Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2004
After his impressive mix at the olympics Tiesto has delighted his fans by releasing the very set he played to the thousands of people lucky enough to be at the opening ceremony.
Tracklisting:
1.Heroes- Personally the joint best track on this album due to its gr8 sound that Tiesto is known for.
2.Breda 8pm- For those who don't know this is the remix of Dallas 4pm and for those people who liked 643, you will love this track
3.Ancient History- Old with the new, sampled greek drums go well with trance
4.Traffic- Vintage Tiesto
5.Euphoria- Does exactly what it says on the tin, a euphoric track with great string sounds
6.Athena- Very much like adagio for strings, Tiesto's interpretation of Albonini's Adagio in G minor, superb
7.Olympic Flame- Sends you straight to the olympics
8.Lethal Industry- A classic will never die
9.Coming Home- Another remix for 2004 from one Tiesto's lesser known tracks "Theme from Norefjel", up to date sound with a great synth riff
10.Adagio for Strings- Can't miss this track out, a track which defines the DJ
11.Victorius- The other best track on the album, makes you feel like your seeing your flag being raised to the top of the flag pole after you've won a gold medal, not many pieces of music do that
12.Forever Today- The start of Just Be becomes the end of the Parade what an ending
Tiesto yet again another gr8 piece of work that gurantees itself 5*'s.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2004
firstly, this is the first cd that ive ever brought that contains only the artists tracks, but is mixed.
This would not usually be a big thing, but what is great about this album is if you didn't know that it, you would not think it was just tiesto's tunes. This is good because it seems like an actual set, rather than a producer album.
The actual music is a refreshing change. It sounds really raw and underground (possibly because there are no dodgy vocals), but maintains the euphoric breakdowns and energetic riffs, which make trance music good. (i.e. if you have ever heared a john 00 fleming 'white label euphoria' album, its got the same rawness as these, but is much more energettic)
Some of the great tracks include heroes, athena and euphoria, and obviously the classics like traffic and adagio. i would advise anyone to get this album, its even better than 'just be', and hopefully will make those that seem to hate the man rethink.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
'Parade Of The Athlete's by Tiësto.
Easily Tiësto's best album - not the usual terrible Euro dance/pop rubbish he usually makes, with terrible vocalists - this album is instrumental. There are some melodic classic sections, which sound very high budget and great, before the hard beats kick in again ('Trance'? I think animal classification is unscientific, so trying to classify music is totally subjective nonsense).
Every track is either great or solid and the tracks are really a continuous mix - albeit quick merging of tracks (not flashy long mixing, simple).
The album starts strongly with 'Heroes', but all the tracks contain some superb section of beats, beeps, or melody. The only flaw is that 'Traffic', the most popular/famous track is only 4 minutes long - he should've used the full 7 minute 'Original Mix'! Therefore, 'Coming Home' is the best dance track. All the tracks are great, but 'Forever Today' has that amazing melancholy melody and is the outstanding track on an album that's already great.
Up there with Jilted Generation/Fat of the Land (Prodigy), Exit Planet Dust/Dig Your Own Hole (Chemical Bros.) and In Sides (Orbital).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2004
what an album... all tiesto's tunes from the olimpics 2004
if you love tiesto's tunes... u'll love this... BUY IT!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
classic Tiesto, brilliant, a lot of music for a fiver.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2004
Are there any words to describe just how good this cd is? Every song is just superbly done. Tiesto shows exactly why he is the best DJ in the world. When i listen to this cd, i just feel great, it's that kind of record.
If you like dance/trance music, then go and by this album and you will get more than your moneys worth.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
Good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2005
Better then Nyana and just be its fanastic. Each pefected first track though to the last. All the best trance tunes in the history it possible with this guy. This albums only what £12 it should be in a musium ahhh TIESTO BLESSING HUMANS!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 October 2004
This album features tracks at the harder end of the Tiesto spectrum, which I don't personally like. Most (not all) tracks are like the more tuneless, driving tracks from his earlier 'artist' albums (i.e. he wrote all the tracks himself, rather than choosing and/or remixing someone else's tracks).
Lots of drumes, percussion, hard rhythms etc. and not much melody. This is the only Tiesto alkbum I'd like to send back to the shop the day after I played it - I bought it on reputation. So try to listen first, before buying. I would highly recommend ANY other Tiesto album (I have not heard the very early pre-1999 albums) over this one.

UPDATE 2010 - well, I know no-one agreed with my opinion, but it's down to £1.50 now (used, VGC), so I feel vindicated !
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2004
This is Tijs' best cd in my opinion. Great tracks, great significance. A masterpiece!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)