Customer Reviews


258 Reviews
5 star:
 (176)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding. Get it????
Whilst I enjoyed the DVD, the Blu-ray was a great improvement, both in picture and sound. However I was a bit dubious about this 3D version seeing that the film is getting on a bit and very often when an old film is converted to 3D it turns out to being a big let-down. I therefore hired from Lovefilm (another Amazon company, what company isn't these days?!!!!!) to save a...
Published 14 months ago by A. M. Adams

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun 3D
Awful, No terrible, no very very bad...seriously this is abysmal.

Other reviewers said the 3d was grainy. People moan all the time about minor quibbles so I ignored them. Wow! were they right. The picture is not only crazily grainy to the point it looks pixelated, the colours are totally out of whack and bizarre. Faces almost look like the photo negative end of...
Published 14 months ago by Denton


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding. Get it????, 4 Aug 2013
By 
A. M. Adams (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Whilst I enjoyed the DVD, the Blu-ray was a great improvement, both in picture and sound. However I was a bit dubious about this 3D version seeing that the film is getting on a bit and very often when an old film is converted to 3D it turns out to being a big let-down. I therefore hired from Lovefilm (another Amazon company, what company isn't these days?!!!!!) to save a bad purchase. Well, I shouldn't have worried as this 3D effort is without doubt an excellent 'flight' into the 3D world. At times there is some 'ghosting' and out focus problems around the edges and mainly the corners, but in the main it's a great effort. So, you know what? I think I will be buying this very soon, so I can not only be surrounded by sound but have jets flying round my ears as well!!!!!
Let's hope, in time, the same tech guys make 'Flight of the Intruder' into 3D as that would be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comments on the Blu Ray version of TOP GUN., 10 Dec 2008
By 
P. Gilligan "wotaweapon" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gun [Blu-ray] [1986] (Blu-ray)
Paramount's Blu-ray disc of Top Gun is clean and crisp, getting the most out of John Schwartzman's slick cinematography. The disc is liberally slathered with DS and 5.1 options in English, French and Spanish. Savant's viewing reminded him very much of the original multi-track experience, which definitely had the audience in its pocket.

Jerry Bruckheimer gathers his director Scott, writer Epps and some military experts for the commentary, while a multi-part docu Danger Zone covers the making of the film. Tony Scott provides an optional commentary for a storyboard comparison, and an extra docu The Best of The Best lauds the expertise of the Navy's elite fliers, excuse me, aviators.

Top Gun's appeal was due in no small part to its hot soundtrack, and the disc includes music videos for Take My Breath Away, The Top Gun Anthem, Heaven in Your Eyes and Danger Zone, which shows up every time the planes go into action, as if programmed into the automated cockpit environment. Top Gun was criticised for grafting MTV glitz on a Military back drop, but nobody's denying that the mix isn't effective.

TV spots, more EPK featurettes (one on survival techniques) and Tom Cruise interviews finish up this great package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gun [Blu-ray] [1986] (Blu-ray)
Excellent quality, the sound and picture are brilliant. This is an old favourite,

I would definitely recommend to a friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Present I could have bought him..., 28 July 2006
By 
Ms. R. Barnes (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gun [Special Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
I never would have watched Top Gun, but my boyfriend (who just happens to be into planes) was shocked that I hadn't and immediately rented it out for us to watch!

I was pleasantly surprised to be honest!

Tom Cruise was excellently cast in the lead role as the cocky, yet loveable, Maverick. And Kelly McGillis isn't the typical leading lady- she doesn't play a bimboish young girl that we so often see in films these days.

Her character is a smart, sassy lady, in a position of authority at Top Gun. (Although she does sport a rather fetching Eighties hair-do!)

The films scenes of dogfighting are so well choreographed. Anybody with a remote interest in planes will appreciate it and men generally probably would be impressed!

The love story throughout however, keeps the film from appealing only to a certain audience. Women- you will be able to sit through the fighting scenes knowing that they did not make up the entire film!

It is fun. It is a classic. It is not as predictable as you might have first guessed, trust me. I was surprised!

Not flawless obviously. There's no such thing. This Special Edition has an improved quality etc. of the actual film and loads of features on the second disc which are great if you enjoyed the film.

Worth a look and this is actually quite a good price (£5.97) for a DVD. (This also has 2 discs.)

I will end by saying that I bought this edition for his birthday... after seeing how he leered after the rental, I had to!

He's watched it around 16 times... Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun Blu-Ray. Fantastic!, 13 Mar 2010
By 
A. M. Smith "Ado Smith" (Derbyshire. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gun [Blu-ray] [1986] (Blu-ray)
Fantastic quality on Blu-ray and HD-DVD for that matter.
The DVD was great compared to the VHS tape. The Blu-ray and the HD-DVD are fantastic compared to the DVD. I have them all and have compared them all.
Close shots are superb quality compared to DVD or VHS.
As previously stated by others, some of the long shots and in particular the red sky at night shots are a little grainy. But guys, it was originally shot on film!!
Flicking between the DVD and the Blu-ray playing at the same time shows much more definition in the in aircraft close shots. Detail is fantastic on all close-up face shots.
Sound quality is fantastic as well. You can feel the planes as they fly by.
For those who say the transfer to Blu-ray is not good, perhaps they need to upgrade their monitor!
Even on my old 42" plasma connected by RGB leads, only connecting at 1080i the detail is fantastic, but much better on my new 46" / HDMI connection.
As for the film itself I don't think it was ever advertised as an introduction to flying jets. It is a feel good movie. Great escape when you just want something you don't have to have a few degrees just to keep track of the plot!
Fantastic film and fantastic Blu-ray transfer (except for some sky and long shots that don't matter anyway). The full length music videos are great too. These are not in HD quality though! Who cares! Lots of Blu-ray for the money. In you want a bit of a laugh and a great quality feel good film just buy it. If you want to learn to fly jets or want a film to make you feel good because you can explain the plot to your mates who don't understand it, perhaps it's not for you. Watch it with them. You may be able to chill for once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Cruise in escalating action drama, 15 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Top Gun [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Radical air pilot Maverick (Cruise) and his friend Goose (Edwards) are sent to Top Gun, the toughest challenge for the pair who compete to be the best.

Tony Scott's pulsating actioner is remembered today for those terrific jet sequences, the swift introduction of the then fastest motorbike in the world, and perhaps significant in today's modern culture, Tom Cruise's macho bravado smile.

Over 20 years have passed and the lead star and director have certainly moved up in the world. Cruise receiving three Oscar nominations and Scott winning a Primetime Emmy. And this is where it pretty much all started for the pair, and what an introduction.

Top Gun opens with Cruise's Maverick disregarding a direct order to help out a fellow pilot, getting told off before getting his just desserts, a reward to go to the most famous academy, Top Gun, and herein lies the action, the drama and even some exquisitely handled comedy.

Above all, this Scott picture is an out and out action drama that spices up the situations with that cheeky comedy only somebody called Tom Cruise can bring. Maverick is the catalyst of sharp intake and a bravado icon that would make any guy instantly jealous of his quick thinking and constant confidence. Not to mention his friendship with Goose is a wonderful addition to slow down the motives of the continuous action.

There are fist brawls, fighter jets, boats, fighter jets, motorbikes and fighter jets. Yes, it is targeted towards the type of guy who enjoys a Tom Clancy novel. Even the romance sequences seem more masculine as if to fill out every guy's fantasy. The ongoing rivalry and competitiveness in the service is spicy and intriguing with a few twists thrown in. The use of the motorbike was well executed, especially going over the blind hill but this film is undoubtedly recalled for the fighter jet sequences. The perfect synchronization of the planes in motion is pure adrenaline soaked talent that must have been a real challenge to film and direct. Nevertheless there is some friction with these plane inclusions. The camera is moving so fast and frequently it is hard to justify what is happening onscreen. The mumbled dialogue does not help matters, not to mention the preferred lexis in talking code will strike a few people out of the game.

But, looking at it from an enjoyment point of view, what is happening onscreen is transfixed and you cannot tear away should the phone ring or the footy game starting.

Cruise, as already mentioned, lights up the screen with that sharp white smile and his smart timing and cockiness helps achieve the strong lead role necessary for the action soaked script.

The training and pushing to be the best inevitably lands Goose and Maverick in trouble and some friction generates from The Ice Man, giving the film a spicy drama, along with one of the most sad twists for friendship to ever hit our screens. A must see

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun 3D, 12 Aug 2013
Awful, No terrible, no very very bad...seriously this is abysmal.

Other reviewers said the 3d was grainy. People moan all the time about minor quibbles so I ignored them. Wow! were they right. The picture is not only crazily grainy to the point it looks pixelated, the colours are totally out of whack and bizarre. Faces almost look like the photo negative end of the spectrum.

It reminds me of a digital camera I bought in 1999 that only took 5 seconds of film before the capacity was full. Back then, this was amazing. The picture was dire, but worked-ish in bright light. It looks like Top Gun 3D was produced with my old camera, or two of them for depth.

I have never ever bought such a miserably bad film product, except perhaps KFC - Phantom Menace memorabilia (very dark days indeed). I still have to force the memories away.

I'm stunned Top Gun 3D was released like this. I can't fathom how a group of digital 3D post conversion people could sit in a meeting with the Paramount execs and not feel ashamed. Also, the exec that signed this off must have had his eyes closed and have been trying to sense the 3D with The Force, as this only plausible explanation for how this was released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film - great 3D, 9 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has always been a fun film with lots of action. It is still as fresh as when first aired on the big screen. The 3D conversion is excellent and certainly adds another layer of enjoyment. The flying scenes are particularly good. I noticed only very occasional ghosting. The sound track I thought was rather muffled in one or two places but certainly this was not noticeable enough to impair enjoyment.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I feel the need, the need for ... Blu-ray!, 11 Mar 2009
By 
Mav82 (West Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Top Gun [Blu-ray] [1986] (Blu-ray)
Even on DVD: a great movie, cool characters and sensational Soundtrack.

But on Blu-ray its a new level of experiencing this movie! Seeing it on Blu-ray with my PS3 and 46"LCD makes me think: The DVD looks like a 20year old VHS. The colour and sharpness is simply breathtaking. And the sound is powerfull and clear with my 5.1 Surround System. This Blu-ray edition is a great conversion from (analogue) film to digital and shows that even 23 year old material have a lot to give in HD-age! (Watch the uncleanness of Kelly McGillis' skin in some parts :P or the makup )

The Special Features (Commentary,Making Of,Music Videos etc.) are in Standard Definition!

If you own the DVD and hesitate buying the Blu-ray Version, i can tell you it's worth the money!

For all international: The Blu-ray is codefree

Product Summary:
Picture: (8,5/10)
Sound: (9/10)
Story: (10/10) you love or hate it...;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top Movie, 21 Sep 2007
By 
Wim Nelis "Wim" (Geel, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gun [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
I saw this movie for the first time going with my dad to the theatre when it came out, so that's back in 1986. As a young teenager this movie had a pretty hefty impression on me. Tom became an idol overnight, Kelly my dreamwoman... The action scenes, in those days, were unheard of. Awesome outside the fuselage images, low fly-by's...etc,etc. Yes it was a bit stupid to see a F5 as a 'MIG' but hey! we were still talking about the cold war those days. Anyway, the movie is about a training centre located in Nellis, where the top-aces train for combat. Tom Cruise is selected as the Navy candidate and during the course of his training he falls in love with his teacher (kelly). During this training this best buddy dies in an accident which leaves Tom an emotional wreck. At the end of the training, they are recalled to an aircraft carrier to fight off some baddies (which they do of course). So all ends well, Tom gets the girl and over his emotional situation and the world is safe again...
Ah! just watch the movie and enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Gun [Special Edition] [DVD]
Top Gun [Special Edition] [DVD] by Tony Scott (DVD - 2005)
£12.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews