Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely transformed on DVD!
This DVD is absolutely superb - well deserving the five stars. They've taken a fuzzy, muffled, pan and scan, 20 year old film and just completely transformed it. The picture is razor sharp, and in Widescreen for the first time ever. The all important sound - the main device for progressing the narrative, has been converted into Dolby Digital 5.1 using the original...
Published on 15 Jan. 2001 by Jason Humphries

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful film
Hated every minute of this. My husband said it was a classic and I should watch it but it wasn't for me at all.
Published 15 days ago by CatVon_K


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely transformed on DVD!, 15 Jan. 2001
This DVD is absolutely superb - well deserving the five stars. They've taken a fuzzy, muffled, pan and scan, 20 year old film and just completely transformed it. The picture is razor sharp, and in Widescreen for the first time ever. The all important sound - the main device for progressing the narrative, has been converted into Dolby Digital 5.1 using the original mastertapes. Hooked up through a hi-fi or through a surround sound system it just blows you away.
It's just how The Wall was meant to be watched - but the technology didn't exist to do it justice. But with the advent of home cinema systems this DVD just brings the film to life.
What tops it all off for me are the special features included on the disc - which are so numerous it puts other DVD's to shame. Documentaries, music videos, unreleased footage of the film, interviews, trailers, sound set-up sections - it's got it all.
If you've got The Wall on video and can't see the point in upgrading - ignore those voices and buy this DVD! The transformation from VHS to DVD really is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I was really surprised!, 8 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Pink Floyd - The Wall [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Memory told me this was a dissappointment, many criticise Geldorf's performance - well what else was he supposed to do except act like a screwed up depressed individual, which I think he did well (no offence Bob - I'm backing you on this). I really enjoyed this film after a break of numerous years, some excellent moments visually and aurally, well packaged, and the soundtrack is to dream for - wonderful sound. I found this a satisfying disc and probably now prefer it to the CD. One gripe - the repackaging suggests that the Limited Edition disc is an improvement on the standard version, it isn't ! They seem to me exactly the same - but the packaging in the Limited Edition is much superior and just about justifies buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly enthralling, 23 July 2005
This review is from: Pink Floyd - The Wall [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
The Wall is a masterpiece that compliments the album immensely regardless of what skeptics may say. The music is true to the Pink Floyd fashion and is in my opinion the best they ever made. The music in the film varies from soft acoustic rock like Mother to all out Rock 'n' Roll pieces like Young Lust. In my opinion you couldn't possibly go wrong with The Wall, cracking film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genius for Floydies, 25 Dec. 2002
This film can be seen as two separate entities - as a film in its own right and as an extended music DVD. As a film it is flawed. The film is beautifully shot but the story is often incoherent. This should mean that this film is not worth considering.......wrong!
Seen in its true light, as a visual interpretation of The Wall, it is fantastic. Every moment visually fits the music exactly. So much so that it is hard to figure out whether the music was composed for the film or vice versa.
Every Pink Floyd fan should own this classic, though anybody who has no real interest in Floyd should stay well clear - the film does not stand up on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Pink Floyd Experience, 12 Sept. 2003
By 
Ophiicus (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This groundbreaking movie is a mixture of Roger Waters semi-autobiographical account of a rock stars fall into insanity and Gerald Scarfes custom animations. Directed by Alan Parker this is a challenging film which portrays a breakdown with grim realism and sublime surrealism, quite fitting for the subject matter. It is also unusual in that there is no conventional narrative, the soryline being driven by Pink Floyds music. It could be said to be a fusion of an opera and a rock video.
Apparently because Roger Waters thought it would be too hard for him to act out his own fictionalised breakdown (fair enough), it stars Bob Geldof, who plays the part surprisingly well.
It has been regarded as an alegory against totalitarianism and there are strong neofascist scenes which, although portraying the movement in the poor light most would think it deserves, are more intended as a metaphor for the relationship between the central character and his fans, coloured by the fact that "Pink" lost his father during WWII.
Scarfes brilliant animations are breathtaking, frightening and disturbing, as befits a portayal of psychotic hallucinations.
The remastering work is to be praised: there is no degradation of image as can be seen sometimes on movies with a DVD release some twenty plus yeas after thier cinema release. The picture is crisp and due to the almost timeless nature of the storyline it looks like it could have been released this year for the first time. The quality of the soundtrack is likewise excellent.
The bonus features are interesting and there is a commentary by Waters and Scarfe which can be run alongside the film.
I have seen this film many times, and now I have it looking and sounding as crisp and new looking as it did in 1982, I shall see it many more times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Genuine Piece Of Film Art, 10 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
'Pink Floyd The Wall' succeeds in putting three different artforms together in a symbiotically beautiful way. Pink Floyd's spectacular music, Alan Paker's film, and Gerald Scarfe's animated drawing.
There are so many details and possible interpretations in this film that it is not enough to just watch it once. After ten times, you will still discover new aspects of this historical piece of art. And every single time you watch it, you will still be amazed.
It is simply unique. See it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cult Classic, 22 Nov. 2009
By 
M. Wright (Hertforshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pink Floyd - The Wall [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Absolutely brilliant film. I'm not a hardcore Pink Floyd fan but I do love their music and the story that is The Wall. I have been listening to the album for years and really liked the story and complex emotions and feelings that it puts across which is why I was initially a bit worried about watching this film.
However I can say it completely lived up to, and excelled, my expectations of what I had imagined when just listening to it.
I am now exploring the complex emotion of the film for an Art project and using the brilliant imagery in the film for inspiration.
It's a truly unique film and I would recommend it to anyone who can appreciate a good film. Pink Floyd fan or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No fan should be without the DVD, 10 Oct. 2003
.
You don't need to be a fan of the album to enjoy this, but it helps.
I found the album difficult to understand when it was first released, but it became much clearer when I saw the show in London and finally it all comes together brilliantly with this film. Wonderful visual interpretations and additional tracks to better link the storyline, this is a masterpiece.
This DVD version improves the whole experience again. There are clear improvements in the quality of the picture and the sound track and there are plenty of extras to keep the fans happy.
Pink Floyd have always been self indulgent and Roger Waters has an ego that needs careful handling (something that the excellent director Alan Parker found out a bit too late) and some of the extras are therefore only for die hard fans.
This is an excellent film that has been given another boost. If you liked it on video then buy the DVD - you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great visual demonstration of a superb album, that really tells its story well and enhances it., 16 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Pink Floyd - The Wall [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
This is the 1982 film made to accompany the superb 'The Wall' album by Pink Floyd.
It features Bob Geldof in the starring role of the concept album's main character Pink, and a brief cameo by Bob Hoskins. It follows Pink's mental decline as a burnt out rock star and chronicles the traumas and unfortunate events ('Bricks') that have culminated in him metaphorically building a 'Wall' between himself and the outside world.
The film follows the album and its lyrics religiously and does not really deviate much from the original story. There are both live action scenes and dark animation.The 'real' scenes and the animated passages flow seemlessly, 'Goodbye Blue Sky' is a particiular favourite of mine!
The extras are actually useful and interesting extras as opposed to the 'let's chuck as much left over filler we can to make it look like a better bargain' ethos of many DVD's. They bring insight into the film's creation, the backstory and concept of the album to those new to The Wall and the strife, conflict and atmosphere of its production. There is just enough as well and not too much that it can feel tiresome.
One of the film's flaws is pointed out by Roger Waters' himself in one of the interviews - he was dissatisifed with the lack of humour involved in the film, as he considered it an essential part of his life and the album itself, and it is true that the film can be very dour on the whole. But, considering the album's mostly dark subject matter, it isn't really a suprise, but I personally found myself with a smug grin at certain point e.g. the naked animated wife beating the teacher, the groupies and the phallic tangling flowers can be amusing!
My only complaint is that the superb 'Hey You' is left out of the film (as Waters explains; he felt the film was too long and decided to cut it) but it is contained on the extras along with the accompanying film
A must for Pink Floyd fans and a great way for new fans to visualise the album's concepts. A very different music/visual experience to most other things out there. Weird and wonderful, but just about as accessible as the Floyd gets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wall by Pink Floyd...32 years old and still amazing!, 18 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this after seeing Roger Waters perform The Wall at the London O2 (amazing BTW) on his monster tour in 2011...I just had to get it. I will be buying the Blu Ray of the actual gig but this will keep me going until then. I first heard the wall at 12 years old and instantly fell in love with it. I think if you listen to it carefully and enough times, anyone can relate to the words, music and story in this moving epic film/album.

30 years on and the message is as relevant today as it was back then...a real masterpiece by Waters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pink Floyd - The Wall [DVD] [1982]
Pink Floyd - The Wall [DVD] [1982] by Alan Parker (DVD - 2006)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews