Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's done it, He's created another top album again!
2 years since he released debut album 'Gotta Get Thru This', Bonkers Bedders is back with a superb follow up. Garage lovers will be pleased that he's left their style of music alone this time around. Let's face it, he never fitted in to that 'style' anyway. ;)
This album is as versitile as it's previous one,just as Bedders likes it. All round his lyrical and quality...
Published on 11 Nov 2004

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Realistic Review
Given the high impact of his first cd - I had hoped that the second one would have the same great sounds as the first....sadly this just wasn't to be.
Growing Up - the openiing track - does contain some great bits, but bits and pieces of greatness do not make for a good SECOND FIRST IMPRESSION~!
The rest of the cd is littered with "throw-away" singles - the...
Published on 19 Nov 2004 by Michael McCLain


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's done it, He's created another top album again!, 11 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Second First Impression (Audio CD)
2 years since he released debut album 'Gotta Get Thru This', Bonkers Bedders is back with a superb follow up. Garage lovers will be pleased that he's left their style of music alone this time around. Let's face it, he never fitted in to that 'style' anyway. ;)
This album is as versitile as it's previous one,just as Bedders likes it. All round his lyrical and quality of music is just that tad better than 'Gotta Get Thru This'. This album has less dancy tracks than his last however, 3 (Growing up,Complicated,Don't give her it all) in total compared to 5 (Blown it again,GGTT,James Dean,Right Girl,Friday) in GGTT. The rest are a more rockier affair, and what quality they are! He's definitely hit his top in this style. 'Wrap my words around you', 'The way', 'Show me the real you' and 'Holiness' are songs that any pop-rock band would be proud of, particularly 'The way' which should prove to be a classic if released as a single (Fingers Crossed). The rest of the songs are beautiful ballads/melodies which are another Bedders' specialty. 'Sorry' is the clear stand out from them all with it being an extremely personal song about the occurances between him and his sisters when they were younger because of his illness. It has great lines in the chorus which you can really relate to in some shape or form.
One must question his reasoning to relase 'Nothing hurts like love' as his comeback single however. This is a song which in my opinion is the worst on the album and lyric's far too simple when compared to other songs on this album. Not suprising that this song was not actually written by him.
Album songs ratings: (Out of 5)
Growing up - 3.5
Complicated - 2.5
Wrap my words - 5
All your attention - 4
The way - 5 - Please release as a single!
Sorry - 5
Show me the real you - 4.5
Don't give her it all - 4
Nothing hurts like love - 2
Holiness - 4.5
All the little children - 3
Draw you - 5
A kiss without commitment - 4
Watch out for the hidden track at the end. Rocky baby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's back with a bang!, 10 Nov 2004
This review is from: Second First Impression (Audio CD)
Daniel Bedingfield released his first album, Gotta Get Thru This, just over 2 years ago now, and he made a huge impact on the music scene due to his amazing voice and unique style of music.
Daniel was in a terrible car crash at the beginning of this year, and thankfully he managed to make a full recovery. After the full recovery, he spent a long time recording a new album which would hopefully be as good, if not better than the first.
He knew he had to follow the first album up with something really special - as the title "Second First Impression" suggests - and it is very fair to say that he has done so.
Bedingfield's second album has it all - fast pace, feel good songs such as "Holiness" along with the odd slow song such as "Sorry" which is actually dedicated to his sister, Natasha. "Nothing Hurts Like Love" is the first song to be released from the album, and this gives a very good example of what the new album has to offer. It is obvious that a lot of hard work has gone into making the songs sound very professional and to expand upon the success of the previous album.
If you love Daniel Bedingfield's music, love his voice, or just want a really cool album to chill out to, then buy "Second First Impression" today - you won't be disappointed! And don't forget to listen to the hidden track (called "I am alive"), 5 minutes and 15 seconds into the last track!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A credible follow-up, 14 Jun 2005
This review is from: Second First Impression (Audio CD)
After the phenomenal success of his debut album, "Gotta Get Thru This", Daniel Bedingfield must have been incredibly hard-pushed to produce a sequel. Coupled with the fact that Daniel himself was involved in a horrific car accident in 2003, this album did well to merely credit a release in the UK. Indeed, I was apprehensive as to whether he would be up to creating more of his fantastically unique music after he so narrowly escaped with his life, but I'm delighted to say that "Second First Impression", though it doesn't quite live up to the outrageously high standard of "Gotta Get Thru This", did not disappoint me at all.
Gone are the garage-pop tracks of Bedingfield's debut, replaced by altogether rockier songs that really show how versatile this man is. The ability to perform in a huge variety of genres is exactly what I admire most about Bedingfield; this album also includes some dance-inspired tracks reminiscent of "Gotta Get Thru This", as well as a few beautiful ballads. The former class is represented by the two opening tracks, "Growing up" and "Complicated", both of which are very infectious and show the incredible range of Bedingfield's voice. "Growing up" seems to be the "Blown it again" of this album, with its funk rhythm emphasised curiously by a closed snare drum at certain points, and Bedingfield's trademark vocal overdubs in octaves in the chorus. "Complicated" is also interesting as it is slightly world-orientated and again displays how comfortable Bedingfield is singing so many different styles of music.
Undoubtedly, though, the standout upbeat track on this album is the ingenious "The way". Bedingfield instantly grabs the listener by human beatboxing as only he can in the highly syncopated introduction, and the song gradually evolves from a dance/pop first verse into a full out rock chorus, during which Bedingfield slides his voice up to the high notes to further highlight the rock inspiration. The electric guitar in the instrumental leading on to the second verse is wonderfully haunting, and the middle eight is simply mind-blowing, showcasing Bedingfield's vocals to their absolute best.
The first single to be taken from this album, "Nothing hurts like love", is a good representation of the mid-tempo tracks included here. The keyboards used on this song sound pleasantly dreamy, as do those on "All your attention", a lovely track where the lyrics suggest that Bedingfield can be innocent and vulnerable just like the rest of us. "Wrap my words around you", Bedingfield's next choice of single, also follows this sensitive lead; its quiet verses painted with a soft electric piano are very pleasant to listen to, building inevitably to a powerful chorus that again shows exactly how strong Bedingfield's vocals are. The remaining mid-tempo numbers are "Show me the real you", from which the album's title "Second First Impression" stems from, and "Holiness", an inspiring track in which Bedingfield sings of opening his arms to the world and staying positive following his accident.
There are two tracks on "Second First Impression" that sound very different from their fellows. The first is the beautiful "Sorry", a tribute to Bedingfield's sister Natasha. This song must have been incredibly hard for Bedingfield to write; Bedingfield reveals all about his ADD trauma, sounding ashamed of himself and apologising in vain throughout the song: "I wanna say I'm sorry but I know I'll do it again... I don't wanna hurt you anymore." The piano and strings used in this stunning track really compliment the sensitive nature of the song, and proves that his ADD doesn't hold Bedingfield back in the slightest - this is the ultimate pinnacle track of this album.
The second song is the altogether strange "All the little children". Bedingfield shows his angrier side on this track, and he is sparsely accompanied by a string quartet and piano chords, which surround the track with a mysterious aura. This song is very short, and as a result it is almost like a protest; this track definitely gives the listener much to think about.
As in Bedingfield's debut album, there are acoustic tracks at the end of "Second First Impression", which I feel are great songs to conclude the album. "Draw you" is very pleasant, where the guitar is appropriately quiet to partner Bedingfield's soft vocals, while "A kiss without commitment" almost resembles a busker's song as the vocal harmonies are simple yet effective. Bedingfield actually name checks the woman in question in the chorus of this song, which is quite unusual today and so adds interest for the listener.
One final track is the hidden "I'm not dead", which can be found a few minutes into "A kiss without commitment". This unquestionably relates to Bedingfield's accident, and its very rocky style suggests that he is angry but positive about how he shall have to continue with his life. The electric guitar "scream" in the opening stages of this track arguably represent the crash itself, and I was shocked to hear Bedingfield shouting in a rough, rocky voice at the end, as though in protest like in "All the little children".
This album is a huge step forward for Daniel Bedingfield, and many of its songs have allowed him time to reflect on how very different his world could have been today. Altogether this is an incredibly inspiring album, which the ultimate multi-genre music fan will worship for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 17 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Second First Impression (Audio CD)
This is one of the best albums i have heard in a long time. It has a completely different mix of songs, however this makes it quite hard to listen to the first time round and you probably wont think "wowh this is soooo good."It takes quite a few times to have to listen to it through, but once you start to like it you will learn to love it and never want to take it out your cd player!
"Sorry"
"Wrap my words around you"
"A kiss without commitment"
"Nothing hurts like love"
are some of my favourite tracks which spring to mind, but it is a definate yes yes! Buy it, its money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome. Awesome. Awesome. A rare and beautiful album., 1 Mar 2005
By 
H. Melville (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Second First Impression (Audio CD)
Daniel Bedingfield is Britain's best singer/songwriter right now. I admit that you need to listen to this album a couple of times to truly appreciate its depth, but it is still stunning the first time you hear it. DB doesn't just write melodies and then stick words to them, he crafts whole songs, the music inseperable from the sympathetic words. The songs are diverse, both musically and thematically, dealing with joy, pain, frustration, love, and above all, beauty. The musical journey of the album is infused with DB's incredibly soulful voice and suffused with a series of ridiculously hookish beats, wrapped in memorable melodies.
If you have diverse musical tastes, you will really appreciate what DB's done on this album. You can't call yourself a fan of music and not own this album! A rare album of genius to be played again and again. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars different but still mr. bedingfield, 28 Nov 2004
This review is from: Second First Impression (Audio CD)
The first time I heard this album I didn't know what to think. Then I heard it for the second time and wow I thought it was great! I loved his first album which I just picked up by chance. The second first impression is different it seems to me he was trying different things on this cd which is a good thing! The lyrics really won me over especially on "wrap my words around you." For example: "is it fair to write a song to a woman, is it fair to play to try to win her heart, is it right to bring her sonnets in the morning-time, to express the first few longings when they start...and my words may bind you to me much too tightly, and you may choke upon them if we fall apart." My favorite track on this cd is the hidden track "I'm not dead!" I think this is a great album and if you're a fan of mr. bedingfield I think you should pick it up!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars up close and personal with Daniel!, 13 Jan 2005
This review is from: Second First Impression (Audio CD)
The ever transparent Daniel Bedingfield has again delivered a top notch CD. He again delivers all the songs with such passion and feeling it gives you goosebumps! There are some very honest songs on this album like Sorry, and again some edgy sexy ones too like, Don't Give'r It All. AGAIN, This is a very personal album for Daniel, he has been through alot and I think this album is a reflection of that. If you wanted an album exactly like the first one than you may be disappointed, but if you are a true Bedders fan then you won't be disappointed, He has grown and true fans who recognise his talent will move with him. This is an album that leaves you wanting more and there's not many that do that. May he always wear his heart on his sleeve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, 13 Jun 2006
This review is from: Second First Impression (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this album, even more so than the excellent "Gotta Get Thru This". The stunning ballads "Nothing Hurts Like Love" and "Wrap My Words Around You" are classic Bedingfield, while standout track "The Way" is truly original. If you like well written, well contructed tracks with meaning, you'll love it too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant album..., 28 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Second First Impression (Audio CD)
This album is by quite a long way the best i've bought for 2004. Daniel Bedingfield, the writing genius has delivered the goods again. The best song for me on the whole album is 'The Way' - which, quite frankly, is out of this world! Other songs such as 'wrap my words around you', 'sorry' and 'don't giv'r it all', 'growing up', 'holiness' and 'complicated' are also very, very good - basically every song on the album is excellent and very uniquely they are all totally different in style,
Buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was it worth the wait...?, 16 Nov 2004
This review is from: Second First Impression (Audio CD)
The answer is an emphatic 'yes'!
The hidden track 'I'm not dead!' sums it up...he should be dead, but God had other plans (thank God!). Daniel Bedingfield has a unique gift and we are privileged that we can still experience his talents.
This album has all that you would expect from such an eclectic singer/songwiter.
More powerful, personal and mature than his debut album, this is a superb collection of tracks.
Album highlights are Draw You, Wrap My Words Around You, Sorry, and All the Little Children, although there are no tracks I dislike (not true for 'Gotta Get Thu This').
A must-have for anyone who saw DB in concert and wants to hear the finished recordings of the new songs performed there.
If you appreciate sincere, moving songwriting combined with awesome pop/rock then this album is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Second First Impression
Second First Impression by Daniel Bedingfield (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews