Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Achingly Beautiful
This is a lovely album. Steve Wilson (Porcupine Tree) collaborates with Tim Bowness and the result is gorgeous. Gentle, ethereal songs that drift along - it's just a pleasure to listen to them. Chill out to this - candles, a glass of wine, a close friend - magical...
Published on 20 Feb 2006 by David Lusher

versus
3 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BORING,BORING...............BORING
Do i need to say anymore?
Well o.k then. I bought this because i'm a big fan of porcupine tree, and blackfield, but believe me this is so boring.
Yes it's atmospheric, but it's so slow moving i can't remember any of the songs.
Played it three times but can't get through it all, it just drags on and on.
Can't understand the good reviews either...
Published on 13 Dec 2008 by Mu Sick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Achingly Beautiful, 20 Feb 2006
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Together We're Stranger (Audio CD)
This is a lovely album. Steve Wilson (Porcupine Tree) collaborates with Tim Bowness and the result is gorgeous. Gentle, ethereal songs that drift along - it's just a pleasure to listen to them. Chill out to this - candles, a glass of wine, a close friend - magical...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh yes this is good stuff, 4 May 2006
By 
R. Allan "Flax" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Together We're Stranger (Audio CD)
It's 2AM, im in the middle of writing a physics report that needs to be finished for tommorow, and nothing could fit more perfectly to chill me out and keep me going than this album right now. So subtle, yet so powerful. All the tracks just merge together to make a constant flow of beautifulness. I don't own any other no-man albums but I have a feeling that will change very soon. Mark my words...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning, 27 April 2007
By 
K-Pax (Bonnie Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Together We're Stranger (Audio CD)
This album perhaps contains one of the most atmospheric pieces of music I have ever heard. 'All the Blue Changes' is stunning in its simplicity and if you play this loud with the lights off, i can guarantee the hairs on your neck will stand up. It's a brilliant piece of musicianship. The collaboration between Wilson (how prolific is this guy?) and Bowness works well and while the album is fairly ambient, the instrumentation and melodies work well. I have a feeling people will come to appreciate No-Man's work more, now that Porcupine Tree are picking up in popularity and when you come to this album, you'll find it a delight to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Together They Are Better, 14 April 2003
The latest album from one of the most under-rated and over-looked bands of the past 15 years. If you are looking for an instant fix of frothy pop, don't come here. But if you want music that hits you in your heart as well as your head, you must buy this album. Almost devoid of percussion, built on layers of sharp acoustic guitars, snatches of organ and washes of strings - topped by Tim Bowness' heart-felt but restrained vocals, "Together We're Stranger" is a work of great beauty.
Unlike no-man's earlier albums, "Together We're Stranger" has a real timeless feel and contains one of their finest songs in the 10 minutes plus "Photographs In Black & White".
Fans of Steven Wilsons other outfit, Porcupine Tree, will also appreciate this album, but don't expect it to sound anything like "In Absentia". This is a rock free zone. Anyone moved by latter period Talk Talk, early Sylvian, Kate Bush or Nick Drake will find sustenance in this album. As will anyone who's had their heart broken, looked in the mirror and seen what the ravages of time can do, or woken up alone and lonely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 12 Dec 2003
By 
Nick C (Middleton, Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Have you ever been let down by a No-Man album.....no of course you haven't! So why wait...you need this now.
Again the mighty Bowness and Wilson return with the help of a few friends and produce another superb album with their own unique style of quirky ambient - pop - jazz - chill - psychedelic?? ... whatever it's just cool!
Another perfect mood album for those chilling out periods. Maybe not quite as poppy as earlier releases but the experimental edge is still very strong! P.Tree fans will find something of interest on the album especially if you enjoy their earlier stuff! Buy it! Love it! Then go and search out everything else No-Man have done!
A totally engaging and wonderful album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lush late night atmospheric songs, 9 Jun 2003
By 
M. A. Coyle "Mark Coyle" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album combines serene instrumentation with excellent vocals in a genuinely adult album of gently wrought songs. It is a mood album, possibly for drifting afternoons or late nights, a consistent feeling of soft expectation carries through. The instrumentation combines electronic soundwashes, distant rumbles and goregous melodies. There are elements of Brian Eno, Harold Budd, David Sylvian, Holgar Czukay and Robert Fripp here and the music will appeal to fans of those artists. The vocals are less mannered and pretentious than on earlier albums, having a more direct ability to communicate. This album is recommended for those times when you need a mood piece such as this. It won't appeal to many and is delightfully out of step with modern chart music, but that is sadly their loss not ours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another collection of beautiful sad songs, 24 Mar 2004
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Further exploring the ambient textures beautifully executed on the previous “Returning Jesus” album, the duo of Steven Wilson and Tim Bowness offer another collection of touching torch songs. The winning partnership of Tim’s breathy, longing vocals and Steven Wilson’s masterful musical backdrop never fail to please, though after the perfection of the previous album, this one slightly pales in comparison. But only slightly. There is nothing as heart wrenchingly wonderful as “Close Your Eyes”, but there is enough here to enjoy. In particular, “All The Blue Changes” and “Back When You Were Beautiful” impress, though overall this is a very worthy addition to their output. As good as anything Talk Talk or David Sylvian has produced. With Steven Wilson’s increasingly busy schedule as producer and fronting Porcupine Tree, we should be grateful that every so often both artists get together to serve us such beautiful manna from heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is still hope for British music, we have No-Man, 6 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. R. E. Aird "EFC" (Liverpool,Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Together We're Stranger (Audio CD)
One of the greatest british albums of the last 20 years, yes, its that good. Forget Brit pop bands and listen to No-man. Musicianship at it's best. Steve Wilson's excellent musicianship and the amazing emotion from the voice of bowness. Back when you were beautful is heartbreaking. Check out their other work, (all the blue changes). Also check out Blackfield and Porcupine Tree.The other projects Wilson is involved with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant "Chill-Out" CD, 9 April 2003
By 
Mr J Thurstans (St Buryan, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
I have been a fan of Porcupine Tree for since 1999 and have only just had the courage to buy something by No Man. My only regret is that I didn't put my trust in Steven Wilson's music earlier. Together We're Stranger is a cd (unusually with no drums), with wonderful guitar/keyboard soundscapes with Tim Bowness adding the vocals. I don't really like to compare groups with groups, but this to me sounded in places, a bit like an acoustic version of Tangerine Dream/early Floyd along with Porcupine Tree's more acoustic numbers. Don't be like me and miss out on years worth of music really worth listening to. I'm off to buy No Man's back catalogue!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A musical melancholic reverie, 9 April 2011
By 
J. Stockwell (Here, there and everywhere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Together We're Stranger (Audio CD)
What can be said about this album that has not been mentioned by other reviewers?

"Together we're stranger" is an odd title for a glorious musical experience that has been written, crafted and performed with a level of care that eclipses the shallow offerings that grace the popular music charts.

Like many albums of distinction, this deserves to be experienced and enjoyed in one sitting as the songs are thematically linked and linked by arrangements that drift into each other.

Lead singer Tim Bowness is blessed with a distinctive voice that is palpably coloured by sadness and imbues the songs with regret and longing. Musical genius Steven Wilson textures the songs with instrumentation that never crowds the lyrics but shapes the mood of each song. The production (Wilson again?) is elegant and not disfigured by the "loudness" mastering technique.

Glorious stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Together We're Stranger
Together We're Stranger by No Man (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews