Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
17
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I was blown away by this album. I bought it purely because I was looking for the track 'I'll Be Around' by the Detroit Spinners and a copy of the song showed up as being on this album. I have to say that I now much prefer the version here. Soul classics done in a modern manner and they are all A) excellent and B) Superbly produced. The version of 'Standing in The Shadows of Love' makes the hairs on my arm stand up. Pure craftmsmenship with all the musicians involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2005
This Album Is Fantastic, I purchased it three days ago and have not stopped listening to it, as with all Hall & Oates 'stuff' it is all good beats, good quality and good sounds!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
How pleasant to hear voices without electronic tunings and computers not making the noise.
We have lost the art of melodic music, so much today is formula lead ,over produced and repetitive lyrics.
Hall and Oates have given a good retrospective version of soul classics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2006
This is a very welcome release from the Hall & Oates soul machine. Lovely interpretations of soul classics in their instantly-recognisable, 'Philly soul' style. Absolutely fantastic - I dare you not to catch your toes tapping along to the grooves! Better still, check out the live concert DVD of this CD. You can't go wrong.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2006
Hall & Oates have evolved and matured into a really fantastic soul outfit, with a tight band and fabulous grooves. Fans will love their interpretation of several soul classics, and the energy & freshness of this album will set your feet movin'..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2007
This is very relaxing and soulful music, excellent remakes of some earlier music that influenced their songwriting. Their style fits perfectly with all of these songs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
Hall and Oates are the best selling duo of all time and belong in the Rock and Roll Hall of fame. This album presents intersting takes on some classic songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
I LOVE ANYTHING BY HALL AND OATS, SO AGAIN A FIVE STAR... NOT MY FAVOURITE IN THSES SONGS THOUGH...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Great voices. Great Tracks.
Great Service, delivered ahead of Schedule and was as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
Fantastic album cant believe i never knew they had released it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)