Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2005
If you reject live albums because you already have the studio tracks, think differently. In the most important sense these are new songs in that Lucinda Williams and the band are playing them as they feel at that moment of performance. Listen to Essence and the mix of eroticism and sheer menace and then the studio version - you need both. This album is so compelling that you should seriously abuse anyone who says "At least it proves they can perform live". Incidently the quality of recording and the sensible suppression of audience noise is perfect.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2005
The Lady is usually listed in the country music section, but on this live album she sounds like a cross between Sheryl Crow and Janis Joplin, and you would swear Neil Young was playing guitar on most tracks. Its hard to pick out a highlight, as the whole album is brilliant, but "overtime" is a favourite.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2006
Someone recommended this to me so I read these reviews and bought it on spec. I have to say I agree with most people. This is a terrific album that really grows on you. The style sits on the edge of the country music genre where it meets Neil Young and Crazy Horse. I love the guitar work and the guts of the live band. It has become one of my favourite CD's in a very large collection.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2005
Brilliantly atmospheric live album. This is rock'nroll with blood, guts and whatever other parts of the anatomy are involved. Everyone is so tight they are playing as one, it is Lucinda's name on the sleeve but it is a united band performing. There is no need for comparison with other bands no matter what the sticker on the front of the CD says. This band ROARS as it certainly can't be called rolling!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2005
A large claim, and possibly not a testable one - but an immense achievement nonetheless. Teh best tracks culled from three great nights at the Fillmore - a heavy representation from World Without Tears, which may now be revealed as the richest Lucinda studio album, not a duff track or dull moment anywhere, no filler or extraneous audience noise and some of the most searching music, searing vocals and superb singing you will hear this year - unless, of coure, you are lucky enough to catch Lucinda at Cambidge or on one of her UK dates later this year. And all for the laughable sum of £9.99. Buy it - now. Six stars.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Stumbled on Lucinda Williams only recently, and heard her music through some friends of ours who are keen country/folk listeners. This made me get two of her Albums and then this live one, I have to say it is well worth the purchase, easy on the mind and well played by her backing band and of coarse her sublime voice which is quite special on all the album. Not a bad song on this double CD. If you are a Lucinda Williams fan and don't own it I recommend you buy it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
This is stunningly good. Lucinda is like a train and yet sensitive.Her voice and songs are raw, beautiful and real. No hiding from bad things. Lucinda's band are top notch in all respects, the guitarist particularly so-dirty sound yet lovely when needed. Wow!!! Buy!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
Fabulous live album full of grit, vigour and bile. Production excellent without losing anything of the live feel. Buy this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
Excellent album, promptly delivered, very good price, Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
Everything lived up to my hopes and expectations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.08

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)