Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely transformed on DVD!
This DVD is absolutely superb - well deserving the five stars. They've taken a fuzzy, muffled, pan and scan, 20 year old film and just completely transformed it. The picture is razor sharp, and in Widescreen for the first time ever. The all important sound - the main device for progressing the narrative, has been converted into Dolby Digital 5.1 using the original...
Published on 15 Jan 2001 by Jason Humphries

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
The music was good but not played out very well I remembered it better than film actually was wish I had just bought the a cd
Published 5 months ago by Karen


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous for Floyd fans and those wishing to know more, 28 Mar 2010
By 
B VIGLIENGHI (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd - The Wall [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
20 years plus since I 1st watched the wall. Do ensure you have good sound, if your TV can't produce it, do wire in the stereo speakers. Get some nibbles a drink, turn up the volume and enjoy. Fantastic sound, fantastic music, sometimes horrific war scenes, mixed with the most amazing animation. Worth every penny. If its your 1st time ensure you have a friend with you because you will want to discuss the details!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant way of portraying "The Wall" CD, 24 Dec 2007
This review is from: Pink Floyd - The Wall [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
The movie version of Pink Floyd's brilliant album "The Wall" is an unhappy yet superb one. It follows the life of Pink, a hapless guy who has been building an imaginary wall from the very early days of life. Every bad event in his life is another brick in the wall, hence the famous title.

The film indicates how Pink feels throughout the entire movie and goes into a lot of depth with the songs and their meanings. From "The Happiest Days Of Our Lives" to "Waiting For The Worms", all the songs in the movie and the movie itself can send us a serious message about society and how people have social barriers (walls). Pink's case is one example.

Enough said, really. Although the film is quite hard to understand (unless you know the album "The Wall"), this is really enjoyable to watch. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Wall, a great masterpiece, 29 Mar 2000
By A Customer
The Wall is a video that contains the music of the album the Wall. This makes it a very good, video because of the fact that the music in places help's to make the movie hold togepher, and the music in the film is very good even when compared to most of todays artist's , and it is also a very good video because it takes you into the depth of madness only to yank you back out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staple For Any Floyd Fan!!!, 16 Feb 2005
By 
Paul Van Dijk "davebatista" (Middle Of Nowhere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PINK FLOYD THE WALL (DVD)
If you are a Pink Floyd fan then you must own this movie!!!
I always thought that "The Wall" was abit of a patchy album but the songs are brought together so well in the movie that it made me appreciate the album more aswell.
The animated scenes are just breathtaking and really capture the feel of the movie and the message behind it and for the time it was produced the special effects are quite spectacular aswell.
Overall this is a fantastic film that should appeal to anyone not only Pink Floyd fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relativly enjoyable, 4 May 2006
By 
lastchild24 (middle of nowhere) - See all my reviews
I'm a big Pink Floyd Fan and have most of their albums. I bought the albumn (the Wall) in 1980 on record. I have seen the movie several times and found it enjoyble though a little bit dark and strange. Many people complain about the songs like Bring the Boys Back Home and Happiest Days of Our Lives but they are essential to the story in both the movie and the album. The biggest disappointmennt for me was the great song Hey You was not inluded in the movie. The animations were dark yet very essential. The trial was a decent scene. Bob Gedolf does a good job portrying Pink (the main character) throughout the Story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars breathtaking, 18 Nov 2000
fantastic, ive seen the film before , and always wanted to own it, found it dificult to track down in the high street, so ive got it now. It has a mixed bag of features, animation,the floyds brilliant compositions,and some good directing ! keeps you there right to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why not?, 15 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Pink Floyd - The Wall [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
This film is a depressingly reassuring account of human psycology. It differs from the LP because Bob Geldof sings. The extras include an interview with Roger Waters explaining, amoung other things, his inspiration. The sentiment is amazing. The animation dark a true friend. Roger Waters is totally a dude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bob Geldof At His Worst, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Michael Nunley (Northants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pink floyds simply stunning 'The Wall' is brought to its knees by the totally unbelievably lacklustre performance by Bob Geldof in the role of Pink. Simply dreadful and only given the high score of three stars because I couldn't possibly hate anything Floyd did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !, 2 Oct 2000
By A Customer
The Wall is an amazing experience! Please don't be put off by the negative first review, this is a must have for any Floyd fan. This video will draw you in right from the start and you won't blink until it's over. The shocking imagery is strangely compelling and the end result is an un-forgettable experience. Not to mention this video seems timeless, it was made before I was born but I can still enjoy it over and over again today.
What else can I say? You won't regret it.
-Lawrence 'Link' Lanahan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The film is every bit as patchy as the album., 7 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Pink Floyd - The Wall [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
In 1979, Pink Floyd released their double concept album The Wall, which received a mixed reception varying from joy to bewilderment to anger. Personally, I'm not much of a fan. I love Comfortably Numb, all the versions of Another Brick in the Wall and In the Flesh, and I must confess to being in awe of the intricate way the themes of the songs work together, but there's just too much crap on there. Empty Spaces? Bring the Boys Back Home? The Happiest Days of Our Lives? Whose idea were they?! They're self-indulgent rubbish! In all, the album is OK, but hardly a joy to listen to. So, I approached the film with mixed feelings, knowing that the conceptual coherence of the album made it perfect for filming, but also that the flawed nature of the music would leave me cold at times.
It was pretty much as I expected. I enjoyed 'Another Brick in the Wall part 2' and 'Young Lust' and was genuinely touched by 'The Thin Ice'. On the other hand, I found myself reaching for the 'skip scene' button on the interminable 'Mother', and was disappointed by 'The Trial'. I've seen reviews of this film elsewhere that say Alan Parker (director) did a poor job with this film, and that Gerald Scarfe (animator) should have been allowed to do the whole thing. Now I can't deny that I love what Scarfe did with 'Goodbye Blue Sky' - I think it really captures the song's mood well. But it is Alan Parker who seeks to truly tell the story behind Pink (Roger)'s breakdown - he shows that Pink ignored his wife after their marriage and presents this as a possible reason for their divorce, while Scarfe simply presents her as a creature of pure evil exploiting the helpless Pink - probably more how Roger Waters would have wanted to portray her.
If you love the album of The Wall (and you have every right to), then you'll love this film, and please accept my heartfelt apologies for the criticisms I have made of an album you love.
If you have mixed feelings about The Wall, as I did, then this film is still worth checking out. Just have your finger on the mute button and a copy of a better album (perhaps Dark Side of the Moon?) at hand for when the soundtrack gets bad.
All in all, this film is worth its three stars, but it is badly flawed in places so I'm afraid I can't give it a higher rating.
Patrick Beverley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pink Floyd - The Wall [DVD] [1982]
Pink Floyd - The Wall [DVD] [1982] by Alan Parker (DVD - 2006)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews