Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Final Roundup
There has been much lamenting about the fact that the transfer of the final season of LIS is less sharp then hoped for - and, in truth, this IS the case with this set. Certain of the episodes are a bit more blurred than we'd hoped for. However, if you first saw these stories during their initial run in the late sixties, I don't think you'll find too much to grumble about...
Published on 10 Aug 2005

versus
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eccellent Stories spoilt by poor Picture Quality
I am about half way through this third season and have found the stories,performances and production values are as good if not better than the two previous sets ..in other words this third season is great !....but the bad news and the reason I havent given this set the 5 stars it should have is that the picture is a bit below standard ..its not as good as the previous...
Published on 4 May 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Final Roundup, 10 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Lost In Space: Season 3 [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
There has been much lamenting about the fact that the transfer of the final season of LIS is less sharp then hoped for - and, in truth, this IS the case with this set. Certain of the episodes are a bit more blurred than we'd hoped for. However, if you first saw these stories during their initial run in the late sixties, I don't think you'll find too much to grumble about here.
Instead rejoice in the fact that after Season Two - (which was basically "Zachary's Space Camp") - the rest of the family occasionally get a look in, rather than than the ever-present trio of Dr Smith/Will (the always brilliant Billy Mumy) and the Robot.
More zany stories - including such delights as the celebrated "Great Vegetable Rebellion" - and outlandish nonsense, culminating in "The Promised Planet" - probably the first "hommage to hippy culture" of the 20th century.
A box of delights - that every spaced-out SF freak should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eccellent Stories spoilt by poor Picture Quality, 4 May 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In Space: Season 3 [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
I am about half way through this third season and have found the stories,performances and production values are as good if not better than the two previous sets ..in other words this third season is great !....but the bad news and the reason I havent given this set the 5 stars it should have is that the picture is a bit below standard ..its not as good as the previous sets ...frankly I think there has been a mistake made somewhere in the transfer to disc..the previous sets had that slighly soft focus effect you get with sixties stuff but this fault seems like a slight double image to everthing..middle shots are most affected ...close ups are more or less ok ..On the seventh story (I think ) ..the fault disappears for 10 or 15 minutes and the picture is glorious !...I dont want to put people off buying this great set just be aware that picture quality isnt quite as good as the two previous sets ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry poor film transfer for 3rd season episodes, 25 April 2005
By 
Joe Beedell (Southend On Sea, ESSEX United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lost In Space: Season 3 [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
I have been a fan of lis for over 30 years and have never seen such bad copies issued for dvd ever.
The 3rd season of this show is one of the best remembered for the opening titles with the new music by John Willams now I Know about the Television Transfers there are better copies around for the 3rd season of this show.
I must say that fox uk have tried their best but I could have done better the prints that are on this set are out of focus
and very soft on the eye it is not the film stock when the series was made it was on 35mm and as sharp as you can get.
I would advise fox to withdraw these copies and to reissue them with more care.
Lost In Space Will Be 40 years old this year
This set has been retailed at £49.99 in the high street

Joe Beedell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb SF Series!!, 20 Mar 2011
By 
Philip Roberts (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In Space: Season 3 [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
Not as good as the first season, this 3rd series is a big improvement over the less than brilliant 2nd season. Because the ratings had plummetted in the 2nd season, Irwin Allen radically redesigned the series for the 3rd season and the changes all work excellently. Unfortunately they did not get the ratings back up so this is the final season of Lost in Space. Certainly buy this superb series! This is in a set of 8 discs, with the disc containers stacked one on top of the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars picture quality, 31 Mar 2007
This review is from: Lost In Space: Season 3 [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
I had read previous reviews on the problems with picture quality on season 3 and to be honest they nearly put me off buying season 3. I am glad I chose to ignore them the quality is fine, not up today's standards but we are talking late 1960s, if you have enjoyed the first 2 seasons as i have you will love the third, i suggest you do the same as i did and judged for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillant, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In Space: Season 3 [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
how can you improve on perfection this is a excellant tv series highly recommended re run should be compulsery on these tv series.........a good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lost in space three, 27 July 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lost In Space: Season 3 [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
After two seasons of Lost in Space the crew of the Jupiter II are back for one last season. This series is really just more of the same of season two. There are no real new developments. So the stories are even more predictable, far-fetched and wacky. There is even an element of revisiting ideas from previous seasons. However as usual this is still great fun.

We had learned from season one that Lost in space is set in the year 1997 and as the world is over populated the Robinson Family had been sent on a mission to a planet in the Alpha Centauri system to plan for colonisation. The whole family had been suspended in deep sleep for their journey. But Dr Zachary Smith, who was a stowaway and saboteur on their spaceship The Jupiter II, had caused them to become lost in space and stranded on an alien planet.
The Family are father John Robinson, an astrophysicist, his wife Maureen who is a biochemist, children Judy, Penny and Will. Also on board is pilot Don West.

Series two and now series three concentrates more on the antics of its main character Dr Zachary Smith played brilliantly by Jonathan Harris. He has created a unique character that is rich in texture. He is devious but still likeable. He is farcical in an exaggerated Pantomime style.
The whole show is fun and cannot be taken seriously. It is not meant to be. Instead we get an entertaining show that can appeal to any generation.
As with all the seasons the aliens are generally not very convincing. And the special effects are not up to modern standards but it doesn't matter. What we get is fantasy and a place to unwind from the normal stresses of the real world.
Like other shows such as Batman from the same era, it is deliberately daft nonsense that is just pure escapism with light hearted colourful characters.

The entire cast is great. Jonathan Harris is genius as Smith. Guy Williams (John Robinson) has previously starred as swashbuckling hero Zorro and Angela Cartwright (Penny Robinson) has been one of the Von Trapp children in the Sound of Music. Billy Mumy (Will Robinson) was a child actor who is still a successful actor.
The show became an iconic cult show and a feature film remake was made in 1997 starring William Hurt as John Robinson, Gary Oldman as Smith and Matt LeBlanc as Don West.

Producer Irwin Allen also created three other slightly more straight science fiction series during the sixties. Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea, Land of the Giants and the Time Tunnel.

This third series of Lost in Space is in colour and the picture and sound are excellent and there are some reasonable extra features. It was the last of the seasons and I think it would not have been a good idea to do anymore. Season two was probably the best of the three but season three just continues the format and gets as much out of it as it can.
This is a very good box set of a classic fun science fiction series, which is neatly presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series marred by tatty source transfer, 29 April 2010
By 
James Hayes "JM Hayes" (Herts., UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In Space: Season 3 [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
'Lost In Space' returned for a third series with new opening titles, and with Dr Zachary Smith (Jonathan Harris) seemingly granted a licence to do his passive/aggressive bleating routine at every opportunity, which grates when episodes are viewed in succession. Notwithstanding, LIS Season 3 has some of LIS's most memorable episodes - and also some of its silliest. By this point LIS transformed from early-evening family viewing to what as basically juvenile fare. Plot points and scenarios recur throughout the series, and despite the humour LIS is capable of mustering-up some quite scarey moments. The cast play with conviction, though there is negligable character development. Aficionados will probably need no urging to buy, but for anyone unfamiliar with LIS, I'd recommend starting with Season 2. Partly, this is due to the much-mentioned issue of the picture quality of this DVD issue. It is definitely awry - just compare it to the excellent quality evident in Season 2, as well as the fact that similar complaints have been raised for the LIS Season 3 Region 1 release on Amazon.com.
A bad telecine transfer has been suggested, but I don't think that this is the cause of the faultiness. It looks like the DVDs have been cut from retrograde video copies of each episode, rather than mastered afresh from the original 35mm film copies. Curiously, I recall LIS fans voicing similar observations about picture quality when the complete LIS was broadcast on Channel 4 TV in the late 1980s: the difference in clarity and colour between the last episode of Season 2 and the first of Season 3 the following week, was marked. Presumably there's no question that the original films still exist; just 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment being too cheap to fund new transfers, or too unprofessional to bother. Another vintage classic poorly served by its DVD publishers? That, unhappily, does compute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off by previous reviewers, 24 July 2006
By 
T. Bregliano (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In Space: Season 3 [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
Ok the quality of the transfer might not be ideal but it did not disturb me one bit. In fact I did not notice much difference between the previous series and this one. Off course, I was taken away once more in the wacky world of LIS and I loved it.
No way I would be without this third series and if you have any nostalgia left in you and if you enjoyed the first two series, please do not hesitate and buy it now. You will not regret it.

By the time the third series was filmed, the producers and the whole team had given up completely any idea of realism and the whole thing is pure madness... A joy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun and campy , yet still a good wotch., 3 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost In Space: Season 3 [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
I always enjoyed this show ,even the really campy season 2 in which they are stuck on the same planet. That season was pure camp, this one is alot better as the crew takes off from the planet and actually travels around in space. There's some really good episodes in here and some totally camp ones. But this show is still a winner for little kids all the way. And for the big kids like me who enjoy the general fun atmosphere of the show. I can't recommend this for fans of serious sci fi but if you let your funnybone go wild you may just enjoy this campfest. This season is loads better than season two in so many ways it's hard to write them all down. They add a escape pod, they have varied adventures, and are not stuck on the same old planet. That doesn't mean this is babylon five, nope this is a kids show and that's fine because it's a fun kids show. I would say that the first season though is good sci fi fun and that's why I would rate that one even higher than this one. BUt I have them all, and your kids will love this show. I watched this so many times as a kid that I knew every episode by heart. The dvd's look ok here and that's a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost In Space: Season 3 [DVD] [1967]
Lost In Space: Season 3 [DVD] [1967] by Ezra Stone (DVD - 2005)
£11.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews