Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock is a genius
Chris Rock is devastatingly funny. He's about as good a mainstream stand-up as there is in the past decade. This show is now ten years old and although clearly of it's time still resonates with his incisive wit. Rock takes on taboo subjects and delights in winding up his audience with well thought out humour.

In taking on taboo subjects, Rock occasionally...
Published on 4 May 2009 by MLA

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another big disappointment
Like the last review this also had no subtitles so no good to me. Another one passed to my son..........CW......
Published 9 months ago by apricot 2008


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock is a genius, 4 May 2009
By 
MLA (Wien, Österreich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Chris Rock is devastatingly funny. He's about as good a mainstream stand-up as there is in the past decade. This show is now ten years old and although clearly of it's time still resonates with his incisive wit. Rock takes on taboo subjects and delights in winding up his audience with well thought out humour.

In taking on taboo subjects, Rock occasionally falls on the wrong side of the argument but his observation and his understanding of people, particularly relationships is tremendous. Genius is in describing the obvious in simple language and Rock takes what is in front of our eyes every day yet never really acknowledged and points out things we all know but never notice.

Rock's delivery is not great here and his monotone shouted voice might be a little off-putting. The show is also not really long enough and though billed at just over an hour is not enough when the intro, outro, and Rock's segues are part of that time.

What is amazing about this dvd though is how it captures the time. This set comes a year before George Bush and looking back on the political issues of the day through Rock's eyes it is unbelievable to think how much changed from the Clinton era through Bush and now Obama. The US has changed enormously in 10 years and this set should be compulsory viewing to see how quickly things move on.

While it may well help to be black as much of Rock's work has ethnic elements, anyone can appreciate the genius here. Rock's awareness of gender roles and relationships is unparalleled and the truisms are riotously funny. This is classic Chris Rock, be aware that it doesn't last that long but get it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Jan 2005
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Watched it with all the family on christmas day. I've seen it before many times but it always cracks me up. Never seen my family laugh so much. From start to finish you'll be in bits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I actually hurt myself laughing!!, 2 Jan 2008
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I watched this on my own, in my bedroom and I laughed so hard that I scared my dog!! I won't spoil it by telling you the funniest bits but suffice it to say that it is quality from beginning to end. I would not reccommend that you buy this if you are easily offended or if you are not interested in/familiar with Black American culture. I can also envisage that Rock's comic style may be irritating to some people (he kind of shouts his way through his act in a manic way), but personally I think he makes it work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious from start to finish, 14 Nov 2004
By 
M. Tiffney "Merlin vdm" (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a first class entertainer at his best. Using somewhat taboo subjects and making them extreamly funny. Didn't stop laughing from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great comedian, 26 Mar 2008
By 
K. Roycroft "LadyK" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Loud, outrageous and hysterically funny. Chris Rock has a real way with words and he speaks the truth in an honest way that many people can relate to. He steamrollers straight into controversial topics but the act is very likeable and fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 July 2014
By 
Geri (London UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Totally hilarious. Seen this countless times over the years, seen everything he's done. I purchased this for a friend and they loved it!! If you don't get Chris Rocks sense of humour then this is not for you - so Google him and watch him first. He speaks the plain facts which people think but don't necessarily say and the language isn't for the conservative types. You've been warned....lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is one of Chriss' best work. I loved it, so funny, I would highly recommend it. Not for the faint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and Fun, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
It is a great DVD to watch when you need a lift and a laugh. A good one to add to your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bigger and blacker, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
absolutely funny a definite must see had me in stitches, never really been a chris rock fan but would definitely recommend arrived sooner than expected aswell :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny!, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Very very funnym chris Rock is on fire, great DVD as present or for your collection!
Would defo recommend. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004]
Chris Rock: Bigger And Blacker [DVD] [2004] by Keith Truesdell (DVD - 2004)
£3.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews