Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Watched it with all the family on christmas day. I've seen it before many times but it always cracks me up. Never seen my family laugh so much. From start to finish you'll be in bits!
Published on 6 Jan. 2005 by Ciaran McCarthy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not bad..
Published 9 months ago by kenneth Solomon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Watched it with all the family on christmas day. I've seen it before many times but it always cracks me up. Never seen my family laugh so much. From start to finish you'll be in bits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I actually hurt myself laughing!!, 2 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I watched this on my own, in my bedroom and I laughed so hard that I scared my dog!! I won't spoil it by telling you the funniest bits but suffice it to say that it is quality from beginning to end. I would not reccommend that you buy this if you are easily offended or if you are not interested in/familiar with Black American culture. I can also envisage that Rock's comic style may be irritating to some people (he kind of shouts his way through his act in a manic way), but personally I think he makes it work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock is a genius, 4 May 2009
By 
MLA (Jakarta, Indonesia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Chris Rock is devastatingly funny. He's about as good a mainstream stand-up as there is in the past decade. This show is now ten years old and although clearly of it's time still resonates with his incisive wit. Rock takes on taboo subjects and delights in winding up his audience with well thought out humour.

In taking on taboo subjects, Rock occasionally falls on the wrong side of the argument but his observation and his understanding of people, particularly relationships is tremendous. Genius is in describing the obvious in simple language and Rock takes what is in front of our eyes every day yet never really acknowledged and points out things we all know but never notice.

Rock's delivery is not great here and his monotone shouted voice might be a little off-putting. The show is also not really long enough and though billed at just over an hour is not enough when the intro, outro, and Rock's segues are part of that time.

What is amazing about this dvd though is how it captures the time. This set comes a year before George Bush and looking back on the political issues of the day through Rock's eyes it is unbelievable to think how much changed from the Clinton era through Bush and now Obama. The US has changed enormously in 10 years and this set should be compulsory viewing to see how quickly things move on.

While it may well help to be black as much of Rock's work has ethnic elements, anyone can appreciate the genius here. Rock's awareness of gender roles and relationships is unparalleled and the truisms are riotously funny. This is classic Chris Rock, be aware that it doesn't last that long but get it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious from start to finish, 14 Nov. 2004
By 
M. Tiffney "Merlin vdm" (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a first class entertainer at his best. Using somewhat taboo subjects and making them extreamly funny. Didn't stop laughing from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great comedian, 26 Mar. 2008
By 
K. Roycroft "LadyK" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Loud, outrageous and hysterically funny. Chris Rock has a real way with words and he speaks the truth in an honest way that many people can relate to. He steamrollers straight into controversial topics but the act is very likeable and fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 July 2014
By 
Geri (London UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Totally hilarious. Seen this countless times over the years, seen everything he's done. I purchased this for a friend and they loved it!! If you don't get Chris Rocks sense of humour then this is not for you - so Google him and watch him first. He speaks the plain facts which people think but don't necessarily say and the language isn't for the conservative types. You've been warned....lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Leaves you wanting more, 7 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Chris Rock is brilliant here. His observations are top notch and his delivery is hilarious.
I particularly liked his piece leading up to "the big piece of chicken".
Filmed during the Clinton era, my only criticism is that this DVD, at under an hour of actual standup, was just too short.
Luckily it stands up to multiple viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger & Blacker, 20 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Brilliant, incredibly witty observations about modern life and people. There are many simple answers in the repertoire to todays problems. "5000 dollars a bullet" - absolutely brilliant. Clinton behemothed by the state over something not that important in the grand scheme of things. Hilarious show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chris ROCKS!, 31 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
As ever he comes out on the stage with such presence and confidence that before he has even said anything i know right away im going to like this stand up.

He's quick-witted and full of new funny jokes.

i think anybody would be stupid not to like this DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest, 30 April 2007
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Treating some taboo subjects, Chris Rock may reveal some aspects to you that till now you were afraid or didn't wish to talk about. Also, its sayings may open your eyes on some matters, if you're a man or a women.

No matter the country where you live, this would apply to you too. There are always men hiding porn magazines or women who hate oral sex.

You got to buy this. After watching you'l think clearer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004]
Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] by Keith Truesdell (DVD - 2004)
£3.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews