Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live Licks ready to clean up for Christmas
Right in time for the Christmas buying season the Rolling Stones release another live CD on the world. This time it is somewhat different - Side 1 are the "warhorses" that they must play at every show or the masses are upset. Side 2 is purported to be all songs never released before in live versions, which is not completely true because at least one, 'When the Whip...
Published on 3 Nov 2004 by Ronald Blank

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Stones Live CD
So here we are again with another live Stones release- a double CD no less ! At least there is a fair amount of songs that haven't been released live before. Unfortunately quite a few songs have already appeared on "Flashpoint" in one form or another. The current songlist on the CD might be good for newer fans, but for older fans who already have "Flashpoint" & "No...
Published on 1 Nov 2004 by G. A. CLEMENT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live Licks ready to clean up for Christmas, 3 Nov 2004
By 
Ronald Blank (Smiths Falls, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Right in time for the Christmas buying season the Rolling Stones release another live CD on the world. This time it is somewhat different - Side 1 are the "warhorses" that they must play at every show or the masses are upset. Side 2 is purported to be all songs never released before in live versions, which is not completely true because at least one, 'When the Whip Comes Down' was already on an official release ('Sucking in the Seventies') in a live version. Nevertheless, this album has a very guitar-oriented mix and the keyboards and background musicians play second-fiddle as they should to the Stones themselves. There have been complaints about the questionable editing done to some of the tunes ('Brown Sugar' loses at least 30 secs) while 'Rocks Off' has one of the worst edits ever released by the Stones (if you know the song at all you will immediately know what I mean). But the discs also have some very good performances. Witness 'Paint It Black' from last year's Twickenham show and 'Gimme Shelter' from the New York MSG show. They have emotion, pounding drums and slashing guitars enough for even the most jaded Stones fan. The songs on Side 2 are in the main excellent versions and indicate just how successful the Stones were in playing small theatres on the hugely lucrative Licks Tour. Buy this one for the casual Stones fan in your family or someone who indicated once they would like to have a live album from them - they will all be thankful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great in parts, 16 Nov 2004
By 
Richard (Axminster, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Having the excellent DVD set of the "live licks" tour I purchased this double cd with high expectations that it would be equal in sound quality and contain more "unissued live tracks" Whilst I was delighted that "Rock Me baby" "Monkey Man" "Worried about you" find a deserved place on this album, it is disappointing that "Let it Bleed" and "Love Train" have been omitted. Do we need another version of "Street Fighting Man" and "Satisfaction"? also some tracks seem to have suffered from bad editing (You can't always get what you want) The best of the set is on disc 2 "Neighbours" is a driving rocker, "Rock me baby" shows the Stones can handle the blues as good as ever and makes you wish that they would include more blues standards in their sets. "Can't you hear me knocking" does not seem the same version that is on the dvd, it is less polished and Ronnie Woods guitar solo is not so stunning as the dvd version. Keyboard player Chuck Leavell is outstanding as is Bass player Darryl Jones, The backing singers get better all the time and ever faithful Bobby Keys must rate as one of the great sax rock musicians. Although the sound quality could have been better it is an essential for collectors and those new to the Stones. I hope that the Stones next cd includes some more original material and hopefully a bit more blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most underrated band of this time?, 3 Dec 2004
To be honest I was sceptical seeing the release of yet another live album. Due to my curiousity and the low price I finally did buy it (mind you- I did not get tracks all the extra tracks on DISC 2)and in all honesty- it's a fab live album. Satisfaction sounds very much up to date, Paint it Black rocks as ever, and I am very pleased to have a live version of Can't you hear me knocking. You won't regret the purchase of this cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Latest Stones album still shows their quality, 2 Nov 2004
By 
I've been a big Stones fan for a long time now and this latest complitaion of live tracks from their latest tour shows that the boys haven't lost their magic. There are some really great tracks on this album, as well as a couple of tracks that sound a little 'tired'. I recommend this to any Stones fan - a great addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not only Rock and Roll, But Plenty of Soul as well, 28 Mar 2012
This review is from: Live Licks (Audio CD)
Over the years the Rolling Stones have proved themselves to be Rock's greatest survivors.
Of course their ultimate period was the late 196o's and early 1970's {same old story}, and some of their best songs from this Golden Age are well represented on this disc.
What left the greatest impression on me were tracks such as 'Can't you hear me knocking' where the band manage to blend hard rock with soul, resulting in an almost perfect Live fusion. Indeed, what stuck me most about this album is just how muck the influence of soul music is evident in many of the tracks on this album.

Other songs given first-rate Live treatment are 'Honky Tonk Women' 'Monkey Man' and
'Gimme Shelter'. The band also pay homage to their roots with an excellent rendition of
'Rock Me Baby'.

To sum up then, this disc is a must for any ardent Rock fans and great entertainment for
anyone who is addicted to great Live Roock recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Stones Live CD, 1 Nov 2004
By 
G. A. CLEMENT (Dunedin, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So here we are again with another live Stones release- a double CD no less ! At least there is a fair amount of songs that haven't been released live before. Unfortunately quite a few songs have already appeared on "Flashpoint" in one form or another. The current songlist on the CD might be good for newer fans, but for older fans who already have "Flashpoint" & "No Security" we're starting to double up on songs. Unfortunately live gems such as "If You Can't Rock Me" & "Don't Stop" from the Madison Square Garden gig could've found a place on this CD. Although I love "Midnight Rambler" it would've been too long to put on the this set, and probably at the expense of an extra song.
Will I buy this CD ? Probably, but grudgingly. There is just barely enough in the way of "unrelaesed live" on here to convince me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miki69, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Licks [Clean Sleeve] (Audio CD)
The product is good and they are great artists, a pleasure to listen to their songs recorded in the studio or live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best live Rock'n Roll band doing what they do best, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Licks (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album and a must for anyone who likes the Stones. I was very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some great stuff on this...., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Licks (Audio CD)
This remaster sounds great which is not something you can say for all of the 2009 series. Raw Stones at their best taken from one of their best ever tours. CD 2 is particularly good, despite a couple of suspect edits! A worthy addition to the Stones' already-extensive live music canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Licks (Audio CD)
Great Album Delivery good! will buy off them again if needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live Licks [Clean Sleeve]
Live Licks [Clean Sleeve] by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews