Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mix of old and new Christmas music
If you've already got another Christmas compilation of this type, you may already have the tracks by Band Aid, Shaking Stevens, Greg Lake, Elton John, Cliff Richard, Jona Lewie and some others, but with sixty tracks here, there should still be plenty you haven't got. Indeed, several recordings are fairly recent (at the time this collection was released in 2004), by...
Published on 24 Feb. 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
110 of 119 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware!
This is just a message for the unwary before you buy this.
If, like me, you're looking for an album of Christmas classics and you want the original artists then despite the impressive-looking list of song titles, DON'T BUY THIS!!!!!
I foolishly glanced down the playlist and (duped by the title "60 Festive Favourites") immediately thought this is...
Published on 5 Dec. 2005


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mix of old and new Christmas music, 24 Feb. 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
If you've already got another Christmas compilation of this type, you may already have the tracks by Band Aid, Shaking Stevens, Greg Lake, Elton John, Cliff Richard, Jona Lewie and some others, but with sixty tracks here, there should still be plenty you haven't got. Indeed, several recordings are fairly recent (at the time this collection was released in 2004), by artists such as Dido (Christmas Day), Darkness (Christmas time) and Gary Jules (Mad world) so whatever Christmas music you already have, there will be something new for you here. Other notable inclusions are Bruce Springsteen (Santa Claus is coming to town), Neil Diamond (You make it feel like Christmas), Cyndi Lauper (Early Christmas morning), Pretenders (2000 miles) and Wham (Last Christmas), none of which appear on Christmas compilations as often as they deserve to.
The festive and religious aspects of Christmas are both well represented. Some of the tracks aren't strictly Christmas songs, but either they have a religious theme or they were big UK hits at Christmas time in their original year of release.
With three CD's of very diverse musical styles, everybody will find something to like (presumably most of it), something to hate (hopefully not much) and something that they wish had been included but isn't. Many of the obvious omissions can be found on other UK Christmas compilations such as Best Christmas in the world ever. If you only want to own one Christmas collection of this type, you would be wise to compare them all. If (like me), you like to own more than one, you'll get some duplication but you'll still find plenty of tracks here that aren't available on the other compilations.
I said that everybody will find something to hate - in my case, it's Wombling Merry Christmas, but it was a major UK hit when first released. As such, I suppose it was overdue for release on a Christmas compilation - but I still don't like it.
Whether this is your first Christmas album or you already have plenty of Christmas music, you should find plenty to enjoy here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Simple Solution., 11 April 2007
By 
William J. Walker "Billyjay" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
It is a sad and simple truth that the perfect Xmas album does not exist, since no single record company or collection thereof own all the rights to all the songs you are going to want to hear. There is, however, a straightforward solution.

1)Buy this album. It is, despite its shortcomings, fantastic value(I got my copy for less than a fiver), it is after all a triple CD pack with 60 songs on it.
2)Buy "The best Christmas Album in the world...ever!"(yes there is some overlap but it does feature just about all those missing songs or superior versions that are required).
3)Make the "Most Perfect Xmas Album in the World Ever" by combining the above.If you own or have access to a computer(which I'm guessing you do if you're reading this) then it won't be too hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


110 of 119 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware!, 5 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
This is just a message for the unwary before you buy this.
If, like me, you're looking for an album of Christmas classics and you want the original artists then despite the impressive-looking list of song titles, DON'T BUY THIS!!!!!
I foolishly glanced down the playlist and (duped by the title "60 Festive Favourites") immediately thought this is exactly what I was looking for. ENTIRELY my own fault - should have looked closer.
There are a number of great songs on here to be sure - a couple of my favourites are Eva Cassidy's Over the Rainbow, Gary Joules Mad World both cover versions too but who in their right minds would want to listen to Michael Bolton singing White Christmas in favour of Bing Crosby and Destiny's Child banging out Little Drummer Boy I'm afraid I fail to see.
And to be fair there are many of the original artists singing their Christmas offerings that would definitely fall into the category of "Festive Favourites" (Band Aid, Greg Lake, Jona Lewie to quote a few) but I felt the number of covers left me with an overwhelming sense of disappointment. This compilation fell way short of my expectation.
That said if you're looking for some old and new renditions of Christmas songs then this may be just what you're looking for....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some good songs... a lot of bad covers though!, 28 Oct. 2007
By 
A. Crolla (Bolton, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
I feel a little bit ripped off by this CD set... you read the list of songs and it sounds great, but then you play many of them and they're really bland soul-less covers, cheesy pop versions, or versions by no one you've heard before.

I thought I'd found a gem here, with all the great songs, but sadly its not the case. Several of the songs are the versions you DO want, such as Santa Baby and Rocking Around The Christmas Tree, but if you're wanting all of the song versions you know well, this might not be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars if it hadn't missed out some obvious classics, 30 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
At first glance, this is probably the best christmas album available, as there aren't really many songs you wish were or were not on it. But it has versions of songs which seemed better done by other people. Here are some of them...
DISC 1: 1. Bruce Springsteen - Santa Claus Is Coming To Town (maybe not everyone will agree with me but I much prefer the Jackson 5 rendition)
9. Michael Bolton - White Christmas (the Bing Crosby one was better)
DISC 2: 10. Steps - Merry Christmas Everybody (STEPS?! its enough to make a grown man cry! What happened to the classic Slade original?)
DISC 3: 4. Brenda Lee - Rocking Around The Christmas Tree (not that bad but the Mel & Kim was better)
Another thing, why bother putting two versions of the same song on one album (All I Want For Christmas, Little Drummer Boy). I for one would prefer losing the second versions for better christmas songs which were criminally left out from this album...
And call me sad but if they've got songs by Westlife and N*Sync, why cant we have a spice girls song like 2 Become 1 or Goodbye?
Overall though, this is great christmas album, and if you don't mind not having those songs you wish were there this is certainly one to consider, with great new additions like The Darkness and Proper Crimbo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 25 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
Bought both the 3 and newer 4cd versions of this. Mainly becuase I wanted EVA Cassidy and Britney Houston and springsteen santa claus is comong to town. Also Got he 4 disc at a better price, the carols are lovely. Now i'm in my 40's ( not that old i know) but i' drifing towars the more classics like dean Martin and Hymns. There are a few differences between the 2 versions and some songs are in different roder, unfortunatley they only arrived 2 nd 3 days before xmas so i havent really had the chance to play lots and figure out which ones are different on the two versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best xmas album ever!!!, 20 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
Even has All I want for Xmas is U and all the classics. Also Xmas songs from well known groups I didn't know but are good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chistmas hits 50 festive favourties, 1 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. Jc Chapman "mr j.c.chapman" (tingley wakefield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
very nice item was fantasic to listen to though i haveput it away till christmas
i like it very much thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wizzard and slade!?, 2 Dec. 2007
By 
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
This would have been the perfect christmas CD - but it is missing 2 of the most important songs in popular music christmas history - wizzard and slade! Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 60 fantastic christmas hits, 22 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
This is an excellent christmas album, which mixes old singers and modern singers together. There are naturally some tracks which are poor, but that is expected when there are 60 (eg. Steps- Merry Christmas Everybody). However the vast majority are of supreme quality and there are even a few classics included, eg Mariah Carey, Wham. This album has it all!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas Hits
Christmas Hits by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews