Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely 'isicathamiya'
This compilation, released on Ladysmith Black Mambazo's UK label Wrasse Records, is a perfect example of their "Isicathamiya" singing, with this set comprising some of their most finest work. Although it does not feature the track "Wenyukela (Ascend Higher)", from their successful March 2003 release "Raise Your Spirit Higher", it does however feature other tracks from the...
Published on 3 Jan 2005 by Nicky

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Only tracks I liked were the ones I already know from Gracelands album the rest I didn't enjoy at all.
Published 16 months ago by J. Charlton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely 'isicathamiya', 3 Jan 2005
By 
Nicky "N Lotay" (Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rain Rain Beautiful Rain - The Very Best Of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
This compilation, released on Ladysmith Black Mambazo's UK label Wrasse Records, is a perfect example of their "Isicathamiya" singing, with this set comprising some of their most finest work. Although it does not feature the track "Wenyukela (Ascend Higher)", from their successful March 2003 release "Raise Your Spirit Higher", it does however feature other tracks from the album. These include the stirring "Wenza Ngani? (How Did You Do That?)", a song about a man 'transforming' another man from a racist to a 'non-racist'. The brilliant track "Inkanyezi Nezazi (The Star and the Wiseman)", used so succesfully on the Heinz Soup 1998 ad campaign, is also listed here - whilst a wonderful rendition of the classic hymn "Silent Night", sung in Black Mambazo's unique style and a live version of "Nomathemba (Mother of Hope)" finishes off this wonderful collection. (Incidentally, the former track is based on a true story that Ladysmith's lead singer Joseph Shabalala endured in the early 1960's). A nicely compiled album. The booklet contains song lyrics and descriptions, the back cover displays a picture of the band and the names of the members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyable, 22 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain Rain Beautiful Rain - The Very Best Of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
This is a cracking album which shows the breadth and depth of the singing of Ladysmith Black Mambazo. Whatever your favourite style of singing, if you enjoy excellent singing then listen to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zulu charm, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain Rain Beautiful Rain - The Very Best Of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
If like me you are taken in by the magic of their music and the sense of pride in what they sing and the way they believe you will understand every word means something you will enjoy this. Although some of the music you will have heard before you will still want to listen again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tiger, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain Rain Beautiful Rain - The Very Best Of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
I liked hearing this CD, I have heard there other CDs and also liked them, will consider getting more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain Rain Beautiful Rain - The Very Best Of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
Given as a Xmas gift so not sure if recipient enjoyed it but as a group they are brilliant in my estimation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buy for someone else., 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain Rain Beautiful Rain - The Very Best Of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
Bought this on behalf of someone else to give. Bit I do have a different disc of Ladysmith Black Mambazo who are wonderful. My friend seemed very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift..., 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain Rain Beautiful Rain - The Very Best Of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
for the missus at Xmas. Is a new CD so shouldn't have any probs but will update if there are
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain Rain Beautiful Rain - The Very Best Of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
As usual The Ladysmith Black Mambazo have come up trumps again. I love listening to their music and I am very pleased with the CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 30 Mar 2013
By 
J. Charlton (Vevey Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain Rain Beautiful Rain - The Very Best Of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
Only tracks I liked were the ones I already know from Gracelands album the rest I didn't enjoy at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rain Rain Beautiful Rain, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain Rain Beautiful Rain - The Very Best Of Ladysmith Black Mambazo (Audio CD)
I chose this particular CD thinking it might cover a broad sweep of their talent.
I wasnt dissapointed--it covers it in spades.
A really wonderful compilation -Iwould strongly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews