Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect entertainment - not just on New Years Eve
This is the compilation I've been waiting for for a long time. I'm probably not the only one to have asked the BBC zillions of times to release some Hootenanny material. You watch it every year, you tape it (if you're lucky enough to remember), you enjoy it, but it's sometimes hard to remember how excellent most of the performances are... emptying a bottle of champagne...
Published on 8 Dec. 2003 by Jan Willem Wilkens

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Subtitles
Well I should say they have only subtitled the dialogue and not the performances themselves - WHAT IS THE POINT! This item is 'Subtitled Dialogue Only', to avoid other deaf and hard of hearing people making a mis-informed purchase.
Published on 4 Mar. 2011 by ThatDeafGuy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect entertainment - not just on New Years Eve, 8 Dec. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the compilation I've been waiting for for a long time. I'm probably not the only one to have asked the BBC zillions of times to release some Hootenanny material. You watch it every year, you tape it (if you're lucky enough to remember), you enjoy it, but it's sometimes hard to remember how excellent most of the performances are... emptying a bottle of champagne. And the songs that are not worth a top rating are still good fun, as you can always enjoy the Jools' Orchestra & singers (Sam Brown is a knock-out !).
This is more than two hours of music performances worth watching.
Whilst not all the singers are in the december mood like Tom Jones & mrs Matthews from Catatonia (notably Chrissie Hinde seems a little out of style), you can enjoy this the moment you feel like it. It might even give cause to open the champagne after all.
On the critical side one might say it is a pity there are no interviews on the disc with some notable new year's resolutions from the audience to enhance the spirit even more & out of 34 songs there are 5 from the latest Hootenanny (01-01-2003). A bit out of balance, but that might hold a promise for more seasonal releases. HOOTENANNY !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class from the start, 8 Sept. 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Later...Giants [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Track 1 from 1999 is Paul McCartney playing Chuck Berry's "Brown Eyed Handsome Man". Ian Paice on Drums, Pete Wingfield Keyboards, David Gilmore Guitar. Pretty good? Well there is another 31 tracks on the DVD and the standard is maintained throughout.

If you're looking for great musicianship check-out George Benson playing Broadway. He's quite good on Guitar!

Georgie Fame does a marvellous version of Yeh Yeh. He's only playing with a quintet, rather than the full Orchestra, but they are all top quality musicians, so it has a different sort of power. Fame's voice is still as good as ever, really his voice is like a sixth instrument - listen to him to hold those long notes.

Theres other good stuff here: Johnny Cash performs Fulsom Prison Blues from 1994. Patti Smith and Guitar perform Because the Night. Bobby Whitlock (with EC on Guitar) does an emotional version of Bell bottom Blues. Paul Weller doing A Town Called malice. Steve Winwood jams with Jools in 2003 on 'Gimme Some Lovin'.

Naturally people who are 'Giants' will tend to be artists of an older generation so Robbie Williams doing a version of Suspicious Minds is the only vaguely contempary artist on the DVD. After that its REM then its back into the 70's or earlier.

Of course what I like and what you like is unlikely to be the same, but if you don't mind the older material, and enjoy the variety here there is likely to be something for everyone.

A special mention for Ian Dury and the Blockheads from 1998. Ian Dury was already ill when this was recorded but survived for another 18 months. So its great to see him and the Blockheads again doing "Sex and Drugs and Rock N Roll", and a fitting way to end the DVD.

This DVD set comes with a decent booklet giving you a moderate amount of information on each track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so that's who Georgie Fame is..., 3 Dec. 2003
By 
Jeremy Williams (Luton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Later...Giants [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Disc three of the three ten years anniversary Later discs is 'Later...with Jools Holland Giants' and focuses on 30 legendary artists, not all of whom are old. Most are, but that's no bad thing when Joe Strummer revisits 'London Calling', or Pete Townsend appears alone on stage with just his Strat for company and still cooks up an absolute storm. Jools has a showdown with his mentor, white bearded voodoo jazzman Dr John, Leonard Cohen is coaxed out of his monastery for 'Dance me to the end of love' and the grizzled Willie Nelson and his ancient guitar could have stepped straight out of the American Civil War, but his song is beautiful.
Every artist on the list is worthy of a place, though Ronnie Spector and Divine Comedy doing the Beach Boys 'Don't Worry Baby' is borderline. Elvis Costello scrapes in with a spirited performance of 'I don't want to go to Chelsea', and a disturbingly moustachioed Patti Smith just makes it with 'Because the night', de-housed from it's recent Ibiza incanation. Even Robbie Williams holds his own with an unrehearsed 'Suspicious Minds'. I doubted him, especially since he admitted he didn't know all the words and apologised in advance, but he pulls it off, despite playing in front of a picture of his own arse.
Of course, with legends comes eccentricity, so we're treated to Solomon Burke singing from a huge throne, and Bo Diddley covered in gold, playing a square guitar and singing 'Bo Diddley is crazy'.
Mostly though, this collection serves to put voices and faces to names, for the benefit of music plebs like myself. So that's who Georgie Fame is...
4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get boogyin with a collection of groovy collaborations!, 22 Jun. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best way of starting your Jools Holland collection and for the fans....well just another one to your ever-growing collection! hehe anyway, Some really fantastic performances and memories that take you back to the days that Jools had some funny hair-styles..The amazing collaborations with people like BB King, Chas 'N' Dave, Dr John, Huey Morgan, Eric Clapton, Paul Weller, Beverly Knight, Solomon Burke, Tom Jones and loads more!!!
The get-together every year and for New Years eve, the best dvd to boogie with or to just sit back and enjoy!! The British will always have something to be proud of!
Ladies and gentleman, let's Hootenanny!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute hoot, 8 Sept. 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The previous reviewers are not wrong, this is fabulous.

There are 34 tracks, amounting to just over 2 hours of great music. OK not all of them are going to be to everyones taste, but most are so good you can't really complain.

I love Paul Weller doing the late Billy Prestons "Will It Go Round In Circles" in 1997. I didn't know it was a Billy Preston song until long after I first saw this Paul Weller Performance. Immediately following this is Sharleen Spiteri belting out a fantastic version of "Surrender" in 1999. Again I've never heard this song before, and I don't know anything by Texas but this is great. She puts everything into this performance and you can't ask more of an artist than that.

My absolute favourite is Gary Brooker doing A Whiter Shade of Pale. I remember watching this in 2001 and thinking will it be even remotely like the classic record from 1967? Well this brought tears to my eyes. Gary Brookers voice is still as good, if not better than it was in 1967, bluesy, and in fact very close to being like Ray Charles. I never tire of watching this track.

Of course not everything is perfect, John Cale (who I'm a big fan of) seems out of place singing an old Sinatra number, and there are a few others I could mention, but this is mostly down to personal taste more than anything.

Of course a lot of credit must go to Jools and the Rhythm and Blues Orchestra for providing wonderful backing to this assortment of great talent.

Have a glass of wine, play loud and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HIP HOP HAPPY & SOULFULLY STIMULATED, 5 July 2005
This review is from: Later With Jools Holland - Hip Hop Soul [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This DVD opens with a dynamite performance from Mary J Blige, which sets the tone for the rest of the DVD. This DVD is a mixed bag of tricks with great performances from greats past and present. With Angie Stone stealing the show featuring in her own right as a feature artist, and supporting others even as an uncredited backing singer. A must for all music lovers this DVD would make a great addition to anyones collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great performances by great artists, 24 Oct. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Later...Giants [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Jools Holland, himself an accomplished musician, is the host of a long-running television show with the BBC, that features live performances by the best in the music business. Some of the best moments are collected on this dvd. There's everything, from Tony Bennett (perhaps the odd one out) to Tom Jones, to Robbie Williams, to Paul Weller, Solomon Burke, Dr. John, Patti Smith, even to Willie Nelson and many more. What a range! Not only that; it's the 'effortless' excellence of their performances that is really stunning. Sometimes (mostly) many years after their initial succes, they give the songs they play such feeling, vibrancy, and class that makes these versions much better than the 'originals'. I bought this dvd because of artists as Paul Weller, Dr. John and Elvis Costello. But I fell in love with Joe Strummer, Bobby Whitlock and Al Green. There's something for everyone on this dvd, but the collection as such is perfect for lovers of good, honest music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Later with Jools Holland - Hootenanny (1992), 23 Feb. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a regular viewer of Hootenanny ever since it was first broadcasted and I can honestly say that this DVD is absolutely fabulous. It has taken the very best performances of the best artists from all the New Year shows and compiled them into a feast of entertainment. The atmosphere is great and I enjoyed every minute of it. Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar magic, 25 Mar. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Later...Giants [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Townsend, playing "Magic Bus" solo, on a Fender telecaster(not a Strat!) is worth the money alone!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say, 21 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Later With Jools Holland - Hip Hop Soul [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I've just spent 15 months out of the country, and one of the things I wished I had with me was this DVD, just to keep my sanity... An excellent DVD full of great artists. Albeit too brief performances by some, a great selection. Well worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Later With Jools Holland - Hip Hop Soul [DVD] [1992]
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews