Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Without Originality
Connie (Nia Vardalos of "My Big Fat Greek Wedding") and Carla (Toni Collette of "Murielle's Wedding") have been putting on silly cabaret style plays since they were little girls. Now adults, they are doing the same thing in airport lounges to a bored crowd. The comedy is original and the scenes are hilarious. However, as the Editorial Review states, this is a combination...
Published on 17 Nov. 2004 by Martin A Hogan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Daft but entertaining
This is generally a very daft movie, but nonetheless, it is entertaining and is great to curl up on the sofa with, but you need a cup of hot tea and a very large bar of Galaxy chocolate to go with it - it's that kind of movie. Yes, I like it, but it's not 'essential' viewing if you really do have something better to do with your time - if not, well then, give it a go.
Published 17 months ago by Phoober


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Without Originality, 17 Nov. 2004
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Connie (Nia Vardalos of "My Big Fat Greek Wedding") and Carla (Toni Collette of "Murielle's Wedding") have been putting on silly cabaret style plays since they were little girls. Now adults, they are doing the same thing in airport lounges to a bored crowd. The comedy is original and the scenes are hilarious. However, as the Editorial Review states, this is a combination of "Victor, Victoria" and "Some Like It Hot". It's not original, but these two actresses have brilliant timing. After witnessing the murder of their lounge act boss at the airport, the two `high-tail' it to Los Angeles to disappear - `accidentally' into the gay drag queen night club scene. There is something incredibly funny about these two actresses in almost every scene they are in (steal). From the bag of exploding cocaine in the station wagon at 65 mph to the constant running and covering whenever someone is about to find out they are `real women'. They are manic and hilarious and carry the humor `over the top' without dumbing down the viewer. It's almost like a modern day Lucy and Ethel, only funnier. So the plot is unoriginal. The lines and delivery are priceless.
The deleted scenes, commentaries, etc. are the only mediocre material here. However, the direction is spot-on and the DTS sound is fantastic, which counts in a movie that is half musical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for a laugh, 28 Jun. 2005
With echoes of "Some like it Hot" and "Priscilla, Queen of the Desert", this is a fairly predictble, but none-the-less enjoyable, comedy about two women who, in order to hide from the mob, disguise themselves as drag queens and become an immensely popular dinner theatre attraction.
The film is directed by Michael Lembeck who has more TV experience than film, which is why this comedy ends up having a little too much of the sit-com feel about it. Not helping that "TV" feel is Nia Vardalos and David Duchovny turning in two fairly two-dimensional, though still perfectly funny, performances. Hugely hilarious is Toni Collette, whose transformation into a drag queen would be scary in its believability if it weren't so funny.
There are instances where the dialogue becomes so sacchrine as to be sickening, and there is a sense that you are sometimes beaten over the head with "the moral of the story", but all that is worth it for the cabaret numbers. Brilliantly staged, at times hilarious, they make this film incredibly watchable.
The DVD transfer is also highly enjoyable - no problems here with the sound or video transfer, and a whole heap of extras. Particularly good were the extended musical sequences, and also the "making of" featurette.
Highly reccommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feel good fantastic!, 25 Oct. 2004
Genius! The opening sequence and 1st scene of this film is one of the best comic scenes! The film is fab - but worth seeing for this singing scene alone. Both Nia Vardalos who wrote the script and plays Connie and Toni Collette who plays Carla are fantastic and work togehter brilliantly. David Duchovny also makes an apperance as Jeff, Connie's love intrest, although in my opinion is shown up by Nia Vardalos superior acting. The script is well written and has many laugh out loud moments as well as touching scenes.
Connie : We need to hide someplace where there are no dinner theaters. In fact, we need to hide someplace where is no theater period, no culture whatsoever.
Carla : Los Angeles.
Basic plot - after accidentally witnessing a mafia hit in chicago, Connie and Carla skip town for L.A., where they go undercover as singers working the city's dinner theater circuit ... as drag queens.
Dont think 'Some like it hot' - this film is better - film for both sex's and makes a great date movie.If u want a laugh out loud, feel good film with a well written script - buy this movie, if its for the hysterical 1st scene only!!!!!
Connie : We're gonna be LA girls now, we gonna have to work out.
[Connie and Carla think for a second, then laugh hysterically]
Carla : Good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like Romy and Michelle...with songs!, 19 April 2006
Connie and Carla is a camp rhapsody of song, make-up, and drag. The leading ladies in this film have truly outstanding musical voices, and enough energy to lift anyone's spirits after a long day at work. I recommend you make yourself some popcorn, take out a bottle of wine, slip into something comfortable, and then sit down to an hour and twenty minutes of pure entertainment. The film follows in the footsteps of camp classics like Romy and Michelle and Sister Act, and is packed with all the ingredients you would expect to find in a light-hearted all-American comedy: the not-so-scary gangsters, the hazardous road-trip, the blossoming romance, the occasional melodrama,singing, dancing, and not forgetting - did I already mention them? - drag queens. As Connie and Carla go on the run after witnessing a mob killing, they find sanctuary in a drag club (don't we all). In need of a job, and desperate not to be hunted down by the bad guys, they audition for a drag show...and the rest, as they say, is hysterical. The DVD has some juicy extras, including some deleted scenes and commentary. I always enjoy a good bit of camp, but maybe that says more about me than the film...? Happy viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like Romy and Michelle...with songs!, 19 April 2006
Connie and Carla is a camp rhapsody of song, make-up, and drag. The leading ladies in this film have truly outstanding musical voices, and enough energy to lift anyone's spirits after a long day at work. I recommend you make yourself some popcorn, take out a bottle of wine, slip into something comfortable, and then sit down to an hour and twenty minutes of pure entertainment. The film follows in the footsteps of camp classics like Romy and Michelle and Sister Act, and is packed with all the ingredients you would expect to find in a light-hearted all-American comedy: the not-so-scary gangsters, the hazardous road-trip, the blossoming romance, the occasional melodrama,singing, dancing, and not forgetting - did I already mention them? - drag queens. As Connie and Carla go on the run after witnessing a mob killing, they find sanctuary in a drag club (don't we all). In need of a job, and desperate not to be hunted down by the bad guys, they audition for a drag show...and the rest, as they say, is hysterical. The DVD has some juicy extras, including some deleted scenes and commentary. I always enjoy a good bit of camp, but maybe that says more about me than the film...? Happy viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy but fun, 15 Feb. 2006
By 
Mrs Paula R Westwood (Mossley, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Okay its not a thought provoking epic and it may not change your life, but for an hour and a half its a good, fun, warm movie. Yup.. its worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth is out there !, 27 Dec. 2006
By 
fivestarfrankie (chippenham, wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This film is as camp as a very,very long row of tents !

It's also a great feel good movie crafted to perfection

There is nothing else worth saying IMHO except make the time to watch it - you'll be glad you did !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joyous, sparkly brilliance., 9 Aug. 2010
By 
F. Cox (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have even the slightest interest in musical theatre, you will love this film. The dialogue is not showy but is exceptionally funny, and performed with great aplomb by Vardalos and Collette, who are also both fantastic musical and theatrical performers. Their voices and physicalities blend perfectly; Vardalos could not have landed a better co-star. The costumes and make-up and wigs are jaw-droppingly spectacular. Duchovny is a sweetie-pie here: a pleasure to watch.

Okay, this movie may not change the world (except perhaps in the case of softening the hearts and minds of those previously phobic towards transsexuals, transvestites, and drag queens, which should certainly not be dismissed as important work), but it will undoubtedly lift your spirits if they are in need of a boost.

Debbie Reynolds, Kander and Ebb, and glittery Joan Crawford style lipstick: what's not to like?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gender-bender fun!, 29 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Connie And Carla [VHS] (VHS Tape)
First off I should tell you that my boyfriend and I both loved this film. It's written and acted by Nia Vardalos, the same woman who gave us My Big Fat Greek Wedding, which by the way, you should also see. Ms. Vardalos has a gift for turning everyday issues (how we see ourselves, our bodies, gay men; male-female relationships, male-male relationships) into humourous guides for getting along in this world. Reminiscent of Shakespeare's use of women disguised as men and vice-versa, it's a wonderful combination of depth and lightheartedness. Connie and Carla is definitely a movie that sends you away with a smile and wishing you were able to spend more time with each of the personalities in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ha Ha Ha .........................., 8 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
....some films appeal because of its cast and/or leading stars - others can appeal due to the nature and style of film - for me, this had both and the leading ladies were well cast, making this an uplifting and endearing film - not nessecarily 100% gut busting throughout but still entertaining and some very funny and true to life moments - with Ms Debbie Reynolds and David Duchovny - well worth a watch - infact well worth several watches ENJOY ! (If you enjoy the likes of 'The Birdcage', 'Priscilla' and 'Muriels Wedding' you will love this).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Connie And Carla [VHS]
Connie And Carla [VHS] by Michael Lembeck (VHS Tape - 2004)
Used & New from: £0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews