Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
65
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

If you've already got another Christmas compilation of this type, you may already have the tracks by Band Aid, Shaking Stevens, Greg Lake, Elton John, Cliff Richard, Jona Lewie and some others, but with sixty tracks here, there should still be plenty you haven't got. Indeed, several recordings are fairly recent (at the time this collection was released in 2004), by artists such as Dido (Christmas Day), Darkness (Christmas time) and Gary Jules (Mad world) so whatever Christmas music you already have, there will be something new for you here. Other notable inclusions are Bruce Springsteen (Santa Claus is coming to town), Neil Diamond (You make it feel like Christmas), Cyndi Lauper (Early Christmas morning), Pretenders (2000 miles) and Wham (Last Christmas), none of which appear on Christmas compilations as often as they deserve to.
The festive and religious aspects of Christmas are both well represented. Some of the tracks aren't strictly Christmas songs, but either they have a religious theme or they were big UK hits at Christmas time in their original year of release.
With three CD's of very diverse musical styles, everybody will find something to like (presumably most of it), something to hate (hopefully not much) and something that they wish had been included but isn't. Many of the obvious omissions can be found on other UK Christmas compilations such as Best Christmas in the world ever. If you only want to own one Christmas collection of this type, you would be wise to compare them all. If (like me), you like to own more than one, you'll get some duplication but you'll still find plenty of tracks here that aren't available on the other compilations.
I said that everybody will find something to hate - in my case, it's Wombling Merry Christmas, but it was a major UK hit when first released. As such, I suppose it was overdue for release on a Christmas compilation - but I still don't like it.
Whether this is your first Christmas album or you already have plenty of Christmas music, you should find plenty to enjoy here.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 April 2007
It is a sad and simple truth that the perfect Xmas album does not exist, since no single record company or collection thereof own all the rights to all the songs you are going to want to hear. There is, however, a straightforward solution.

1)Buy this album. It is, despite its shortcomings, fantastic value(I got my copy for less than a fiver), it is after all a triple CD pack with 60 songs on it.
2)Buy "The best Christmas Album in the world...ever!"(yes there is some overlap but it does feature just about all those missing songs or superior versions that are required).
3)Make the "Most Perfect Xmas Album in the World Ever" by combining the above.If you own or have access to a computer(which I'm guessing you do if you're reading this) then it won't be too hard.
44 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2005
This is just a message for the unwary before you buy this.
If, like me, you're looking for an album of Christmas classics and you want the original artists then despite the impressive-looking list of song titles, DON'T BUY THIS!!!!!
I foolishly glanced down the playlist and (duped by the title "60 Festive Favourites") immediately thought this is exactly what I was looking for. ENTIRELY my own fault - should have looked closer.
There are a number of great songs on here to be sure - a couple of my favourites are Eva Cassidy's Over the Rainbow, Gary Joules Mad World both cover versions too but who in their right minds would want to listen to Michael Bolton singing White Christmas in favour of Bing Crosby and Destiny's Child banging out Little Drummer Boy I'm afraid I fail to see.
And to be fair there are many of the original artists singing their Christmas offerings that would definitely fall into the category of "Festive Favourites" (Band Aid, Greg Lake, Jona Lewie to quote a few) but I felt the number of covers left me with an overwhelming sense of disappointment. This compilation fell way short of my expectation.
That said if you're looking for some old and new renditions of Christmas songs then this may be just what you're looking for....
0Comment| 110 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2004
At first glance, this is probably the best christmas album available, as there aren't really many songs you wish were or were not on it. But it has versions of songs which seemed better done by other people. Here are some of them...
DISC 1: 1. Bruce Springsteen - Santa Claus Is Coming To Town (maybe not everyone will agree with me but I much prefer the Jackson 5 rendition)
9. Michael Bolton - White Christmas (the Bing Crosby one was better)
DISC 2: 10. Steps - Merry Christmas Everybody (STEPS?! its enough to make a grown man cry! What happened to the classic Slade original?)
DISC 3: 4. Brenda Lee - Rocking Around The Christmas Tree (not that bad but the Mel & Kim was better)
Another thing, why bother putting two versions of the same song on one album (All I Want For Christmas, Little Drummer Boy). I for one would prefer losing the second versions for better christmas songs which were criminally left out from this album...
And call me sad but if they've got songs by Westlife and N*Sync, why cant we have a spice girls song like 2 Become 1 or Goodbye?
Overall though, this is great christmas album, and if you don't mind not having those songs you wish were there this is certainly one to consider, with great new additions like The Darkness and Proper Crimbo
11 comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2007
I feel a little bit ripped off by this CD set... you read the list of songs and it sounds great, but then you play many of them and they're really bland soul-less covers, cheesy pop versions, or versions by no one you've heard before.

I thought I'd found a gem here, with all the great songs, but sadly its not the case. Several of the songs are the versions you DO want, such as Santa Baby and Rocking Around The Christmas Tree, but if you're wanting all of the song versions you know well, this might not be for you.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
And in many ways all the better for it as I have the well known or common versions. It also had a few tracks I was really after, eg. Mariah Carey's All I want for Christmas..... yes it's overplayed and pop, so what, it's a great catchy tune and a change from Mario Lanza's Christmas albums, Carol concerts etc, of which I have quite a number, yes a broad taste in music or anything for that matter means you have more things to relish, especially when it's food.
Anyways back to this CD or actually all 3 in a box set, great value, bought used in "as new" condition. Amazon do not alllow prices to be mentioned, but the postage was far more than the item. If you want a few Christmas albums, try buying used in the middle of summer, lowest prices ever. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2012
Bought both the 3 and newer 4cd versions of this. Mainly becuase I wanted EVA Cassidy and Britney Houston and springsteen santa claus is comong to town. Also Got he 4 disc at a better price, the carols are lovely. Now i'm in my 40's ( not that old i know) but i' drifing towars the more classics like dean Martin and Hymns. There are a few differences between the 2 versions and some songs are in different roder, unfortunatley they only arrived 2 nd 3 days before xmas so i havent really had the chance to play lots and figure out which ones are different on the two versions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2005
This is an excellent christmas album, which mixes old singers and modern singers together. There are naturally some tracks which are poor, but that is expected when there are 60 (eg. Steps- Merry Christmas Everybody). However the vast majority are of supreme quality and there are even a few classics included, eg Mariah Carey, Wham. This album has it all!!!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2007
This would have been the perfect christmas CD - but it is missing 2 of the most important songs in popular music christmas history - wizzard and slade! Disappointing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2007
A very poor collection of christmas songs. Why is it so hard to release a CD with all the known favourites on it with originals. Every year i have to make my own.
And since when was Mad World ever a christmas song? Just because it was a christmas number one, doesnt make it christmas in the slightest. What is wrong with these people. Its the same story with East 17 and Stay another day. Nothing christmas about it. Big deal, was number one at christmas and the video had some snow in it. Get over it.

And proper crimbo from bo-selecta. Are they having a laugh at us mugs? It just says it all. And then Steps instead of the original classic!!! That was a novelty song and should not be on a Christmas CD.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)