Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth a watch!
Watched this about a year ago but just noticed it doesn't have a review. If you enjoyed films like City of God, Amores Perros and Central Station, then you'll enjoy this! Definitely worth a watch.
Published on 28 July 2007 by K. Lloyd

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good potential let down in various areas
I watched MotY last night, my hopes having been built up by inevitable but flawed comparisons to City of God spread across the internet. This work is the director's debut and it is clear from a few misjudged elements - the pace and timeline of the film is rushed and while many changes are taking place, small events are given too much precedence over the background story...
Published on 10 Jan 2008 by P. Eustice


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good potential let down in various areas, 10 Jan 2008
By 
P. Eustice "vigilante" (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I watched MotY last night, my hopes having been built up by inevitable but flawed comparisons to City of God spread across the internet. This work is the director's debut and it is clear from a few misjudged elements - the pace and timeline of the film is rushed and while many changes are taking place, small events are given too much precedence over the background story which isn't developed or explained in enough detail.

Moreover, there is very little introduction to the protagonist Maiquel - so the intended comparison between his personality at the beginning and end is not as strong as would be nice.

I came to the end of the film wondering what I was supposed to have taken from it, it almost seems an amalgamation of "cool" and stylish elements from other similar films that don't come together as an entire, convincing storyline.

It is certainly watchable and the style of camera work does make up for some shortcomings, but overall you're likely to wish you'd watched City of God or Tony Scott's True Romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly tedious, 23 Oct 2007
By 
For a film described as the next "City of God", with equivalent amounts of mayhem and murder, this is a suprisingly tedious production. It's badly paced, the characters don't grip (except perhaps the two female leads) and the denoument is entirely predictable. The camera work is good and the plot is not without it's attractions, but if you're looking for a story of a good guy drawn inevitably into the temptations of the moral decay around him, "Amores Perros" is the better comparison and a much better film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth a watch!, 28 July 2007
By 
K. Lloyd (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man of the Year [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Watched this about a year ago but just noticed it doesn't have a review. If you enjoyed films like City of God, Amores Perros and Central Station, then you'll enjoy this! Definitely worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Brazilian film, 11 Jan 2005
By 
Jr Lorrimer "jlorrimer" (Oakworth) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Since "City of God" I've become a huge fan of Brazilian cinema and this is yet another dvd I'm glad to add to my collection. It's a very very black comedy with some great performances and cinemaphotography etc. Buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City of God and more, 2 Nov 2003
By A Customer
Have you seen CITY of GOD? You liked it? So why don't you have seen this great movie?
Maiquel is a silent brazilian guy who kills a young criminal after making fun of Maiquels haircut. Then his career as "security-killer" for rich and poor increases to be end up in a mest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man of the Year [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Man of the Year [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] by José Henrique Fonseca (DVD - 2006)
£7.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews