and in all honesty- it's a fab live album. Satisfaction sounds very much up to date, Paint it Black rocks as ever, and I am very pleased to have a live version of Can't you hear me knocking. You won't regret the purchase of this cd!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2004
I've been a big Stones fan for a long time now and this latest complitaion of live tracks from their latest tour shows that the boys haven't lost their magic. There are some really great tracks on this album, as well as a couple of tracks that sound a little 'tired'. I recommend this to any Stones fan - a great addition to your collection.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2012
Over the years the Rolling Stones have proved themselves to be Rock's greatest survivors.
Of course their ultimate period was the late 196o's and early 1970's {same old story}, and some of their best songs from this Golden Age are well represented on this disc.
What left the greatest impression on me were tracks such as 'Can't you hear me knocking' where the band manage to blend hard rock with soul, resulting in an almost perfect Live fusion. Indeed, what stuck me most about this album is just how muck the influence of soul music is evident in many of the tracks on this album.

Other songs given first-rate Live treatment are 'Honky Tonk Women' 'Monkey Man' and
'Gimme Shelter'. The band also pay homage to their roots with an excellent rendition of
'Rock Me Baby'.

To sum up then, this disc is a must for any ardent Rock fans and great entertainment for
anyone who is addicted to great Live Roock recordings.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2004
So here we are again with another live Stones release- a double CD no less ! At least there is a fair amount of songs that haven't been released live before. Unfortunately quite a few songs have already appeared on "Flashpoint" in one form or another. The current songlist on the CD might be good for newer fans, but for older fans who already have "Flashpoint" & "No Security" we're starting to double up on songs. Unfortunately live gems such as "If You Can't Rock Me" & "Don't Stop" from the Madison Square Garden gig could've found a place on this CD. Although I love "Midnight Rambler" it would've been too long to put on the this set, and probably at the expense of an extra song.
Will I buy this CD ? Probably, but grudgingly. There is just barely enough in the way of "unrelaesed live" on here to convince me.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
This remaster sounds great which is not something you can say for all of the 2009 series. Raw Stones at their best taken from one of their best ever tours. CD 2 is particularly good, despite a couple of suspect edits! A worthy addition to the Stones' already-extensive live music canon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
STONES ON THEIR BEST ,RICHARDS AND WOOD EXQUISITE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2016
not very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
The product is good and they are great artists, a pleasure to listen to their songs recorded in the studio or live.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£28.77
£5.62
£6.99
£7.07

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)