Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Film Debut
This was Richard Jobson's directorial debut and it is a very stylish effort. Clearly, the subject matter is not entirely original - outstanding films have been made on the subject of alcoholism from The Lost Weekend through to My Name Is Joe. But Jobson's effort is a worthwhile entry into this pantheon and he elicits great performances from his actors including Kevin...
Published on 11 Nov. 2011 by Keith M

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE WORST FILMS I HAVE WATCHED IN YEARS
ONE OF THE WORST FILMS I HAVE WATCHED IN YEARS.STARTED OFF O.K BUT I SOON REALISED THAT THE STORY WASNT GOING ANYWHERE AND I WAS RIGHT, THE ENDING WAS TRUELY TERRIBLE
Published 6 months ago by Kelly Rickson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Film Debut, 11 Nov. 2011
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 16 Years of Alcohol [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This was Richard Jobson's directorial debut and it is a very stylish effort. Clearly, the subject matter is not entirely original - outstanding films have been made on the subject of alcoholism from The Lost Weekend through to My Name Is Joe. But Jobson's effort is a worthwhile entry into this pantheon and he elicits great performances from his actors including Kevin McKidd in the lead role with support from Laura Fraser, Susan Lynch and Lewis MacLeod. The film has a number of resemblances for me, notably with the aforementioned My Name Is Joe, but probably more obviously A Clockwork Orange and Gillies MacKinnon's masterpiece Small Faces (in which both McKidd and Fraser gave early impressive performances). Some of the pub singing sequences are also reminiscent of Terence Davies.

However, despite such influences Jobson brings his own particular brand, or mix, of realism and dreamlike quality to the piece, underpinned by a great music score, and (for me) is entirely convincing. Laura Fraser provides a typically stalwart performance as the music store salesperson with whom McKidd becomes infatuated, and Susan Lynch is outstanding as the alcoholics' circle companion trying to wean McKidd off his obsession with alcohol (and violence).

This is just the sort of British film that should receive much greater exposure/promotion on release, instead of the very limited release it was given. Sadly, I don't believe that Jobson has matched this sterling effort in his subsequent films, most appear to have disappeared without trace and New Town Killers (which I did see), whilst an interesting idea (in effect a foretelling of the current global financial crisis!), was not as impressive as this debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hats off to Mr McKidd, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
F. Johnston (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 16 Years of Alcohol [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I hadn't thought Kevin McKidd's acting was very strong in Trainspotting , so was subsequenty really impressed by how he played the character of Frankie Mac. Very strong cast throughout in fact. From the start he was portrayed as quite a thoughtful and theatrical wee boy, who took in everything around him .. and this made the transition to his older personna quite consistant and believable, with that contrast between striving for that beautiful love and good things for his life, and the inevitable triggers that dragged him back into negative self-destruction. I don't know if there is such a term of a mindful. rather than mindless, thug but i think that term would suit Frankie well. You wanted it all to work out for him, but knew at the same time it never would. Some lovely touches where you were never quite sure whether his simmering anger was about to erupt or not. There were one or two little things that annoyed me in the film, but they were minor and to bring them up would be nit picking.... so not a perfect 5 , but a strong 4 :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good first attempt, 16 Oct. 2006
By 
Colin E. Green "colingreen44" (Dumfries,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For his first full length feature former Skids frontman Richard Jobson has come up with an extremely good debut. Watching the main character Frankie's downward spiral to oblivion, despite the efforts of others to save him, is sad yet compelling. Kevin McKidd gives an excellent performance as the doomed Frankie who is all too aware of the direction that he is headed but is powerless to do anything about it. As an added bonus there are some great shots of Edinburgh, particularly of the parts the tourists will seldom tread. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE WORST FILMS I HAVE WATCHED IN YEARS, 15 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 16 Years Of Alcohol (DVD)
ONE OF THE WORST FILMS I HAVE WATCHED IN YEARS.STARTED OFF O.K BUT I SOON REALISED THAT THE STORY WASNT GOING ANYWHERE AND I WAS RIGHT, THE ENDING WAS TRUELY TERRIBLE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you can bottle it, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 16 Years of Alcohol [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Thats a long time to be drunk but i was sober when i watch it cheers good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not too sure anymore, 9 Nov. 2008
By 
M. Gantzer "mellowgold" (scotland NE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 16 Years of Alcohol [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
when i watched this when it first came out, i remember feeling quite moved. But now in 2008 and after a second view i've had a change of heart. It's lost it's flow and something isn't working. The script and acting feel forced and not quite natural. It feels more often than not like a tv production or a better than average student film. The characters are unengaging and fairly one dimensional. The film relies far too much on the voice narration, some of which is poetic but it is just lazy film making, i felt this way about the use of stills also. - sorry to say. The time frame was a bit confusing, i didn't know what decade it was supossed to be in, a lack of continuity perhaps. Edinburgh was a nice location but i've never seen it look so empty and sparce. The piano score is too much, over sentimental, force feeeding the emotion upon the viewer. On a positive note the film does finish well. I appreciate what Jobson has done here, or has tried to do but i'll not watch it again i don't think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 16 Years of Alcohol [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Lethal 👍👍🏾
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

16 Years of Alcohol [DVD] [2003]
16 Years of Alcohol [DVD] [2003] by Richard Jobson (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: £3.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews