Customer Reviews


283 Reviews
5 star:
 (231)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Santa Clause is coming to town
This film is sooo funny. If you are looking for a feel-good Christmas film that will make you laugh out loud then this is it. If you are a child (big or small!)then this film is perfect for getting you in the Christmas spirit and has you believing in Santa all over again. The scene where Buddy (Will Ferrell) pushes in front of all the children in his excitement to see...
Published on 25 Oct 2006 by Pink Princess

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Who sent the Christmas gram?...
Buddy was a baby in an orphanage who stowed away in Santa's sack and ended up at the North Pole.

Later, as an adult human who happened to be raised by elves, Santa allows him to go to New York City to find his birth father, Walter Hobbs.

Hobbs, on Santa's naughty list for being heartless, had no idea that Buddy was even born.

Buddy,...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Santa Clause is coming to town, 25 Oct 2006
By 
Pink Princess (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
This film is sooo funny. If you are looking for a feel-good Christmas film that will make you laugh out loud then this is it. If you are a child (big or small!)then this film is perfect for getting you in the Christmas spirit and has you believing in Santa all over again. The scene where Buddy (Will Ferrell) pushes in front of all the children in his excitement to see santa again and then exposes him as the fake he is, is hysterical. In fact a giant elf walking around New York and acting like an excited kid is hilarious. But this film is also heart-warming in a Scrooge-esque kind of way, where grumpy old business man realises that family is more important than money and when everyone starts singing "Santa Claus is coming to town" to prove their faith in Santa I can feel that Christmas excitement buzzing around in my belly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest Christmas films EVER!!, 9 Nov 2004
By 
Gary Hilton "ursinebrute" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last! ELF gets an appropriate (if slightly overdue) festive release!
Ferrell starts as Buddy, the 'elf' of the title, a baby mistakenly taken to the north pole and raised along with the rest of Santa's elven helpers. As he grows up he can't understand why he towers 4 feet over all the other elves, or why he doesn't have pointed ears? Eventually, he learns of his origins and sets off to the big city to find his real father.
Once there, he becomes comically confused by the modern day interpretation of Christmas and starts to despair when the true spirit of Christmas seems to be lost. Think of this film as a cross between Dudley Moore's 'Santa Claus The Movie' and Steve Martins 'The Jerk' and you will get the idea.
Most of the fun in this film comes from Ferrells charming and at the same time manic performance, and he clearly carries the whole film, although the supporting cast are also strong.
A wonderful family film, this is one the most delighful Christmas films ever made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murdoch is the Grinch, 23 Nov 2013
This review is from: Elf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Everyone knows how great Elf is - read all the other reviews.

This year however Elf can only be seen in the UK by Sky Movie subscribers because Murdoch has used his considerable wealth to swipe it away from Channel 4 which anyone could watch. Buy your own copy thereby saving many pounds in subscriptions and the horror of a dish on the side of your house (and all that says about you as a person).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun For Everyone, 14 Dec 2008
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I don't usually enjoy Christmas movies, they really don't often make me feel that good - plus I feel the way they all have to have happy endings is just unreal, but then again, they are Christmas films, where we can just loose ourselves in a crazy tale.

Elf is just that, a crazy tale of a baby who ends up inside Santa's bag of toys. He gets himself back to the North Pole, and is raised by the elves there. He soon realises he's not an elf, this makes him sad, so to get him to feel good about himself they send him to find his father.

This is actually a breath of fresh air, Farrell as Buddy is great, his mix of craziness and pure cluelessness just makes it hilarious - and backed by a great acting team (Mary Steenburgen, Zooey Deschanel and Andy Richter) who just make this a joy to watch. Definitely aimed at the 11-14 age group, this film is very funny and has all the great things Christmas movies should have, happiness, sadness, excitement and most of all, a tale that's just right, not too sickening yet not too hard - oh and an underlying message and reminding us all the real values of Christmas.

I highly recommend this, it's funny and heart-warming, plus it's good fun and you can watch it with the kids and gran without worrying that there will be swearing or violence.

This goes into my top 3, alongside National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation [1989 and Home Alone [1990, which was my first favourite Christmas movie when I was 11.

Go on, buy it, you have nothing to loose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas classic receives an upgrade, 22 Nov 2008
By 
Film Buff (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elf [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Elf looks fantastic on blu-ray. I received the disc this morning and flicked through the movie. It's a definite improvement over the standard DVD but from what I saw it's not demo material (unfortunatley) Still I'd rate the movie 3.5/5 for picture quality which is really good. The sound is Dolby True HD which is superb. The extras seem to be presented in full 1080p (unlike the US release) I watched the trailer and started to play the making of features and the average speed was 19mps to 20+mps. The extras are impressive - two commentarys, Elf Karaoke, several documentarys, deleted scenes and the trailer. It's worth noting that the picture on the cover is different from the one shown. It has Buddy and a bunch of smaller Elf's looking up at him. The writing is in a different place too. The cover shown here is the US version (personally I think ours is better). I can't imagine that anyone will be disapointed by this blu-ray release. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !!!!!sooofunny!!!!!!!!!!, 12 Nov 2004
This review is from: Elf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Ok so, Will Ferrel is the funniest guy on earth, it HAS to be said. This film is a classic, i saw it at the movies and it was so good I almost cried laughing and choked on my pop corn enough times! I also cried in the romantic bits! It's such a great film and so Christmasy you will love it! I can't beleive it took a whole year to come out on dvd, may be its because its christmas time, but I am so excited to buy it, and I am sure that the film is so great on dvd. I hope all you guys enjoy it! if you want a great laugh and a fantastic feel good fun film, then buy this!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Francisco; that's fun to say!, 20 Dec 2007
This review is from: Elf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I was reluctant to watch this film at first as I thought it would be a just another cheesy kids' film. I'm so glad I did, it's hilarious. It is of course primarily a childrens film but it's great for people of all ages to enjoy. It's quite silly which I love and this adds to the charm of the film and Will Ferrell is fantastic as Buddy. There are some laugh out loud moments,one of my favourites being when Buddy gets so excited that Santa is coming to the department store he 'works' at. 'Santa's coming.....I know him!'. I think some reviewers may be taking the film a little too seriously, moaning about the elves costumes and thinking way too much about how Buddy got from the North Pole to NYC (through the sea of swirly gum drops and the Lincoln Tunnel of course), it's a film about an Elf, get over it!

Anyway, this is an excellent family film, fantastic to watch again and again and even more so at Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill festive fun, 19 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Elf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
My favourite Christmas film. Will is excellent in this "laugh out loud" festive comedy. Watched it in the cinema when it came out and bought the DVD. Basic storyline is baby lived in orphanage - got caught in santa's sack when he delivered presents. Got taken back my mistake to Santa's homeland. Grew up with the elves and eventually realised he was "different". Set sail to New York to find his Dad. Finds life in NYC both fun and hard to deal with. Eventually finds his dad who is on Santa's naughty list!! Bonds with his new found family - but upsets an important client of his new found dad and is thrown out. Eventually finds love and restore NYC's christmas cheer.....A feel good, christmasy, fun filled film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True brilliance!!, 25 Oct 2005
By 
Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I adored this film. It has a real christmassy atmosphere, and Will Ferrell is simply hilarious. I didn't stop laughing from start to finish, it was just so funny! Definitely one I will show my children in the future, and a christmas movie that is surely going to be a classic!
Make sure you watch this one, I guarantee it will be worth it! 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Christmas!, 18 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Elf [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Bah humbug to the review below that says only the kids will enjoy this! If you have any Christmas spirit or you love Christmas films, then this is a must have.
I have a large collection of Christmas films, including the oldies, but this is near the top of my list of best related films out there!
Farrell as all the others put in a great performance.
Some of the reviews slating this film seem to be from 'farrell fans'. I've never seen him in anything else, but this is truly great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elf [DVD] [2003]
Elf [DVD] [2003] by Jon Favreau (DVD - 2004)
3.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews