Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting, charming, and fun
One of the most enjoyable series on film. Basically a silly, one-joke story: a super-charged taxi in Marseilles wreaks havoc, and saves the day, everywhere it goes.

But, in the hands of Luc Besson, the story and the joke remains fresh throughout all three films in the series. Well, maybe it slows down a bit in the third when they get off the road and onto ski...
Published on 8 April 2006 by M. FUSCO

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Language
French with English sub titles, Bah :/ do not want to read my way through a movie 3more words required
Published 16 months ago by MR


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting, charming, and fun, 8 April 2006
By 
M. FUSCO "yawnmower" (NEW YORK, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxi/Taxi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
One of the most enjoyable series on film. Basically a silly, one-joke story: a super-charged taxi in Marseilles wreaks havoc, and saves the day, everywhere it goes.

But, in the hands of Luc Besson, the story and the joke remains fresh throughout all three films in the series. Well, maybe it slows down a bit in the third when they get off the road and onto ski slopes. But Taxi 1 and 2 never tire (no pun intended).

Samy Naceri is the taxi driver with little respect for anything except speed and great driving. Frederic Diefenthal is delightful, and absolutely adorable, as his bumbling friend on the force who is serious about crime-fighting and winning his paramour, Petra. Wonderful characters abound in this fast-paced romp. Hollywood cannot make films with this much fun, style, or charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TAXI..., 5 May 2004
This review is from: Taxi/Taxi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Another series of excellent French movies,not to be taken seriously at all.Just sit back and enjoy how silly it all gets.
Excellent comedy.And watch out for a cameo from Sly Stallone in Taxi 3...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for 3, 15 Mar 2004
This review is from: Taxi/Taxi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The Taxi movies are the funniest movies I've seen for quite a while. Despite having to read from subtitles the jokes worked very well. As the last reviewer said the same jokes do pop up but much in the same way as they do in any great comedy series, did anyone ever tire of Blackadder hitting Baldrick or Rodney being called a plonker? The third movie is out on DVD in France and I can't wait to get my hands on an enlish subtitled version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect 1st viewing summary of Taxi 2, 28 Oct 2010
This review is from: Taxi/Taxi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Hi All,

I have now found a way to switch the english subtitles to ON, on Taxi 2 and would like to withdraw my previous statement to the contrary.

I would also raise my rating to 5 stars if I knew how to?

Anyway, thanks again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars White Peugeot Madness, 25 April 2004
This review is from: Taxi/Taxi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Taxi 1 is just a fun frolic in the world of Daniel, a pizza-boy turnedtaxi driver. Watch it for the amazingly well choreographed car chases. They're not all-action, Holywood style crash fests, rather a stylish,smooth and clever usage of camera angles. The plot, however is prettypoor, but an amusing tale nonetheless.
Taxi 2. The script writers must have decided not to do a serious filmthis time, as it's much more of a comedy. The car chases are not quite astop notch, but FAR more amusing. Watch it for the number of policepeugeots crashed in one scene. Marvelous.
The soundtrack to both is stylish french hip-hop. Much better thananything the UK or USA can produce, just smooth and clever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Films, 31 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Taxi/Taxi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The above reviewer has missed the point of these two films I'm afraid. These films are meant to be fun!!! The car chases are silly, the dialogue very funny indeed and same old jokes do crop up constantly, but that's the point.
Think of these films as having elements of The Blues Brothers, the Lethal Weapon series (not 2, because that was rubbish) and all of the other cheesy car chase films you've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taxi 3????, 12 May 2004
By 
taxi fan uk (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Taxi/Taxi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Taxi 1 and Taxi 2 are very cool&funny films. If you havent seen them, buy them now.
But i already have them, so I need just need Taxi 3, which has been out on Amazon.fr for ages.
When are we gonna get it (Taxi 3), with English subtiles on Amazon.co.uk???
Please help...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars voom, 20 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Taxi/Taxi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
this is how action films should be made. brilliant, both (1 is better but2 is still good).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Language, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxi/Taxi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
French with English sub titles, Bah :/ do not want to read my way through a movie 3more words required
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tres cheesy pour moi, 2 Aug 2005
This review is from: Taxi/Taxi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Dont get me wrong the car and bike scenes in these films are totally excellent and well choreographed but the script is too cheesy and cliched for me. This is a collection of the two taxi films (I believe there is a third now released) which I bought on high recommendations on this website as they said they were both cool, high octane movies with great soundtracks. They were correct on one point these films do have great hip hop soundtracks but unfortunately the excellent car stunts are overshadowed by a cliched and cheesy plot line. Worth three stars for the music and stunts though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taxi/Taxi 2 [DVD]
Taxi/Taxi 2 [DVD] by Gérard Pirès (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews